We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel in historic building”
Review of Hotel Plaza Colon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Plaza Colon
Ranked #2 of 45 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 19 August 2017

On a recent trip to Granada stayed at the Hotel Plaza Colon, and stayed in a plaza facing room. Although the rates for the plaza facing rooms are considerably high (the most expensive rate of almost every hotel I researched), overall, at the end of my stay, I feel it was great quality. The hardwood floors, colonial doors out to the balcony and ambiance were great. Clean, large and the AC worked perfectly and provided much needed relief from the humid air outdoors. the balcony is continuous along the length of the front of the hotel, however it is divided off by railings from other rooms, and is very spacious with rocking chairs, which provided ideal relaxing evenings and mornings overlooking daily life and activities of the plaza. I did not see any of the other rooms, however not sure they could offer any better views of Granada. The shower was good size, nice water pressure and on demand hot water. Did not use the pool, but it appeared to be well maintained. Breakfast met expectations, eggs can be cooked to order, french toast one day, hash browns, breads the next. Location can't be beat with respect to centralization, and the staff was friendly and responsive. There is a small bar in the hotel which has a very new age look, though I did not partake. A small coffee shop is also attached.

Room Tip: Plaza facing rooms offer great ambiance, great views, and well protected from rains, you do pay a pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank skyalliance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaHPC, Gerente at Hotel Plaza Colon, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Dear skyalliance,

We appreciate your nice and detailed comment! We are very lucky to be located in the centre of the Colonial City of Granada right in front of the Central Park and the outstanding Cathedral of La Asunción. I am happy that you have enjoyed our varied breakfast, pool, rooms and amenities. We look forward to host you next time you visit Granada!

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,057)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 1,057 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2017

This is a great hotel to stay if you are visiting Granda - particularly, because the location is terrific, the rooms are very nice and the staff is very friendly. We stayed at the hotel for two days - we tried to extend our stay but they were sold out, so had to move to a nearby hotel. They serve the breakfast next to the pool - what a great experience and the food was fantastic as well. They have a nice car parking right behind the hotel which was included in the room rate- though you have to be a good driver to get a big car in there. Overall, loved the place and would recommend whole heartedly.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JadooWooly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaHPC, Gerente at Hotel Plaza Colon, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Dear JadooWooly,

Many thanks for such a glowing review of Hotel Plaza Colon! Comments like yours give us the motivation to keep searching for ways to always provide a top-level service to each of our Guests and make your stay memorable! We will be very happy to host You next time you visit the colonial city of Granada.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017

The best hotel in Granada. Even before we stepped off the plane, the hotel helped arrange a taxi to collect us at night. My friend and I don't speak Spanish and wanted a nice rest after all the travel. It was easy to feel comfortable out there even when my friends bag hadn't arrived with us. Staff helped us and called up on our behalf to check on it. They knew we were moving around to other cities and managed to get that bag sent to us even when we left. They were so great we went back there for another few nights. It was a home.

Stayed: April 2017
Thank Samiya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaHPC, Gerente at Hotel Plaza Colon, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Dear Samiya,

Thank you very much for your review and for considering our hotel the best in town. We really appreciate your valuable comments and feel happy when we are able to help our guests with any issue they may have. At Plaza Colon you are always welcome, and we will work to make you feel right at home!!

Warm Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

This was the second time my wife andI have stayed at Hotel Plaza Colon. The hotel is located right at the Central Plaza so you can't beat the location. It is beautifully maintained, very clean rooms, nice pool and lobby, air conditioned rooms with mini bar and very comfortable beds. The staff is both friendly and accommodating to every need. They helped with excursions, taxis, etc. They also have a very satisfying and free breakfast. Look for our friend Nelson. We were able to get to know him on both trips and he was especially efficient and helpful. Always with a great smile to greet you. Enjoy your trip to Granada. It is a very beautiful city to explore with great and very low priced food.

Room Tip: Second floor has some views of the Central Plaza. The back rooms are adjacent to an exercise studio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaHPC, Gerente at Hotel Plaza Colon, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Dear Stephen B,

We really appreciate your detailed review and are very happy that you had a pleasant stay in our hotel. Thank you so much for choosing Hotel Plaza Colon for the second time, we are all happy when our guests come back. Nelson will be glad to know that his service made your stay memorable!! It is always a pleasure to host you next time you visit Granada.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017

The Hotel Plaza Colon was my last stay after three weeks of more "roughing it / adventure" travel. It is such a gem and a great value for the price. The rooms are lovely, the pool is great, the grounds are really well kept, it is perfectly located across from the Parque Central-- but the true heart of this place is the staff. From the amazingly helpful concierge who went above and beyond to help me with a canceled flight, to the bell hop. Great experience from beginning to end, can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L1022TCkellyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaHPC, Gerente at Hotel Plaza Colon, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Dear L1022TCkellyh

Your kind words encourage us to continue working hard to always make our guests happy and create memorable experiences.
Thank you for your kind words, everyone at Hotel Plaza Colon appreciates when guests take the time to leave a note about us. I will make sure to pass along your kind words to our Staff; they love knowing that guests appreciate their service. We will be very happy to host You next time you visit Granada,

Best Regards,


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.5 km away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#1 of 45 in Granada
679 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#8 of 45 in Granada
667 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#4 of 45 in Granada
719 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Xalteva
Hotel Xalteva
#12 of 45 in Granada
259 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Real La Merced
Hotel Real La Merced
#11 of 45 in Granada
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza Colon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Colon

Address: In front of Central Park, Granada 11111, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Granada
#1 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#2 Business Hotel in Granada
#8 Green Hotel in Granada
Price Range: $152 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Plaza Colon 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in front of the main plaza, Hotel Plaza Colon has become a landmark of the colonial city of Granada. Our top notch colonial style facilities and our 100% Nicaraguan staff will make your stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Plaza Colon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Colon Hotel
Plaza Colon Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing