We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (414)
Filter reviews
414 results
Traveller rating
178
143
57
25
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
178
143
57
25
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great hotel tub menu le french refreshing town field hike edge surprise
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 414 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2017

Probably one of the best hotel in town. The situation is perfect with a parking for your car. rooms are big, clean and well organized.
The restaurant is really a good surprise : it's really good.
The main problème is that they think that to be a great hotel they need to be strict... They all look scared to do mistakes and look really stress.
That said it was a really good experience.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Galaad94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dominique g, Propriétaire at Logis Le Bailliage, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017
Google Translation

Nous vous remercions de votre venue dans notre maison et de votre gentillesse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

This hotel has an excellent location at the edge of Old Salers.
It is an old building making for quirky rooms.
Mine was sort of a duplex with an upstairs large bathroom.
Lots of stairs involved.
Very clean and good wifi.
Disappointing stingy breakfast,a surprise given the good performance of the restaurant for dinner.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MILOUW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017

The hotel offers very modern, clean and comfortable high quality rooms. There is no air conditioning, but at this altitude, that is mostly unnecessary. We used the hotel as a base to explore the beautiful village of Salers. But we were also able to explore the surrounding villages by bikes that the hotel generously provided us with (free of charge), and we used it as base to hike the nearby stunning valleys and peaks. Breakfast at le Bailliage is generous and delicious, and the hotel has a fine restaurant as well. We would certainly stay here again.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DndG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017

Spent 3 nights in June. Lovely location & scenery. Hotel as expected, but the day we arrived was my birthday (not recognised, despite being informed. Aaaah!). Room good but aircon needed, good food but menu needs daily refreshing. Nice pool and good car parking. Maybe sitting on its laurels a little?

Room tip: Do your research as there is quite a variety.
Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Gnomejohn2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2016

We absolutely loved Salers and Le Bailliage! We rented a mini suite for two nights in September 2016 and wished we could have stayed longer. Our room (room 14) was huge, with an upper level that contained a modern shower, tub, closet and separate bathroom. (Note that if you have trouble climbing stairs, you may want to choose another room.) The decor was quirky (lots of big red apples everywhere) and everything was clean and bright. The bed was a bit hard for our tastes. Salers itself is a pretty quiet town and we heard very little noise at night, even with the windows open.

The hotel has a busy restaurant that was quite good. It appears to attract people from the town as well as hotel guests. The menu is huge and everything we had was fantastic. The hotel also has its own little bar. The hotel does not have an elevator.

The people at the front desk were quite friendly but spoke limited English. English speakers should not have any problems, though. People in Salers are very patient and understanding. You just need to make an effort to converse in French, even if on a limited basis. In general, learning a bit of basic travel French is always a good idea when visiting France.

It took us a bit to figure out the location of the hotel's free parking lot. We actually arrived in Salers and parked in the parking lot at the bottom of town and walked up through town to the hotel. We later realized that the hotel's lot is on the back side of the hotel (sort of around the corner and behind it on a side road).

Salers is a wonderful small town in the Cantal department, with many local shops and restaurants (wine shops, cheese shops, charcuterie, knives, pocketbooks). It is now my wife's favorite small town in Europe. The Cantal is in a more rural part of France, with one picturesque French village after another. We will definitely be back!

Room tip: The mini suites were massive
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YDraenogChwilfrydig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews