We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Exceeded all our expectations”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Chalet Bartavelle

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The chalet
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
56 reviews
The chalet
Downstairs TV Lounge
Breakfast
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Bathroom
Cave
Canapes
Food
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Meribel, Les Allues, Savoie, Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 56 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Sijack14
Leigh-on-Sea
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Exceeded all our expectations”
Reviewed 30 January 2012 for a stay in January 2012
1
person found this review helpful

I have been skiing since 1976 and have stayed in all types of accommodation and many catered chalets over the years. I can honestly say this was the best. The owners, Jerry and Bettina are very welcoming hosts. Nothing is too much trouble and Jerry's cooking is exceptional, again, better than I have experienced in any other chalet with excellent wine and a proper cooked breakfast option every morning. The chalet itself is well appointed, cosy and comfortable with lots of nice touches. If you are worried about the location, don't be, Jerry is happy to run you up to the Chaudanne lift station in the mornings and there is a blue run back to the chalet. Alternatively, Jerry will collect you at the end of the day's skiing. Ski equipment and lift passes are delivered to the chalet and the equipment collected at the end of your stay. Exceptional value and highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The food
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tash_t1
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A trip worth taking”
Reviewed 4 July 2011 for a stay in December 2010
1
person found this review helpful

This holiday was booked as a special family Christmas and New Year treat and certainly did not disappoint us. We were 8 in total with an age range of 7mths, 5 and 7 years, plus 5 adults (30+).

The chalet is tucked away in a quiet location not far from Meribel and provides cosy yet comfortable accommodation. It is tastefully decorated, kept meticulously clean and is obviously well cared for by it’s conscientious owners Jerry and Bettina. There were plenty of fresh towels, linen etc and the shelves were crammed with great books for book lovers or even those who just wanted to chill out after a busy day on the slopes.

Accommodation aside, the best bit about the chalet is how you are taken care of. Jerry and Bettina are wonderful, obviously very experienced hosts and go the extra distance to make your visit to their chalet an enjoyable and memorable one. The food is simply impeccable. Freshly cooked breakfasts, wonderful afternoon teas and gourmet restaurant dinners every day (bar their day off of course!) is what you can look forward to when you stay here (not so good for the old waistline, boo hoo!). The food was thoughtfully prepared and was simply divine; I challenge you to find better. Jerry was wonderful in providing meals for the kids and happy to cater for their requests even if they sometimes deviated from his planned menus. Transportation to and from the resort was provided every day to suit our varying needs and arrangements for ski hire and boots to come to the chalet were made available to us, which we found hugely convenient.

We have no real criticisms of this holiday but would say on reflection that if you are travelling with a young child that perhaps the proximity of the chalet to the resort in terms of either using public transport or walking isn’t ideal as we didn’t find it particularly buggy or baby friendly. That said, for those with older children who intend to ski everyday it was simply perfect and offered everything we needed including nightlife when we wanted it. Meribel was a great resort and we preferred it to Courchevel, which can be a little hectic with little ones. The children very much enjoyed their lessons with Magic in Motion and we can highly recommend them too.

We wouldn’t hesitate in considering returning here again should we decide to visit Meribel in the future.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Large groups
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blurticus
West Wales
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous. Our dream holiday and the only drawback was we had to leave.”
Reviewed 15 May 2011 for a stay in January 2011
1
person found this review helpful

We've stayed at Chalet Bartavelle for 2 years now and wouldn't think of anywhere else for our ski holiday. The excellent service starts before you even arrive, with Bettina ensuring we have the right lessons and equipment in place for the whole family to ensure a happy holiday.

It's a holiday we look forward to all year knowing we will be in the expert care of Jerry and Bettina. The chalet is relaxing and has everything we want and need. Jerry and Bettina are on hand for advice as to where to go and when to make the most of the week. And then there's the food...

Returning to the chalet in the evening is a joy as we are met by Jerry's beautiful range of cakes and biscuits. The evening then stretches out with course after course of beautiful, delicious food. Jerry and Bettina are so kind and considerate as hosts that skiing for us will always be synonymous with Chalet Bartavelle.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Large groups Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColetteTo...
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect holiday retreat - 'home from home' - absolutely superb food.”
Reviewed 2 May 2011 for a stay in February 2011
1
person found this review helpful

We were very lucky to have been invited to spend a week at Chalet Bartavelle for the second time this year!
Bettina and Jerry were perfect hosts, extremely welcoming and friendly, and meeting our every requirement.
The chalet is clean and spacious, and accomodated 4 adults and 4 fully grown teenage boys with ease. The chalet has a very much 'home-from-home' feel, so a lovely setting for quality family time together.
The location is ideally situated a little away from Meribel, so a perfect 'retreat' after a hard days ski.
Hired boots and skis are delivered to the chalet, and Jerry kindly offers a convenient drop off and pick up service for guests and equipment to and fro from the slopes.
Jerry's has a real passion and an incredible talent for cooking, reflective in an amazing and varied menu, which is an absolute culinary delight - from his delicious cooked breakfasts, to the home baked cookies and cakes that await you as you return home [eating them by the burning log fire somehow makes them taste even better!] - but the definite highlight is the evening appertisers and drinks, followed by the most delicious and inspired 3 course dinners, prepared to perfection in front of your eyes!
I would recommend a stay at Chalet Bartavelle without hesitation......and we already have our week booked for next year!
Although we have only visited in the ski season, Chalet Bartavelle would also be perfect for a Summer walking holiday - as the surrounding scenery is spectacular.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carolynj2...
Cirencester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A superb chalet, wonderful hosts and fantastic food”
Reviewed 1 May 2011 for a stay in January 2011
2
people found this review helpful

We were a party of 9 aged 11 to 49, some skiers, some not. It was superb. Jerry and Bettina were marvellous hosts - wonderfully attentive, thoughtful and accommodating. But the highlight was most definitely the food. Every evening we eagerly awaited the start of a gastronomic delight and we were never disappointed. I would love to go back - I'm not so sure about the skiing but a week of heavenly catering gets my vote!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with teenagers
Tourists Large groups
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing