We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent back packers resort” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Magic Garden Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ko Chang
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Magic Garden Resort
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
“Excellent back packers resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

After staying for 2 nights on the beach we were glad we explored Lonely Beach further and found the Magic Garden.
Our bungalow was clean, well maintained and the hot shower for the price we paid was unexpected. The bungalows look really cool from the outside and laying in the hammock on our own porch the garden gave a really relaxing feeling and very close to nature.
We ate a 3 different occassions in the restaurant (where they play really cool tunes) and all 3 times the food was excellent and the service genuinely friendly.
Unfortunately Koh Chang was the last part of the trip and we could only stay for 5 days in the Magic Garden. When we come back we certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: They have two kind of bathrooms, open roof and closed. We looked at both and decided the open roof...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    24
    10
    9
    9
See reviews for
2
40
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

After checking all the possible guesthouses on internet in Koh Chang, I wanted to try this one and was totally disappointed. Although the huts look nice from outside, they are not good that all inside. Ours was not clean, the mosquito net was full of holes and outside, they leave all the garbage which stinks really bad. Because of the noise from outside, it is not possible to sleep anyway (but we knew this before). I am sure one can find a better place in Koh Chang for 500 Baht per night (we did find, but it was too late).

The bar area looks nice, but the woman working there looks really unmotivated, probably she needs support, as he is serving most of the time alone.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

Came here for breakfast one day and it was seriously terrible. I asked for yoghurt and muesli and what came was cornflakes pored on top of big chunks of fruit with a tiny bit of really sweet yoghurt. Not great and really expensive too
Didn't Stay at the resort so cannot comment on rooms just breakfast was bad

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bgjUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

How anyone can give this a low score I dont know! Although we did not stay in the accommodation (we were booked in down the road for the week), we saw it and was a hut, as advertised. 500bt I think it was from memory, but thats about not a lot at all!

anyway, the food! I fell in love with the Pineapple curry & the Pumpkin curry instantly and ended up going back another 3 times! they also had a all you can eat BBQ going on one night which was great! nice and relaxed, good vibe and it turned out one of the staff had family not too far from me back in London!

If you are by Lonely beach, even if its not to sleep, I'd recommend you visit just for the curry!

:)

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clifförd I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

It's a real shame that the bungalow we stayed in was filthy because the bar and lounge area is truly lovely and the outside of the bungalows look gorgeous. Unfortunately we dont think it was cleaned before we checked in, in particular the linen was stained and the bathroom was grotty and actually stunk. At 500 baht a night (high season) you'll find much much better on Koh Chang! In fact we found two places that were extremely clean and a lot nicer for between 200-450 just up the road! Just show up on Lonely Beach and shop around, we would reccommend you hang out at the bar for dinner one night but stay elsewhere!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelbourneMeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Chang
0.1 km away
Nest Sense Resort
Nest Sense Resort
#5 of 71 in Ko Chang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.2 km away
Paradise Cottage
Paradise Cottage
#12 of 97 in Ko Chang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
1.0 km away
Elephant Bay Resort
Elephant Bay Resort
#4 of 97 in Ko Chang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Mercure Koh Chang Hideaway Hotel
2.2 km away
Sea View Resort & Spa Koh Chang
0.4 km away
Sea Flower Resort
Sea Flower Resort
#2 of 8 in Ko Chang Tai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magic Garden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magic Garden Resort

Property: Magic Garden Resort
Address: 37 / 4 Moo 1, Lonely Beach, Ko Chang 23170 , Thailand
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 97 Speciality Lodging in Ko Chang
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Magic Garden Hotel Koh Chang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing