We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A lovely apartment hosted by a lovely family.”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of VILLA PALMIRA

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Avellino, Province of Avellino, Campania

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
1LAM1
Somersworth, New Hampshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A lovely apartment hosted by a lovely family.”
Reviewed 19 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Villa Palmira is a cozy apartment, fully supplied, in the small town of Quadrelle, set at the foot of a mountain range. We got the taste of small town Italian life, and enjoyed several drives through the countryside, but were also within a 30-60 minute drive of Vesuvius, Pompei, Naples, Sorrento, and the Amalfi Coast. Joe De Simone provided us with many useful suggestions and insights into the area, and helped my mother with some genealogy questions. His son Giovanni acted as our tour guide for our genealogical tour of the small nearby towns. The whole family was very gracious. I hope to be able to return someday.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernie G
Southbury, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Perfect Personalized Experience in Southern Italy”
Reviewed 18 December 2016 for a stay in July 2016

I first stayed at the Villa Palmira in 2007 with my oldest daughter and returned again 2016 with 2 other children. I had raved about it so much my sister and her niece invited themselves too. We were all able to stay comfortably in the home and Giovanni and the entire the De Simone family are wonderful hosts. Giovanni arranged EVERYTHING - pickup in Naples, van rental, and then personalized tours of the Amalfi coast and area attractions. He would bring down these delicious breakfasts in the morning - much of it with jams made from fruit trees on the property. Giovanni and the entire De Simone family are warm, funny, knowledgeable, and genuine. We can't wait to go back again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pathalper...
Bradenton, Florida
1 review
“Pleasant, helpful family, apartment in their home, knowledgeable genealogical tour!”
Reviewed 22 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We chose to stay here because the host provided genealogy expertise prior to our visit and a tour of ancestral villages. It was perfect for our needs. The family were warm, knowledgeable, and Rina is a fantastic cook!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Our hosts and the food!
Liked least: A bit chilly sometimes... But, layered clothing made it fine.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara K
1 review
“Very Welcome Stay”
Reviewed 17 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

It was lovely to be welcomed into a great space by Joe, Rena, and Giovanni. They immediately made us feel at home and provided wonderful meals and information for us. Giovanni was our guide while exploring some family history in the area and he did a great job both with detective work and with translating for us to/from Italian/English.

Thanks so much for all your hospitality!

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelM...
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Fantastic "non-touristy" spot in Avellino”
Reviewed 7 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Joe and Giovanni were excellent hosts who also had spot-on recommendations for sight-seeing, restaurants, and locations to explore. They were patient and very well informed with regard to all of the spots we visited.
The accommodations were very comfortable and we woke up to fresh bread, rolls, and croissants each morning.

How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing