We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great little house great location”
other travellers have booked this property
Countryside views from the elevated terrace, level with the kitchen, extending your living space .
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Countryside views from the elevated terrace, level with the kitchen, extending your living space .
View of kitchen, door leads out to the terrace, on the same level, creating a great outside space! Another view of the Kitchen area looking toward the front door and reception area with seating for 6
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Countryside views from the elevated terrace, level with the kitchen, extending your living space .
View of kitchen, door leads out to the terrace, on the same level, creating a great outside space!
Another view of the Kitchen area looking toward the front door and reception area with seating for 6
Reception area next to Kitchen with comfortable seating, the main door leads onto the street.
Main bedroom.
Opposite view of main bedroom showing dual aspect window.
Entrance from 1st floor stairwell to bathroom.
Bathroom with large powerful shower.
Top of stairwell leading into lounge.
Lounge area with comfortable sofa, TV and bureau/computer table.
Rear lounge area with large comfortable double sofa bed.
View from rear terrace.
A great vista for mealtime!
View of Chateau from terrace.
View into garden.
Steps from elevated terrace down into garden and patio area.
Relaxing garden space and patio area, totally private and secure.
Steps to Garden.
Roadside view of house and front entrance.
A view of the stunning Chateau,  just walk through the arched entrance to access Chez Alouette!
The square in front of the Chateau, with the Hotel/Restaurant C'oq D'or in foreground.
Centre of town riverside scene, less than 500 metres from Chez Alouette.
Gatehouse to the old town wall, leading up to the old town and Chateau.
Ocean beach view at Saint Georges de Didogne, just 40 mins drive, in the distance is Royan town.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Jonzac, Charente-Maritime, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sally d
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great little house great location”
Reviewed 16 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Chez Allouette is a lovely, comfortable house in a beautiful town. Great view from the terrace which has sun all day. Everything you need to enjoy a relaxing stay with the town on your doorstep.
Jonzac is quiet but has a great market, some good restaurants and lovely walks. A train service to Bordeaux and Saintes daily but a car recommended. Lots of places to visit a short drive away.
Sue and Steve were very helpful and friendly. We would definitely recommend Chez Allouette.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Aug 2017
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at our lovely house. Thank you also for your kind comments, it was a pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again soon when you find the house of your dreams!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect little hideaway”
Reviewed 19 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Currently sitting in glorious sunshine on the balcony in the picture enjoying the autumn colours and reading a book. Even when it was raining yesterday evening it was still warm and we sat drinking wine in the covered area of the balcony.

Popped out earlier to the market and local store for ingredients to cook a beef stew for tonight. The town and the people are lovely and really friendly.

Lovely parks and streets to walk around and yesterday found a courtyard of tallented local artisans with their individual workshop and shops. Lots of shops and boutiques in the town too.

The property is just the right size for the two of us, warm, comfortable and quiet. Very well maintained. Bathroom great with a powerful shower. The property does have quite a few stairs to negotiate... not a problem for us but for some it may be.

Part of me doesn't want to leave such a good review with fear of not ever being able to get a booking again because too many other people want to stay. It really is however just what we wanted for our little escape away.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Nov 2016
We are so pleased that Sara and John are enjoying their holiday and also that the house and town of Jonzac meets their expectations, we do try to improve the holiday experience year on year and this lovely review is very rewarding.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galwaygir...
Galway
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful townhouse with superb views”
Reviewed 24 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We really enjoyed our stay at Chez Alouette. The location of the property is fantastic with everything within walking distance. The house is very well equipped and comfortable with a lovely garden which was perfect for our dog who had a very happy stay. Despite being dog friendly, the house is very clean and there was no trace of previous canine guests! Jonzac is a pretty town, and the view of the chateau from the terrace was a great feature. The town itself is quiet and not particularly touristy - it didn't have a wide range of bars and restaurants but we enjoyed dinner at Hotel de L'Ecu and Hostellerie du Coq d'Or. The kids enjoyed a day at Les Antilles water park and we canoed in nearby Pons. All in all, a very relaxing and happy holiday.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2016
We do agree with most points on this very positive review, although there are many bars restaurants in Jonzac, over 20 in fact, with more in outlaying villages. However many are tucked away in side streets that are sometimes elusive! We are happy to offer advice on the best restaurants available and also weekly attractions in bustling Jonzac throughout the summer. Although we are proud to be dog friendly, we do make every effort to ensure the house is left thoroughly clean and allergy free as possible for the comfort of all future guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Reviewed 20 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being in the centre of Jonzac
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 13 September 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful views from the terrace.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing