We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Chalet Bartavelle

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The chalet
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
56 reviews
The chalet
Downstairs TV Lounge
Breakfast
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Bathroom
Cave
Canapes
Food
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Meribel, Les Allues, Savoie, Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 56 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
lhommede
Oxford, United Kingdom
3 reviews
“Superb”
Reviewed 16 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Excellent week's skiing in Meribel, the best snow and sun of the season with perfect pistes. Topped with the excitement of returning every day to our cosy chalet and Jerry's meals. Beautifully warm, fire glowing, afternoon cakes, tea, coffee, breads and jam, breakfasts always on time and a daily choice of a cooked breakfast. We ate out twice in Meribel, however, Jerry's meals were by far the best. In particular the last night ... fillet of beef, cooked to perfection. With 5 young adults and 3 more senior, the chalet delivered. There was no queuing for bathrooms, plenty of towels, hairdryer, just about everything you need. Jerry chauffeured us around when required. An absolute delight and thank you to Jerry and Bettina.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The food!
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best week of skiing ever”
Reviewed 29 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

The chalet, the food and the service were simply top notch. After a day of hard skiing, the service provided by Jerry is just what you need. Always attentive, without being over the top, Jerry and Bettina will make sure you can really relax as they do all the heavy lifting. They can help with everything from equipment hire to booking the ski passes, so you really don't need to think about anything. Also, Jerry's cooking is really something to write home about - real top notch restaurant quality. Worth every penny.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily C
Lyon, France
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect holiday”
Reviewed 29 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

I have just returned from a fabulous week in Chalet Bartavelle with my extended family. I am missing it already and am cheering myself up by trying to plan a return visit.

Chalet Bartavelle is a catered chalet, but this description does not do it justice. Jerry is a trained chef, and the three course dinners that he produced each night were exceptional. Each menu was carefully thought through and beautifully presented. We all found ourselves longing to eat each dish again, particularly the delicious beef on the last night, or the rhubarb parfait midweek. Jerry adapted his menus to suit our dietary requirements: my mother cannot eat seafood but her replacement courses were just as appetising as the ones the rest of us ate.

Breakfasts were no exception: a different cooked option was on the menu each morning, and Jerry cheerfully catered for our every whim, including dashing out to buy Weetabix, having overheard a conversation about it over dinner the night before.

Equally welcome were the delicious afternoon teas Jerry provided each afternoon. After a day skiing, there was nothing that we needed more than a cup of good tea and a slab of cake.

This was the first holiday we have ever had where we did not have to take care of any of the arrangements for ourselves. Ski lessons, equipment hire, lockers and lift passes were all organised by Jerry and Bettina in advance, and turned up right on schedule. Their advice on the ski school we should pick was spot on, and took all the hassle out of what otherwise might have been a tricky decision.

Les Allues is ten minutes by car from Méribel station. There are free buses close at hand, but we barely needed to use them because Jerry provided a thorough and flexible transfer service to-and-from the slopes each day. He went well above the call of duty in providing additional transfers to accommodate the different wishes of various members of our family, and he never made us feel that he was putting himself out for us.

The Chalet itself is lovely. It is tastefully decorated, well-organised and clean. It is equipped with everything you could possibly need, including baby and toddler equipment. It has a good situation with a lovely view out of a big window at one end.

In summary, if you are looking for a holiday where you can forget all the worries of day-to-day existence and lose yourself in the pleasure of skiing and eating excellent food, you could not wish for a better place to stay, or kinder or more professional hosts.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hard to say, probably the food
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davethorn...
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
“An absolutely wonderful ski experience”
Reviewed 20 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

If you are thinking of Les Trois Vallees visit with a group or family, then look no further! Jerry and Bettina have a marvellous, authentic, quaint chalet and enhance it with culinary excellence and service that is unparalleled.

Food - the dinners were masterpieces. Jerry is a great chef, and accommodated vegetarian and meat eaters with aplomb. The evening dinners became as big a conversation piece as the skiing itself. My wife loves cooking and was impressed with & enjoyed Jerry's recipes and flair. Breakfasts are extensive and Jerry is very accommodating, but we skipped the hot cooked breakfasts half the days as we wanted to get to the skiing, not to mention that some of us were still stuffed from the prior evening.

There are also baked treats awaiting the skiers when they return to the chalet in the afternoon. This is followed by hors d'oeuvres and drinks. Which is all a warm-up for the main dinner, a full three course meal.

But it is more than the food that makes this a wonderful ski experience.
Jerry and Bettina will arrange everything before you get there... lift passes, ski lockers, equipment rentals, lessons, guides, airport transfers, etc. We didn't need these services as we have done this a number of times before, but it can be real time saver.

The logistics of skiing in Europe (for North Americans) can be a little different. Jerry makes it easy by driving you to the main lift centre in Meribel, Chaudanne, and also picking you up at a pre-arranged time. He is flexible and helpful - for example, he dropped us off at La Tania one morning because we wanted to spend the day at Courcheval. We took his suggestion to rent lockers (for skis & boots) at Chaudanne, which made the logistics of walking around town after skiing much easier. As well, if you choose to go/return from skiing at different times than others, it is easier to use the bus without having to lug around skis while wearing ski boots. The buses run every 20 mins or so during busy periods (less often at other times). The bus stop is about a 10 minute walk, and takes 12 minutes to get to Meribel Centre. This won't make much sense if you haven't been to Meribel, but having skied at three other resorts in France/Switzerland, I can tell you that it is very convenient and well setup.

The chalet is a few kilometers from Meribel Centre (5-10 mins by car) in Le Cruet/Les Allues. If you want to indulge in the apres ski, you will have to manage the travel; taxis are available, but not cheap (25-35 Euro). If you like to be in the middle of the action, then this likely will not work for you. But if you like the quiet, small town charm, nice views and the company of the group you are with, then this place is wonderful.

The chalet itself is very charming. It has four bedrooms and a loft. It is beautifully finished and reno'd. The amenities and facilities are very good quality. The main floor consists of the kitchen/dining area/living room/fire place. It was the focal point for the group after a day on the slopes. The beds, linens, etc are high quality. In short, we couldn't think of much we would change or needed.

Jerry's personality and helpfulness, nothing is too much, makes the whole experience unique and wonderful. Needless to say, our whole family thoroughly enjoyed the experience and I'm sure we will be talking about it for years. A wonderful benchmark for a great family vacation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Feb 2016
Thank you so much for your comments, We loved having you all here and hope one day to welcome you all back for a return trip.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona N
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“PERFECT CHALET, PEOPLE AND FOOD!”
Reviewed 4 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Our stay at Chalet Bartavelle was superb from start to finish. Even with a delayed outgoing flight, Jerry and Bettina were still there to welcome us and cook our meal. Jerry is an exceptional chef and really went out of his way to accommodate us - from transfers to resort to arranging additional lessons, to putting up with us staring at him whilst cooking every night! The food really is exquisite!! Afternoon tea after a day on the slopes was heaven. The chalet itself is decorated to a very high standard and all rooms, including the lounge area, were warm and inviting. I would personally say the mezzanine sleeping area is perfect for children / small people as the ceiling is rather low but still a way to accommodate for a larger group. The bus into Meribel was a 3-4 minute walk from the chalet and then a 10/15 minute journey - very easy, even with snowboard in tow. Jerry gave all the group advice and information for local attractions, for families and none skiers and those looking for after ski drinks! I can't recommend this place enough - thank you for an extremely memorable week!

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing