We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful hotel”
Review of Hotel Plaza Colon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Plaza Colon
Ranked #2 of 45 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 4 April 2015

We spent one night in the hotel in March and thought it was excellent. We had a room with a balcony overlooking the square and found it to be very comfortable. The birds were a little loud at dusk and dawn, but not a problem. We loved the inner courtyards, and breakfast was perfect beside the pool - probably the best breakfast of our trip. Staff were all friendly and helped us locate the hotel parking for our car. A perfect base for exploring Granada.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank BellaBeauJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,057)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

334 - 338 of 1,057 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2015

This is a beautiful colonial building that has been converted into a hotel. There are a couple of very nice central courtyards one with a nice pool around which the rooms are located. We had a two bedroom suite on the second floor facing the main square and the cathedral on the other side. Rooms facing this direction have very large balconies with rocking chairs. It's a pity there are not coffee makers in the rooms as it would be very nice to have one on the balcony watching the town come to life in the early morning. The downside to rooms facing this direction is that they are noisy because of street traffic and all night because of birds chirping loudly. Both our bathrooms were quite small but the shower stall is a good size and the air conditioner works very well which is a blessing in this heat and humidity. The breakfast buffet was OK with cooked to order eggs. There is a nice terrace at street level where you can have a drink. The staff are all friendly. This seems to be the best place in town.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeterAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2015

A charming well located hotel in the historic centre of Grenada facing the main square and cathedral. The balcony rooms afford good views of the square. The room was spacious and nicely furnished. The bed unfortunately had an uncomfortable matress cover, which impaired sleep. The room contained a fridge, but would have benefited from coffee making facilities. Breakfast was good with eggs to order. The hotel had a nice courtyard swimming pool.

Room Tip: Go for a room with a balcony, the extra cost is minimal for the benefits
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MKH50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2015

My daughter and I spent three glorious nights here. Bed was very comfortable room spacious and the pool was extremely clean. The breakfast buffet was one of the best I have ever experienced. Great bacon, fresh fruit and pure fresh juice and plenty of other choices. Omelettes etc. This hotel is certainly in the best location to tour Granada and the front desk staff is very knowledge and provide honest reliable information. Be sure to book a carriage ride with Giovanni in front of the hotel cart number 34. He speaks great english and is a wealth of knowledge. He also took us on a boat tour to monkey island, where we fed the monkeys fresh fruit. Great guide!

Room Tip: Book the balcony rooms in the front on the second floor for sure!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank sparklesluvstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2015

We really enjoyed this hotel, the staff were great! I asked to change the room, no problem.
They don't have a restaurant in the hotel, it doesn't matter, there are so many great restaurants in Granada! The breakfast is a buffet and that is all you need. Go out at night and see this amazing old city. It's the oldest city in Central America! Enjoy.
We spent four nights at this hotel, the pool is great. small but refreshing after a hot day.
Next door is a contemporary coffee shop, 5 star! Try the chocolate muffins. They make a really good coffee or Chai latte. you can sit outside and people watch. The park is across the street and thousands of birds gather in the trees in the park at sunset, so you might like the rooms in the back if the noise is to much, or if not you get a little balcony to look out onto the park. The bird noise stops around 8pm.
There are horse carriages right outside the hotel. This is an easy city to get around, but do the horse carriage later in the day before sunset, much cooler and we saw places we didn't see on foot.

Room Tip: We liked the rooms at the back near the pool. The front building has bigger windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank enjojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.5 km away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#1 of 45 in Granada
679 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#8 of 45 in Granada
666 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#4 of 45 in Granada
718 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Xalteva
Hotel Xalteva
#12 of 45 in Granada
259 reviews
0.7 km away
Los Patios Hotel
Los Patios Hotel
#7 of 45 in Granada
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza Colon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Colon

Address: In front of Central Park, Granada 11111, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Granada
#1 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#2 Business Hotel in Granada
#8 Green Hotel in Granada
Price Range: $152 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Plaza Colon 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in front of the main plaza, Hotel Plaza Colon has become a landmark of the colonial city of Granada. Our top notch colonial style facilities and our 100% Nicaraguan staff will make your stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hooroo Pty Ltd, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Evoline ltd, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Plaza Colon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Colon Hotel
Plaza Colon Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing