We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (125)
Filter reviews
125 results
Traveller rating
104
16
4
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
104
16
4
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews barry's place eco lodge atauro island timor leste tuk tuk warm hospitality solar power high tide tropical paradise comfortable accommodation a great place to relax sound of the waves fresh fish family holiday stayed two nights his team great guy
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 125 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2018

Barry's Place is a work in progress with many creature comforts such as solar powered fans being added to all the cottages. The very romantic looking thatched huts are well spaced to ensure privacy and offer simple but comfortable accommodation. The 'bathroom' and toilet facilities are shared between a couple of cottages and are somewhat reminiscent of Bali in the 70's (with an environmental focus) complete with water ladle for a shower and pit toilet. With no mobile phone or internet access this is the place to relax, chill out and practise the art of verbal communication. The owner, Barry, has been an integral part of the Atauro community for many years and is a great source of tourist information and local knowledge. If bars and nightlife are on your holiday agenda this is NOT the place for you!

Room tip: The rooms on the beach get a lovely cool breeze in the afternoon.
Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nickyheap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2018 via mobile

Barry’s Eco-Lodge is a must if you are visiting Dili and want a change of scenery. The accommodation is simple, clean and functional. The hammock out the front of every room is a fantastic bonus! The bathroom facilities are eco friendly and very pleasant to use, no odour and no flies to be seen. The gardens are well thought out providing both shade and privacy. Barry is a great host and willing to share his knowledge about the island, the people and it’s history. We really enjoyed the food that was provided three times a day, it was simple, tasty and sourced locally. Being away from our phones was fantastic, we read, we played cards and we talked! The locals are very keen to engage and we were fortunate to have a son with us who could speak Tetun which made this easier. The snorkeling on the reef just out from Barry’s was amazing, well worth getting one of the local boat owners to take you out. I thoroughly recommend booking a few days at Barry’s, some of my family will be back very soon.

Date of stay: May 2018
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2018 via mobile

Staying at Barry's was the highlight of our trip to Timor. Having an enforced break from wifi and phone connections, we were able to appreciate the exquisite beauty of the natural environment, and enjoy conversations with some of the other guests in the dining area.

Barry's hospitality (and that of his team) was warm, friendly and helpful. The food was simple, healthy and delicious and our snorkelling experiences were fantastic. The facilities, while simple, were more than adequate for our stay. We also enjoyed the Saturday markets which are right next door, and the opportunity to purchase some TL goods to assist support the local economy (also at the NGOs on the island, including the Boneca de Atauro workshop and adjacent jewellery story which had some lovely pieces)

Thanks Barry, Lina and your staff - and we hope to come back again in the not too distant future!

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Carmela_Vincente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

Sitting on a veranda, under a shady thatched roof, gazing at the delightfully blue sea a few metres away, Barry’s Place is a beautifully restful place.

I have read the one negative review of the place, and can only say if the reviewer stayed here then it must have been 8 to 10 years ago. Barry has planted ai-barak (many trees in Tetun) and his eco-lodge is an oasis of shade and tranquility now.

This is an eco lodge, and there is an emphasis on sustainability. Ata’uro Island is very poor, and fresh water, limited. Electricity on the island is limited to 6pm to 6am a day. Barry has installed batteries and some solar power, so electricity is available all day. Each hut is equipped with fans and lights. The beds have sheets and towels (not always the case in Timor Leste) and mosquito nets. The huts, while basic, are comfortable and friend with who I travelled fell love with the hammock on the veranda.

Set up in the dining room, are power boards so you can charge your devises. There are 3 fridges - 2 with soft drinks, beer and coconuts to buy. One can be used a common fridge for storing your own snacks and drinks.

You can lay back and chill, read, swim lazily in the sea or detox completely from your devises. Barry also arranges with the locals to hire their boats to take you out on the reef for $10/hour (or $2.50/person if there are more than 3 people) + a small donation for the reef, to go snorkelling. Snorkelling is almost a must do activity (unless you are actually diving). Ata’uro currently has the most marine diverse environment in the world. It’s reefs are comparatively undamaged. There are other activities around the island as well - walks, visiting NGO shops to support the people of Ata’uro.

The service is quite genuine, but not fawning. Barry himself is very helpful and friendly, and is dedicated to not only his business, but to serving the community in which he lives. Barry is the quintessential host. Each person is made to feel as Barry’s special guest.

I can thoroughly recommend Barry’s Place as a place to stay.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank brontewcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2018

Barry's lodge is the place to stay at Atauro. The place is comfortable and has everything you need while being sustainable to the local environment. If you want to go to an untouched wilderness this is place. Barry will also be upfront about organising activities which employ local people from surrounding villages and towns. I wanted to go out to the reef on a Sunday which some of the locals consider a no no due to Church but Barry was able to arrange for a boat to take us out with a local man after church in the afternoon that accommodated us but also local customs.

Room tip: Beach rooms can be smaller but you don't spend much time in your room when you can sit on your balcony in the hammock.
Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews