We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better not”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Casa Capricho
Ranked #36 of 75 Granada B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 April 2016 via mobile

The reason we were there was that most other places were booked for the poetry festival.
We were walk-ins and paid for 6 nights.
The room had a spiral staircase up to the second bed which cut a great deal of the space from the room. The door out if the room did not seal at the bottom and had no inside lock or latch, so anyone with a key could have walked in.
Because of the odd floor plan the tv had to be moved to view it.
The on demand shower head was cheap and fell apart often while taking a shower.
Breakfast was nothing special. There were no signs to let you know when it might be served by the rather surly, unsmiling, unfriendly staff.
The desk personnel were friendly enough but when we had to leave a day early they refused to refund the one day. We had to go through the credit card with a dispute. They claimed it was against their policy which we never saw and were never given.
There are much better places in Granada to stay and I would recommend booking one of the others.
On the plus, it is three blocks from town center.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
Thank Brad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2016

This is a nice little hotel centrally located. It is an old colonial style building, very charming, with a little pool. I felt very welcomed by the friendly staff and very safe. The room was small but clean and I used the air condition during the night which was comfortable.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank marisi2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2016 via mobile

Casa Capricho encompassed all the things I wanted and more during my stay in Granada. A boutique hotel, with a colonial-feel style, perfect for couples on a budget. Room with AC is clean and spacious. Also included in the price was breakfast. Gallopinto and eggs were my preference for the three days I stayed there.
Centrally located, the hotel is two blocks from the lively "La Calzada" ( Main Street with restaurants and bars) and one block from the famous San Francisco Convent in a safe and quiet area. The personnel were very helpful and available to assist me with any booking needs (they booked my trips to the Mombacho and Las Isletas).
The pool was perfect for a mid-afternoon cool down from the hot Nicaraguan days. If you're looking for a boutique hotel in the Granada area for a great price, I definitely recommend Casa Capricho.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Maya L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2016

Centrally located in the beautiful town of Granada. Nice and clean room with air-condition. Shared kitchen, nice pool and cosy common areas. Helpful staff, some speaks english. Good breakfast, however the time for breakfast was a bit late for us (8.30), seems like they divided the guests in a breakfast schedule, so it might be possible to change the time.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Alfred S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2015

It doesn't look like much from the outside in keeping with colonial architecture prevalent in Nica. This hotel is clean and comfortable with a beautiful courtyard with a dip pool and plenty of space to relax use computers (good wifi) watch tv or listen to music. There are 2 kitchen areas to cook your own food but a delicious and varied breakfast is included with the price of the room. The real win is the staff. Anna the cook was great and Irvin the front desk guy were so friendly and helpful with advice and making arrangements for me. I can't wait to go back.....A real gem

Room Tip: All rooms look into courtyard as with most in nica
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jimG4338MP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
7.3 km away
Jicaro Island Ecolodge Granada
Jicaro Island Ecolodge Granada
#2 of 4 in Isletas de Granada
354 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#2 of 45 in Granada
1,081 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Casa Barcelona
Hotel Casa Barcelona
#31 of 45 in Granada
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#3 of 45 in Granada
731 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Xalteva
Hotel Xalteva
#13 of 45 in Granada
263 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#8 of 45 in Granada
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Capricho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Capricho

Address: Calle El Arsenal 401, Granada, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Granada
Price Range: $56 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa Capricho 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa Capricho is a restored home in the old colonial city of Granada, Nicaragua. We are located behind the great walls of Convento San Francisco on Calle El Arsenal, just two blocks from Parque Central towards the Grand Lago de Nicaragua. Calle El Calzada, is located just two blocks from Hotel Casa Capricho. Here you can enjoy restaurants, bars and music. If you have a late night, our security guard will be waiting for you. The house has 10 bedrooms, some with queen size beds, others with double or single beds. Two of the rooms have two levels. We also offer an apartment with one bedroom, living room, kitchen and two balconies. All the bedrooms have private baths, hot water and 9 are air conditioned. Maid service and breakfast are included. Computer, Internet and Vontage phone calls (to the US & Canada) are available for your use to keep in touch with friends and family at no charge. We offer a "Guest Kitchen" which is shared by all the guests. Fully stocked with everything you will need to make your meals at home! The house has several seating areas for you to relax or visit with friends. The pool is clean and refreshing ~ a wonderful amenity to enjoy after a day of sightseeing. Our house is your house! Stay a night, weekend, week or a month! We look forward to serving you and making your stay in Granada, Nicaragua a pleasant one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Casa Capricho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing