We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tranquil and relaxed atmosphere, a great place to unwind” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nirvana Resort Koh Chang

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Nirvana Resort Koh Chang
Ranked #27 of 72 Hotels in Ko Chang
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Tranquil and relaxed atmosphere, a great place to unwind”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

Like the previous review, we spent our first 3 nights of our honeymoon here having had a long journey.

It was perfect.

Great, friendly staff. A good intro from the manager Tom on the hotel and local area.

Beautiful sunset terrace.

2 lovely swimming pools. Comfortable rooms with decent pillows. The rooms aren't huge but are fine.

Nice food - they have a French chef who makes amazing bread, you must try the chicken sandwich at the pool bar. Breakfasts were excellent, no buffet and freshly cooked to order.

They drop you into Bang Bao for free.

There is no beach but they will drop you off at the closest beach - we didn't go as we were tired and enjoyed relaxing around the pool. We heard though that it is a lovely beach.

Massages are the same price as in the town and were enjoyable.

Relaxing atmosphere and no long list of rules.

Highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sun2009_Sun_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    60
    27
    11
    7
See reviews for
42
116
11
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

Half way through 3 months travelling around South East Asia, my girlfriend joined me for 10 days to escape London and to see me of course. We read tonnes of reviews and through all we kept hearing the words relaxing, tranquil, quiet etc and this swayed it for us. We were blown away by the quality of the deluxe bungalow, the pools, Tantra the restaurant, the location, and so very importantly the staff. The Thai/local staff spoke enough English for it to never one be a problem, they were friendly and so polite and relaxed and Tom the manager was extremely open and honest, gave us some great suggestions tailored to what we wanted without once making us feel like we were being sold anything or they had deals set up.

For a fantastic, relaxing and picturesque holiday away from the main tourist areas but close enough that by scooter or taxi, both of which Nirvana arrange at competitive prices and without fuss then this place is the place to go.

Lastly, the food here is exceptional from the poolside snacks to the French Thai fusion cuisine at the Tantra restaurant. If for some reason you don't stay here, definitely check out this restaurant as it is as good as anywhere else I have eaten in Asia, certainly on Koh Chang.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Nirvana resort was the first place we arrived in Koh Chang on our honeymoon. It was such a pleasant arrival, we were received by very friendly Tom who runs the place and gave us an introduction to the resort, nearby activities etc.
The place is like an oasis in the jungle, the garden/tropical forest is beautiful, the areas with the svimmingpools are so cozy and the decoration of the spacious and well equipped rooms is something you will not find anywhere else in Thailand.
The food is completely amazing, served in the the perfect setting on the lovely restaurant Tantra which has a beautiful view and really deserves a visit even though one does not stay on Nirvana Resort. Nirvana has an excellent French cook who makes lovely inexpensive meals. They offer a set menu of western/French food and food a la carta which is more inspired by Thai food. The breakfast is also really great.
The sunset one should see from the lovely sunset deck constructed on the rocks. They serve drinks on the deck. Perfect after a day on the beach.
The resort is located on a peninsula where there is not really a good beach but they offer convenient transportation to the nearby beach, which was the nicest beach I experienced in Koh Chang.
Nirvana resort will always stay in our mind as the perfect honeymoon place to be and we will for sure come back. We can only recommend this place for EVERYBODY - very unique and luxurious experience.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SigneKrabbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

Drove down to Koh Chang from BKK and it took a while to locate the hotel. Its down a back road with a tiny sign. The place looked good but when we looked closer we realised that it was poorly maintained. All the bed clothes had blood stains in them, the bathroom was filthy. Yellow stains on the toilet, plug holes were filthy and there was a general layer of dirt everywhere. Our tap was held on by tape and there was a rotten hole in the door.

I'm sure this place was excellent a few years back but it looks like its just been left to rot. Basically it seems like they simply don't have enough staff to run the place correctly.

As I said it's cheap so I guess you get what you pay for. If you're not bothered about dirty living then its a good option. But don't book it if you're expecting a good standard hotel stay.

They are extremely helpful, but in general they can't do much because the place is just a bit run down.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Klittle151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

We stayed at Nirvana Resort in March 2011 after good reviews through Trip Advisor. Not disappointed. Excellent place away from the main built up area. We were picked up by a boat and taken across. The walk into town is not to arduous. The staff were fantastic - friendly. Sunset cocktails are not to be missed. Small bay nearby is great for snorkeling - free snorkeling gear from reception. Rooms were excellent. Restaurant is open and very impressive. Do yourself a favour and go next door to the Cliff Resort to sit on their deck and enjoy beers looking over the bay. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DougWillis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
4.0 km away
Nest Sense Resort
Nest Sense Resort
#6 of 72 in Ko Chang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
1.9 km away
Chivapuri Beach Resort Koh Chang
13.7 km away
Na Tara Resort
Na Tara Resort
#30 of 72 in Ko Chang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 km away
The Aiyapura Koh Chang
The Aiyapura Koh Chang
#25 of 72 in Ko Chang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
8.1 km away
Koh Chang Cliff Beach Resort
2.0 km away
Tranquility Bay Resort and Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nirvana Resort Koh Chang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nirvana Resort Koh Chang

Property: Nirvana Resort Koh Chang
Address: 12/4 - 5 Moo 1, Bangbao | Koh Chang Tai, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand (Formerly Nirvana Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Ko Chang
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Chang
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Chang
Price range (per night): $62 - $139
Hotel Class:4 star — Nirvana Resort Koh Chang 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nirvana Resort is a special place designed to surpass its name. Made with lovers of natural beauty, comfort and service in mind. Nirvana is the special getaway for anybody who is yearning for peace and tranquility with comfort. Famous for its positioning, Nirvana is the one resort on Koh Chang offering views of both sunrise and sunset. Our stunning rock walk offers breath taking views with total privacy. There's nothing like it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Nirvana Resort Koh Chang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nirvana Resort And Spa
Nirvana Hotel Koh Chang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing