We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and active holiday with a hint of old charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Excelsior Hotel & Kurhaus
Ranked #3 of 36 Hotels in Bad Gastein
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We stayed in Villa Excelsior for seven nights with the half board and really enjoyed our stay. Not least because of the excellent service with my food allergy (wheat): three different gluten free rolls to choose from in the mornings, adapted dinners in the evenings.
We thought the breakfast was great: fresh hand made fruit salad, breads, jams, cheeses, ham&salami, vegetables, yoghurts, cereal, juices, nutella...
Also salad buffet + three course -dinners tasted delicious and varied so that we never got bored. A little less of salt would have made it perfect ;) The table water could have come to the table without request: seemed funny to pay for bottled water since there is excellent tap water in Bad Gastein,
We stayed in the top floor, where the elevator did not reach. The room was spacious and spotlessly clean. Furnitures in these rooms are not the 19th century like the others, but did the job. The neighbourhood is very quiet, but the walls between the rooms are quite thin, so next door voices can be heard. Luckily pretty much everyone seemed to fall asleep around 10 pm and get up around 8 am.
It is approx. 10 minutes easy walk to the main street (but don't do the same mistake we did and walk the car road, it doubles the way). Whether the location is ok or not depends on your needs. There is a free shuttle bus to and from the Stubnerkogel ski lift. After sauna and dinner we didn't have energy to go out anyway.
Special mention for the saunas. There is a Finnish sauna (best I've been abroad!), small infrared sauna cabin for two, cold shower and normal shower. Sauna department is unisex and open 16-21, but not many seems to use it. During our stay we bathed just the two us for 6 nights. What a luxury, we loved it! Also had thermal baths and massages, both good.

Ps. In the hotel book they ask people not to come to dinner in casual wear, which was a total surprise. We didn't have any other kind of clothes during our sporty vacation! But I guess it was ok, many others wore colleges and t-shirts also. So, Christof, if you want people to dress better during dinners, give a hint of a dress code in advance ;D

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (176)
There are newer reviews for Villa Excelsior Hotel & Kurhaus
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 53 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2012

Fine old-style villa, decorated in style, and with respect for its own time. The hotel was well kept and very clean. Although in some places it would have needed update, such as televisions and bathrooms.
The hotel was private and intimate, the owners were fully involved in daily operations. It did contribute to the hotel's attractiveness, because the service did not, however, go over. It was always great at the required level, but not gone wasted cringing.
The dinner which included the half board was delicious every day. It included a great salad buffet, appetizers, main course and dessert. Each day there was a chance to choose between two options of appetizers and two options of main course.
Breakfast, however, was a slight disappointment. It was exactly the same every day, and not very versatile. Breakfast was served every morning from 08.00 to 10.00, however, for example already about at 8.05 there was no Brie left and no more never came for that day's breakfast. The standard breakfast items such as bacon would have paid extra. One disappointment was also that there were no salad leafs and only small plate of other vegetables in the breakfast buffet, even if the dinner salad buffet was really good.
The hotel website says that it takes 5 minutes to walk to the center, but in fact the trip was more than 20 minutes even though we are sporty young people.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brunoiivana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

This is my second visit to Bad Gastein and first time to stay at Villa Excelsior. The hotel is a old, grand house which felt very homey. We stayed in a "panaroma" room which was large and had two windows offering a lovely view and a lot of natural light. There was a big closest and several drawers/shelves which was so nice to have to be able to hang and put all the ski clothes away. There were several common seating areas in the hotel which were used by us and other guests to read or socialise in the afternoon. Sauna, baths and massage are available in the hotel. I had a sauna and a massage and can recommend both. The building itself is large but there are only about 25 guest rooms so it felt cozy and not too busy.

Christof was an excellent host. From the booking to departure, we were well looked after. The staff were friendly and generally seemed happy we were there. They also remembered our preferences for coffee/drinks in the morning/evening which was a nice touch. We were on half board which I highly recommend. Breakfast was substantial, mnay options and dinner was delicious. There was a nice selection of starters and main courses and meal variety throughout the week. There is a well-stocked bar and a selection of local/international wine options.

The hotel is an easy walk into town but there is a ski shuttle arranged by the hotel every morning and afternoon which is very convenient especially if you have equipment. We rented our skis and left them at the shop overnight so we took advantage of the morning ride and walked back in the afternoon.

All in all a very nice experience and look forward to next year's ski trip and another stay at Villa Excelsior.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LondonLillyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Spent first week of February at the excelsior. Perfect service, great staff, great food. A genuine family feel despite it being a quite big hotel. I highly recommend full board as the dinner is excellent and varied and great value - four courses for a tenner!
The staff is extremely helpful - helped us book restaurants, massage, helped us find a a camera we lost in a bar in town - and sent it to us in England. There is a free shuttle to the ski lifts leaving every 30 min in the morning and picking up every afternoon from the lifts.
In short - a great and highly affordable hotel with great mix of guests from UK, Sweden, US, Germany, Austria, Russia etc

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

I had the pleasure of a five night stay at Villa Excelsior and found it to be a lovely welcoming hotel. Christof is the owner who is extremely helpful and friendly. My room was tasteful, clean and comfortable. I can highly recommend half board as the food was wonderful with silver service.
A free ski shuttle in the morning and the evening will take you to the main gondola which is only a five minute drive away in the new part of town. I found the location of Villa excelsior great. Stepping out the front door puts you on a lovely pedestrian road which is a gentle walk into the old town or in the other direction, takes you through wooded hillside and birdsong. I had a pleasant stay and hope to return again.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KScan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bad Gastein hotels
0.5 km away
Das Regina Hotel
Das Regina Hotel
#1 of 36 in Bad Gastein
200 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Alpenblick
Hotel Alpenblick
#5 of 36 in Bad Gastein
150 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Salzburger Hof
Hotel Salzburger Hof
#2 of 36 in Bad Gastein
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Miramonte
Hotel Miramonte
#7 of 36 in Bad Gastein
189 reviews
1.1 km away
CESTA GRAND Aktivhotel & Spa
CESTA GRAND Aktivhotel & Spa
#9 of 36 in Bad Gastein
147 reviews
0.7 km away
Mondi-Holiday Bellevue
Mondi-Holiday Bellevue
#6 of 36 in Bad Gastein
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Excelsior Hotel & Kurhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Excelsior Hotel & Kurhaus

Address: Reitlstrasse 20, Bad Gastein 5640, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Bad Gastein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bad Gastein
#2 Spa Hotel in Bad Gastein
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bad Gastein
#4 Family Hotel in Bad Gastein
Price Range: $121 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Excelsior Hotel & Kurhaus 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Excelsior Hotel & Kurhaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Excelsior Hotel And Kurhaus
Villa Excelsior Hotel & Kurhaus Bad Gastein, Austria, Europe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing