We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (88)
Filter reviews
88 results
Traveller rating
82
6
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
82
6
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the owner friendly neighbors beautiful hotel church bells bustling city the staff are super friendly visit granada lovely swimming pool peaceful oasis the central park area this wonderful place boutique hotel restaurant recommendations garden cafe fresh fruit minute walk wi fi
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 88 reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2018

First time in Central America, we were made to feel very welcome by Liam and his hard-working staff which was a great positive start to the trip. The hotel looked fantastic in the web site photos and even better in real life!

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreenBALT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2018

A beautiful small hotel. Our room was lovely, spacious, nicely furnished,and air conditioned with very comfortable beds and even plenty of good pillows! We also loved the hot water in our large private bathroom, great little pool, and the WiFi was excellent. Excellent service, extremely well run. Helpful owner and staff made us feel completely welcome. including Renny at the front desk (who speaks quite good English and thinks he does not!) Liam's (owner) restaurant recommendations and other suggestions were all terrific. We loved the breakfast that came with our room. We usually chose the meal that included perfectly cooked eggs and beautiful fresh fruit.
The hotel is a bit off the beaten track This has its advantages as the hotel is very quiet (other than the church bells, which you would no doubt hear everywhere in Granada), and there is more of a real neighborhood feel to the area. But it is a rather long distance to the center if you are walking in the heat (would be a very short taxi ride).
Such a wonderful hotel, we didn't want to leave. If it had not been too late to cancel our next reservation, I believe we would have tried to book more nights.

Room tip: Heard that upstairs rooms were great. Loved our family room middle of first floor; could walk right out to pretty courtyard for breakfast.
Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trav512015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2018

Our family (husband, wife, 2 boys - 13 & 17yrs) stayed in La Polvora March 9-14 and had an wonderful experience. Liam and the staff operate like a family opening their home to you. They set a relaxed, inviting tone for all the guests to have a wonderful stay in Granada. Now the details...

Location: Hotel is an easy 10 minute walk to the plaza, with different routes you can take to see La Merced, or head slightly more south to walk by the municipal market, or slightly more north to go through a more residential area. Everything you want to see in Granada is walkable or get a taxi. NOTE: It is a pedestrian city and easy to walk, but watch out for the trucks, taxis, motos when crossing the one main street close to the hotel. The hotel is also on a wider street than most so it seems to get better breezes throughout the day.

Staff: As mentioned, they are very friendly, generous and offer good suggestions on tours, restaurants, etc. If you need anything, they can help. The hotel's driver, Eddie, can take you anywhere you need to go locally or in the Granada area. Liam (owner) has done an amazing job bringing the La Polvora staff together.

Lobby, Dining, Pool Areas: The San Jeronimo tile factory behind the hotel made all of the tiles in the hotel and pool deck, so all the common areas are visually charming. It's cozy, with seating areas to relax and there's always music in the background. Pool is lush...an oasis after a long morning exploring the city. Grab a beverage from the guest fridge, mark it on your guest sheet (honor system!), and grab a lounge chair.
Rooms: Clean on arrival, and cleaned daily. The rooms are comfortable, functional and air-conditioned. Also: no bugs. We stayed in another house during our trip and there were lots of insects in the rooms.

Food & Beverage: Breakfast is included in your stay: fresh fruit bowl, 2 eggs any style, bread or gallo pinto, juice and coffee. A hearty start to each day. Each evening the fruit and food is brought in. There is a guest fridge with beverages and some snacks. You have a paper tab on the fridge that you mark with whatever you ate or drank. Also, you can order snacks, lunch or dinner at the hotel.

Overall, a great hotel made more amazing by great owner and staff. Get a suggestion from Liam on places for dinner: Miss Dell's, Garden Cafe were both suggested and were great.

Final suggestion: Stay one or 2 nights on Isleta El Recedo, the sister hotel that's on one of the isletas on the lake. It is a stunning setting that feels beautifully remote, but it's only a 4 minute boat ride to the dock, and 10 minutes to town. The house was built recently and takes advantage of the breezes and views. Kayak, lounge, catch up on emails (there is wi-fi)...it's a beautiful setting to relax in.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank brooks_graul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018

This gem of a boutique hotel is truly an oasis in this sometimes rather loud and bustling city of Granada, and whether it is your breakfast, chilling at the pool or spending a night in this beautiful colonial style hotel, it feels absolutely wonderful to spend time at La Polvora. Thanks, Liam and your great staff for a great weekend!

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Amberstom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for five nights with my sister! We loved the hotel. Room was spacious with air conditioning and cable tv.FYI no kettle/iron /fridge or Hairdryer but you can make tea and coffee downstairs in the kitchen and there is a fridge to keep some of your items in!Breakfast is basic granola and yoghurt or eggs but the staff there are so lovely make you feel so welcome! The pool area is quite small but we were lucky it wasn’t too busy when we were there! It’s a 10 min walk to centre area with restaurants and it felt very safe where we were! We loved it here! We paid the hotel $45 return for two people from Managua airport... they were waiting for us both times and was very impressed with the service !

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank maryjane31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LiamSupple, Owner at Hotel La Polvora, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Many thanks for your review and comments! We're very glad you had a good stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews