We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very quiet hotel in the jungle”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nirvana Resort Koh Chang
Ranked #27 of 73 Hotels in Ko Chang
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very quiet hotel in the jungle”
Reviewed 7 May 2012

This was our 3rd time to Koh Chang and 1st stay in Nirvana. Very quiet hotel, and the service is also good! It rained almost everyday at the beginning of May, but last not long. The only downside of the hotel is it's about 20 minutes walk from Bangbao Village. If the hotel can provide free pick up service from Bangbao Village when guests arrive, that would be thoughtful and better!

Room Tip: Ask the small truck driver to take you to the hotel instead of Bangbao Village when you arrive!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah_sh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    60
    27
    11
    7
See reviews for
42
117
11
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Taichung, Taiwan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2012

We spent 6 nights at Nirvana celebrating our 25th. The hotel met us with champagne and roses to start our celebration. It couldn't have been more beautiful. The deluxe room was perfect: clean, quiet, with a wide screen TV loaded with movies. Extra touches like a backlit mask over the bed and Balinese couch made the room feel exotic. We loved having breakfast delivered to our front porch as we watched the still waters and the boats come into Bang Bao. Tantra, the restaurant, was awesome. Good breakfasts and a mix of French and Thai foods for a reasonably priced dinner. The atmosphere at Tantra is perfect! Antique carved walls, open air, and trendy lighting. The lounge seating is perfect to enjoy a dessert and a coffee. If you don't stay at the hotel at least rent a scooter and head towards Bang Bao. You turn right just before Bang Bao at a sign marked "Tantra". As expats in Asia we were smitten by an awesome cheese plate (we don't see that often) and a knowledgeable wine list. Lunch at the bar pool was also terrific. Drinks a bit pricy for what you get. Both pools are a great way to spend the day - but if you want a beach they will boat you over to a close one. Evening sunsets at a platform serving drinks was a great place to meet new friends from Russia and Norway. Attention to detail on the beautiful grounds made it feel like a 5 star resort. The place did feel a bit understaffed, but the staff they had was friendly and hardworking. The prices for laundry, massage, and food were not inflated so no need to go elsewhere. Already thinking of going back in the Fall.

Room Tip: Get the deluxe room! The porch and extra room is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gobucksta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Spent the holiday here for 3 nights in a deluxe room. Drove past the road the first time as the nirvana sign doesnt have any color and is hard to see. When we arrived, the reception staff didn't even say hi, she picked up the phone and made a call then like a robot pointed out the facilities on a map. No friendliness from her at all the whole trip. The rest of the staff were pretty friendly however, i want to point that out, especially the guy running pool bar. I don't think the staff have been properly trained at the restaurant, Tantra as quite often i had to find someone to get water, napkins etc..
The food was quite good at the restaurant, though the menu is a bit limited. The room was perfect, an awesome blend of old wooden style with a sophisticated entertainment center. The place is peaceful and the pools are great.
Overall experience was quite positive, just some issues with the staff as I pointed out.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevindarwazeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paros, Greece
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Having read all the raving reviews from fellow travelers on Tripadvisor, expectations were quite naturally high. We arrived, were received by a friendly manager - Tom - and taken to our deluxe cottage ......... amazing! Superb design, very tasteful interior, great amenities, - what more could we possibly ask for?! Ready to spend 12 days in Nirvana, we went over to Tantra, the beautiful restaurant with lots of Thai antiques and a wonderful setting on the water overlooking Bang Bao. After an acceptable - but not in line with everything else to this point - dinner, we settled in for the night. This, we felt sure, would be everything we had hoped for!
Not so.
The restaurant is badly managed, the breakfast 'buffet' is a disaster, cleanliness all around (rooms, restaurant, bathroom, etc) far below par and the staff, usually the highlight of any small, exclusive hide-away in Thailand, were subdued, rarely smiled and only greeted guests infrequently. No 'happy campers' here!
We should have stayed 12 days but left after 7 (or 8) Unfortunately, there are not many hotels of this caliber (compliments to designer and owner) in Koh Chang, and accordingly we spent the rest of our time in a fairly uninteresting ****+ beach-resort with excellent food, friendly staff and immaculately maintained facilities.
Would I recommend Nirvana to friends? - I wish I could, it has such great potential, but ......

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erik-xVx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Like the previous review, we spent our first 3 nights of our honeymoon here having had a long journey.

It was perfect.

Great, friendly staff. A good intro from the manager Tom on the hotel and local area.

Beautiful sunset terrace.

2 lovely swimming pools. Comfortable rooms with decent pillows. The rooms aren't huge but are fine.

Nice food - they have a French chef who makes amazing bread, you must try the chicken sandwich at the pool bar. Breakfasts were excellent, no buffet and freshly cooked to order.

They drop you into Bang Bao for free.

There is no beach but they will drop you off at the closest beach - we didn't go as we were tired and enjoyed relaxing around the pool. We heard though that it is a lovely beach.

Massages are the same price as in the town and were enjoyable.

Relaxing atmosphere and no long list of rules.

Highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sun2009_Sun_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
3.9 km away
Nest Sense Resort
Nest Sense Resort
#7 of 73 in Ko Chang
290 reviews
1.8 km away
Chivapuri Beach Resort Koh Chang
7.7 km away
Gajapuri Resort & Spa
Gajapuri Resort & Spa
#5 of 73 in Ko Chang
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Tropical Beach Koh Chang
Tropical Beach Koh Chang
#26 of 73 in Ko Chang
89 reviews
8.5 km away
The Emerald Cove Koh Chang
10.0 km away
Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nirvana Resort Koh Chang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nirvana Resort Koh Chang

Property: Nirvana Resort Koh Chang
Address: 12/4 - 5 Moo 1, Bangbao | Koh Chang Tai, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand (Formerly Nirvana Resort & Spa)
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Ko Chang
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Chang
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Chang
Price range (per night): $49 - $132
Hotel Class:4 star — Nirvana Resort Koh Chang 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nirvana Resort is a special place designed to surpass its name. Made with lovers of natural beauty, comfort and service in mind. Nirvana is the special getaway for anybody who is yearning for peace and tranquility with comfort. Famous for its positioning, Nirvana is the one resort on Koh Chang offering views of both sunrise and sunset. Our stunning rock walk offers breath taking views with total privacy. There's nothing like it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Nirvana Resort Koh Chang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nirvana Resort And Spa
Nirvana Hotel Koh Chang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing