We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (203)
Filter reviews
203 results
Traveller rating
159
36
6
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
159
36
6
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wonderful hotel private beach unforgettable stay dressing room pool area turn down service without exception the entire staff before dinner beautiful island bars and restaurants bay of naples fresh fruit enjoyed our stay alessandro waiters terrace
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 203 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2015

I agree with all the reviews it is a wonderful hotel and the views are amazing. the food is excellent we had lunch on 2 occasions and we had the tasting menu for dinner which was outstanding, although it is expensive. I found the loud music on the terrace very annoying whilst trying to read and relax on the terrace, it does not have to be so loud. Lastly the fact that you cannot reach the pool or any of the restaurants including breakfast by lift is not great as some of the steps are outside and not even, if I had known about this I would not have booked this hotel as my husband struggled with the steps. But all in all a great hotel

Stayed: September 2015
5  Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2015

We had an unforgettable stay at this gorgeous hotel. Very classy and elegant, but also down to earth and friendly service. This is a family owned and run hotel, which definitely shows.

Our room, which was a top floor suite with a HUGE terrace with stunning sea view, could not have been any more magical. Definitely a highlight and we spent much of our time lounging on the terrace, enjoying the privacy and views. There were tables and chairs, so we also had breakfast on the terrace, as well as just relaxed on the sun loungers.

The hotel also has a private beach, just a short walk away from the hotel (through their private garden), and beautiful spa. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Top floor suites have amazing views and large terrace
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2015

Very close to the port, the Grand Hotel Excelsior was a wonderful reprieve. We booked this while staying in Naples, and we weren't disappointed.

The hotel is large and beautiful, as well as spotlessly clean. The included breakfast is large and suits all tastes. At night, stroll down the street and pop into the stores and cafes.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank QueenBozaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2015

Do you ever imagine yourself in a glamorous Hollywood film set in Italy in the 1950s? If so then you need Ischia and Hotel Excelsior. The island is a living postcard of lush volcanic hillsides and multi-coloured villages tumbling into the sea. The Excelsior is set in its own gorgeous gardens, with a super luxe Roman-style thermal spa and private beach. The emphasis is on spoiling the guests. You literally won't be allowed to do anything yourself. Think you can put your own towel on the lounger or carry your own plate to the buffet? Think again. There's always someone on hand to help you with those challenging little tasks. They even sent someone to carry our bags off the hydrofoil for us. The reception staff are super helpful (thanks Branka) and Enzo is a legend in his own cocktail hour. The hotel decor is traditional Italian. Of course the challenge for all hotels of this type is to remain true to their heritage and style whilst adapting to modern standards of comfort and in this regard I thought the bathroom was possibly due a refurbishment. Our room overall, however, was large and airy with superb views. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Aethelthryth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2015

We enjoyed our visit to this wonderful hotel, having had some worries about the quality and value of Italian hotels in the past. We were very pleasantly surprised by how improved things are in Italy if this hotel is anything to go by. It is immaculately clean and beautifully presented with characterful touches and modern facilities plus wonderful gardens, bar and pools. We had a very large room, 223 (junior suite) with a big terrace. We chose the half board option and were impressed with the dinners which included a large buffet, starter of soup or pasta followed by mains of fish, veal or other and then an excellent desert buffet. Breakfasts are typically Italian, which is a little adjustment for someone from the UK, but there was plenty to choose from. We found the timing of breakfast, ending at 10am, far too early for a relaxed holiday morning and we had to drag ourselves downstairs most days. A few times we ordered breakfast in our room but found this not a good option as the choice of items is even less interesting. We really enjoyed our stay but found it difficult to work out what was included, what was charged extra and how much, e.g. it seems that the hotel shuttle was free but we were not aware of that but the buffet by the pool was extra and it turned out to be extremely expensive. We had lunch a couple of times at the seaside cafe which was easier to price and we also had lunch in the restaurant instead of dinner and went to the Port which is very lively and buzzy. It is a shame that it is not possible to switch to lunch on the half board option and go to any of the eating places in the hotel but you MUST eat in the restaurant. It would be nice to go to the poolside buffet or seaside cafe at lunchtime rather than the more formal restaurant. Another surprise is just how deserted the town was during the afternoons considering this is a holiday resort but that is one of the differences between countries and something you get used to in return for a typically Italian experience. Most of the other guests at the hotel and most people on the island were Italian so we knew that the food just about anywhere would be good and it was fun to observe and join in with the Italian ways. We really enjoyed the music in the bar in the evenings which became very fun as the nights went on! The pools, gardens and beach are outstanding and the service was excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Deirdre Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews