We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Continental Ischia
Ranked #22 of 70 Hotels in Ischia
Reviewed 5 December 2016

My husband and I came here for a week in September on a late Thomson deal and enjoyed our stay. The pools are the best I've ever swan in. Don't be put off by having to wear a swim cap. Plenty of sun beds available.
The restaurant was adequate. We enjoyed the pasta rustic style. Our room was situated next to the evening entertainment which went on until midnight and was extremely loud.
The town is about a 10 minute walk with some lovely shops, bars. The castle in the town is a must. The island is very easy to get around using the buses.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (632)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 632 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2016 via mobile

This place is located a little outside Ischia port and not walkable for the elderly. There are two large outdoor heated pools and an indoor pool and spa. The staff are smartly attired and efficient. Unfortunately it is a typical business/conference type place so the food is mainly 'institutional', rarely hot and mostly warm. The breakfasts are uninspiring and if you like your toast only cooked on one side and your coffee lukewarm this is going to be fine. The 'fresh' fruit is brick hard, more ceramic than organic. On the other hand it was inexpensive, the room was all you could want and the bathroom had all you needed. Yes, it was a little noisy and the walls are thin but Italians are quite vocal but they tend to retire early.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank RestingEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2016

I should start by saying that the Hotel Continental was not our first choice, we were redirected here by our holiday company at the eleventh hour and, based on some previous reviews, were anxious about what we might find.

Our fears were completely ungrounded as this is a lovely hotel. It doesn't look much from the street but, on exiting from Reception into the grounds, you realise the extent of the site. Rooms are bunched into separate buildings either looking out over one of the numerous pools or onto gardens. We had two rooms in a block behind Reception, ours had a small terrace which then opened onto a private garden, shared by just four rooms. Our daughters' room on the other side of the building opened out onto a terrace with stone seating, a little sun trap.

Holidaying for the last week of September, the guests fell into the category of either being retired or having young children, a mix which worked well. We are a retired couple late fifties / early sixties holidaying with two adult daughters. As Brits we were definitely in the minority, but quite enjoyed this as the other guests, particularly the Italians, were so welcoming and really seemed to have discovered the secret of how to enjoy the simple pleasures of life.

Rooms have clearly been recently refurbished, paintwork was crisp and in good condition and furniture looked quite new. Floors are covered in patterned tiles, as are bathrooms, plenty of storage space and the hotel wins the prize for the most coat hangers provided of anywhere we have stayed in the world - 24! A room safe was provided and plenty of sockets for charging tech, hairdryer in the bathroom and a fridge with water provided (at a charge) and plenty of room for anything we bought at the nearby supermarket - about 100m down the hill on the left (Conad).

Air conditioning was effective, if a trifle noisy and could be left on as the doors were unlocked by traditional key, rather then keycard. You could watch BBC World Service on the TV, otherwise European channels.

It would have been nice to have a kettle and the facility to make tea and coffee in the room. We discovered a lovely bar - Bar del Sole - two doors up the hill on the same side of the road as the hotel and decamped there each evening for a really good coffee.

The grounds are wonderful, the hotel seems to have got the balance between the foliage spilling abundantly over the pathways and being overgrown, one feels that if things were left for just a few weeks then the whole site would become rather like Sleeping Beauty's Palace and one would be fighting one's way through shrubs and trees. That said, the paths were swept daily and the swimming pools kept clear of leaves. The many trees provided natural shade for the sunloungers around the pool, although umbrellas were also provided and many of the loungers had a pull up shade attached.

The buildings are faded elegance mediterranean, pastel colours, wrought iron balconies, crazy paving paths. It works.

The hotel boasts five swimming pools, I would say count three and you won't be disappointed as one is aptly named the 'Baby Pool' and is very small and really only suitable for children and another is within the spa and so can only be accessed by those paying for treatments.

The three main pools are all heated naturally with the thermal water, not sure what they are using to sanitise the water but it is not chlorine and is very gentle on the eyes. There is a small, very warm, pool underneath Reception; sheltered and a little sun trap. The indoor 'Tropical' pool is like stepping into a warm bath, the buoyancy is great and the environment lovely as the pool is housed within a steel and glass building and has tropical plants growing all around it, loungers are placed around the pool with more outside on the sun terrace and the many other sun terraces beyond (no flat roof goes unused here!).

The 'Pool Olympica' is centrally situated between Reception and the Dining Room / Bar and is huge, again very warm and great for swimming lengths.

Guests are expected to wear swimming caps whenever in any of the pools. These can be purchased for 2Euros from the Beauty Spa, which is beside the Pool Olympica, the caps serve the purpose of keeping hair out of the pool and the filters, but do not keep hair dry but are inexpensive. Many guests opted to use the shower caps provided in the bathrooms, fine if you don't want to actually swim. Swimming towels can be hired from the spa at a charge of 2Euros for the length of your stay. Based on reviews we kept ours for the whole week but, on returning them, I was asked if I wanted fresh ones, so I suspect that you could change them if and when necessary.

Each pool has showers and toilets nearby and you can purchase drinks and snacks and eat them by the pool, tables being provided between the loungers.

We read differing opinions on the system for ordering dinner in reviews but found ourselves that the method worked well. On the night we arrived, Thursday, dinner was a full buffet affair; a variety of dishes and salads. We were just leaving when our waiter stopped us, explaining that the cake would be arriving in two minutes and that we should really stay. Intrigued, we went to sit down again.

Oh my goodness readers, this was so much more than mere cake - a long table entirely covered in gateaux, flans, pastries, pies, individual meringues and cakes. Yes, there was a rush from the room and yes, arms did appear at your side trying to grab a cake but it was all in good humour and many of those rushing to the table just wanted to take photographs. Some of the smaller cakes were self-service but the staff helped you to the larger items and there didn't seem to be a limit as to how much you ate.

All other nights the dinner was waiter service, there were four choices for starters and another four for main dishes (the menu was displayed on the wall near the bar from breakfast time). You indicated what you would like, it was written on a duplicate chit and one chit left on the table, you then went to help yourself to the salad table, if you wished. After time was allowed for you to eat your salad, the dishes would be brought to the table on a trolley and served onto plates by your waiter. The same for the main course. It seemed to work very well.

Dessert each night seemed to be cake, which differed according to what time you ate and what was currently being served, fresh fruit or gelato.

Favourite starters of the week: Borage Ravioli with cream and wine / Neapolitan Rice Pie
Favourite main courses: Hunter's Chicken / Veal escalopes in cream and wine

Waiting staff were professional and efficient and their English was of a sufficiently high standard to be able to enjoy a joke with.

Breakfast was continental in style, although you could order eggs from your waiter. A very relaxed affair, and one could eat one's fill. A predominance of pastries and cakes for the sweet-toothed.

Pre-dinner (and anytime really) drinks could be taken at the bar, overlooking the Pool Olympica, and were always served with a selection of snacks. Ask for the cocktail menu and sit and watch the barman mix yours.

I suspect that the hotel was relatively empty at the time of year that we travelled, some rooms seemed to be empty and there was a large second restaurant at the back of the site which was not being used, similarly the kid's playground and tennis court. Even in busy season there was so much room and small public areas all around that I am sure you could find a quiet spot.

There was nightly entertainment, usually a singer with backing track or keyboard, within the bar area. Our rooms were far away from the bar, we could hear the music from our bathroom where the window was open, but not from the room. A little cheesy yes, but all over by midnight.

All the staff were very friendly. Reception were knowledgeable and helpful. We were able to buy a circular bus ticket from Reception and then catch the bus right outside the hotel. The hotel also has a couple of cars for hire, we paid 50 Euros for 24 hours, all inclusive price, none of the many add-ons that you often find with other companies and so convenient, as the car was parked in the hotel car park.

We came away from our holiday really pleased that we had ended up at the Continental Terme, it is an ideal location for a relaxing stay, and we would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
9  Thank FiftyFifty5050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2016

Spent a week here in late September 2016, after a last minute change with our holiday provider which moved us from our original choice in the port to the Continental.

However being set back from the town provided a peaceful retreat. Quiet, relaxing and a perfect way to wind down from the stresses of life. With the choice of 5 pools there are plenty of options and little nooks for reading a book pool side, or sipping on a chilled drink in the shade from the sun.

Temperatures were regularly 24-27 degrees with often a nice cool breeze which obviously increased the closer to the coast you got.

Hotel staff were exceedingly helpful, professional and friendly. I enjoyed the fact that the same waiters seemed to do the same shifts so you could build a relationship with them. You were also assigned a table so there was no stress of rushing to get the best seat at dinner. Also waiters served the same areas which was nice as you saw the same faces. They seemed to interact with each table and the Maitre D made the effort each evening to say hello to every single table.

The food was lovely traditional italian. No pizza or more commercialised italian meals, but food that I imagine a local would serve you at home. Often quite (for an ex-vegetarian) what I would consider exotic meats and fishes. Veal appeared quite often on the menu throughout the week - there were always 4 options for starters and mains, one always being vegetarian. However if you are not perhaps adventurous eater it could either open your tastebuds to new foods or challenge you slightly. Sword fish, muscles, shrimp, were just a few of the sea food options. With a salad buffet to go with your dinner each night which we noticed the locals took almost as an additional course.

The concierge were very quick to fix any issues - I accidentally locked myself out of my safe called reception and within 15 minutes had someone at the door sorting me out.

The service staff did a brilliant and thorough job in keeping the rooms clean - there was a pool man fishing leaves out the pool each morning and everything was very clean.

For someone who at time suffers from anxiety I found this hotel a tranquil retreat to unwind and relax from the stresses of day to day life. I felt comfortable made friends with a lovely group of elderly Italians who sat near us each evening at dinner who were so welcoming and friendly.

Beautiful trees and garden areas surrounded the hotel, all of which seemed to be kept very tidy and neat. Created a little Italian paradise within the confines of the hotel.

Many languages were spoken, I had a massage at the in hotel spa (very good value compared to British counterparts) and was asked if I was Italian, British, or German. Due to a quite large German population on the island many locals spoke the 3 languages with confidence. A great comfort if you're broken Italian is somewhat failing you.

For all the animal lovers the hotel were kind enough to take care of 7 cats who all seemed very friendly and spent their time chilling on sun beds or finding little nooks of garden to cat nap in.

Overall I would recommend this hotel highly, great food, lovely environment, excellent service from all staff across the hotel, and a perfect little piece of paradise to relax in. Plenty of families from all nationalities staying. A lovely get away. If you want to be submerged into an authentic Italian holiday, I feel this placed achieved just that.

Room Tip: Great A/C, Lovely Pools, Excellent Spa, Traditional food, rooms are clean and airy we had a lovely p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ItsHER92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2016

The hotel itself is quite something, spread over quite a wide area, multiple buildings, tiny courtyards, nothing higher than 3 floors, plants and flowers everywhere and more than enough sunbeds. Lots of steps though so not ideal for those with iffy mobility.
It is quite possibly the best looking hotel I have stayed in, and with the exception of the reception area, very little of it resembles a traditional hotel.
We didn't eat in the restaurant as it appeared to close at 9pm - a bit early for Italy!
We did have our breakfast there. The seating is a little confusing though. Many of the tables had Illegible handwritten notes on them which apparently were designation lables. This we didn't know so just but the sugar pot on top of them and sat down anywhere we fancied. Breakfast was typical 'continental' which suites me fine as a veggie, but I was disappointed by the lack of variety in the fresh fruit department.
We worked out quite quickly that hot food and better coffee was available if you just asked one the of the myriad waiters!
Our room was classed as 'superior' and it was very nice, clean, comfortable and bright, overlooking the olympic swimming pool (not quite but pretty big nevertheless) and here's the ...but.
At the other end of the pool is the dining room and the open-air bar. - I think it's described as a piano bar. Unfortunately the 'piano' is an amplified electronic keyboard. The performer is very talented and sings as well as plays. Depending on the number of people in the bar and their propensity for dancing the songs and tunes vary from crooner MOR to disco, and when he lets rip it's far too loud and you cannot shut it out of the room. Thankfully he stops at about midnight.
The hotel staff are excellent - particularly the concierge Mario who never seems to go the bed!
Despite the music I would say here again.
There is a bank with an ATM about 50 metres form the hotel one way with an nice bar next door. About 50 metres the other way (going down the hill) is a bakery/pizzeria (opposite the fire-station).
The food here is excellent - you can eat on the terrace or take-away.

Room Tip: Can't really say about the other rooms because the place is so spread out. Others may be quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank jazzhamster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ischia hotels
2 km away
Continental Mare Hotel
Continental Mare Hotel
#24 of 70 in Ischia
305 reviews
1 km away
Villa Durrueli
Villa Durrueli
#3 of 70 in Ischia
1,226 reviews
1 km away
Hotel Regina Palace Terme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hotel Hermitage & Park Terme
0.5 km away
Hotel San Valentino Terme
1.3 km away
Delfini Strand Hotel Terme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental Ischia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental Ischia

Address: Via Luigi Mazzella 70, 80077, Ischia, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Ischia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Ischia
#15 Spa Hotel in Ischia
#16 Luxury Hotel in Ischia
Price Range: $244 - $402 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Continental Ischia 4*
Number of rooms: 244
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Evoline ltd, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Continental Ischia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Terme Hotel
Continental Terme Ischia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing