We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (8)
Filter reviews
8 results
Traveller rating
1
1
1
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1
1
1
2
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 8 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Once set up with great ambition,it now looks terrible. This place screams for maintenance! They charge four star prices,but dont even deserve half a star. The bathrooms are the worst you have ever seen. No shower,but a broken elephant head that gives a massive stream of water. No sink in the bathroom either,but some kind of african bowl that you have to emptye yourself in a drain in the very unhygienic pebble floor. If you dont mind having toothpaste on your feet,you might even laugh about it. No cleaning,you have to ask for everything. Old,worn towels! These people are only interrested in money! They charge double prices for everything. F.a breakfast 250 bath,for two slices of toast. We had breakfast at Banpu resort,50 meters down the road. Great buffet for only 150 baht. Children half price. So,if you have a choice,never book here! Enjoy wonderfull koh chang,the island is great.

Room Tip: Do your homework and read reviews.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mgoud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

The only reason to spend more time thinking and writing about this "hotel" is so that You do not have to spend your time there!
The hotel could have been a nice place if it where not for the owner, and all the staff, pricing, not cleaned, rooms and so on. They (staff & owner) hardly said hi  and if they did it felt like it hurt them to do so. The rooms could have been nice if any maintenance where done the last 5 years. Now they are as the rest of the place so worn down its a shame. We stayed for 10 nights in the best of their rooms but still the same. Got to know 2 other guest family's and they had the same experience. Only reason for us not to leave right away is that we had pre paid for x-mas and new year stay and we could not get a refund. We got information before we arrived that the only available room was one of the most expensive ones. We found out that people walking in from the street (2 couples) got rooms  and to 1/3 of what we paid. And that there where indeed rooms available. No chance to get a refund even if we brought this to their attention. 
The restaurant was a bit of a lottery. We only had breakfast but even if we ordered 3 omelet with tomato we could get a ham one and only 1 out of 3 orange juice. Prices where almost double the next door restaurant or any other for that matter. Mostly empty while all the rest where full. 
Location: It is located on the "wrong" side of white sand beach. The coastline with sand is only visible during late afternoon due to the tide. 
If you for some reason could not find any other stay. The maximum worth for one night would be around 800Bath. 
I'm writing this review after nearly 6 weeks of stay here in Thailand before arriving to this hotel and an previous 6 other hotels in a row. So we have something to compare it to.  
-Rickard

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RIHA74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2010

We were here for less than 24 hours, left the room for 45 minutes on our first day to get a cup of coffee and the cleaning lady went into the room... She stole all the cash that we had... 1300 Australian dollars and 250 Euros. The staff and administration offered to comensate me with 10.000 baht (about one fifth of what was stolen) then revoked this offer (of course they gave us nothing) and ended up saying to us that everyone here thinks we are lying and making up this story to get money out of the hotel. Mind you, I never asked then for any money but only to search the cleaning lady and her work area. The people here are some of the most dishonest people I have ever met in my life...

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank euphorie925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2010

My wife and I stayed for 10 days with a couple of good friends at the beginning of February (sorry for such a delay in submitting this review). Unfortunately we had paid in advance and came across no-one having any management responsibility, otherwise we would have left after one night. The hotel was "quaint" but completely run down. Although we had the top of the range Pikul rooms, these were dark and dingey with dodgy front doors and hopeless on-suites. The hotel is situated at the "wrong end" of White Sands Beach where the tide comes right up to the wall of the hotel leaving the sand very wet at all times. Although we were assured that beach beds were availableat the hotel they could only provide plastic chairs from the restaurant. The restaurant itself appeared quite popular early evening but was always empty and closed before 10 pm. We never used it (despite continuous requests from the over attentive main waiter) because the breakfast service was not very good,
We didn't like White Sands - much too commercialised with very few restaurants that we found serving good quality food (and we tried quite a few). We did do a tour of the island but although other places appeared better than White Sands we were still not impressed and would not visit Koh Chang, especially the Banthai again

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cantwaitogetaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2007

This is a brilliant traditional style Thai Hotel & is really beautiful!! The staff are absolutely incredible - all of them even the security guard!! We went during the Monsoon season ( stupidly) & it hardly seemed to stop raining but the staff made us forget all about the weather!! The rooms are fantastic with elephant head showers - in fact if you love effalumps then this is the place for you!! Covered with them - its fantastic!! You just jump off the restaurant on to the beach! The food is amazing & the service fantastic!! So far this is the best hotel I ever stayed in!

They were absolutely amaxing with my little boy, Anthony, the chef even gave him squid for bait so he could fish & the waiters helped with his Gameboy mania!!

Tops for everything - cleanliness, friendliness, food, service - everything - no internet though & only Thai TV - but who cares!!

Stayed: July 2006
1  Thank Thaison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews