We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Backwoods Cabin”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
New gas fireplace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
11 reviews
New gas fireplace
View from queen bedroom loft
View from the kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen and Dining area
Queen Bedroom
Loft Sign
Bathroom
Chairs on the deck
Tarpin Creek Locate by the cabin
View from the Cabin
Clearing to the creek in Front of Cabin
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Moneta, Virginia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Adventure...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Privacy, good space”
Reviewed 28 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Positives-location, plenty of space, cozy and comfortable. It you want some quiet time away from distraction, this is for you. Beds/seating were comfortable. Water was hot, well equipped, etc. Good value.

Negatives...in short walk from cabin to creek we picked up five ticks between the two of us. I know it's not easy to keep up with keeping grass short in rainy streaks. But it did discourage us from going creek side again. Check in info..I don't use apps so took a lot of back and forth to finally get the information. Cleaning..I specifically stay away from "pet friendly" places whenever possible. Sometimes I have to compromise to get the location, dates, price, whatever. Things were mostly clean, attention to bathroom, counters, etc. However there was a decent amount of pet hair on the sofa, some behind the door where sweeping was missed. Hard to relax on the couch when you are grossed out by pet hair. Cleanliness is pretty important to me in rentals, so just turned me off to think of what four legged pets were snuggling on the couch the day before I was there. If that doesn't bother you, then I would recommend it, if you aren't a pet lover, then may think twice.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jun 2017
I am sorry you didnt have a great experience. It is our,goal to make all experiences pleasant. Our cartakers are available 24/7, and were actually at the property during you stay performing maintenance, they gladly would have corrected absolutely ANY issues that you had during your stay. I will pass,along the information to them to,them about the dog hair.
Your are welcome back anytime, and will get this issue resolved right away! Michelle and Lonnie McDonald- owners
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet B
1 review
“Backwoods Cabin”
Reviewed 18 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Nice little cabin that was hidden away. We enjoyed our stay it was perfect place for our family. It was clean and quite.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jun 2017
Thank you for the great review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay! Michelle and Lonnid McDonald- ownes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
22 Aug 2017
Thanks for the great review! We will definitely consider covering front porch. You are welcome back anytime! Michelle
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sightsee5...
1 review
“Great place”
Reviewed 24 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Loved the privacy. Especially enjoyed hiking on the path by the creek behind the cabin. We have stayed in several cabins over the years. Compared to others, this cabin had more space, good kitchen appliances and cooking utensils, comfortable beds, great tub and shower, great-tasting water, good water pressure, very hot water. Only snag; we understood we had a limited amount of internet usage, but we could not tell how fast we were using it. It is reasonable to limit internet usage, but knowing how to gauge usage is an inherent aspect of such a limitation. Otherwise everything was great.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Mar 2017
Thanks for the great review! It is definitely a challenge to,have internet in,the country, but great news is we have upgraded to an unlimited internet (Verizon just started offering it last month) so,if you decide stay again, you will have no worries! Glad you enjoyed your stay! Michelle- owner
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrequentF...
1 review
“Off the beaten path”
Reviewed 19 October 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Cabin was well kept, however the dishwasher had failed, but that happens, and you get over it. We enjoyed the area, as this is why we booked, where we wanted to be, backroads southwest VA. One caution, a low profile car may have difficulty accessing the cabin path. We had a Ford Escape SUV so it wasnt an issue. The cabin was comfortable, it was early in year, so we didnt do much out in the yard. No one bothered us, it was relaxing, as it is "off the beaten path ". Enjoyable !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: isolated, nice area
Liked least: dishwasher failed, no replacement available
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Oct 2016
Thank you for the review, the dishwasher is actually tripped by the plug sometimes, but it is brand new purchased in July, I will make sure that this information is in the hospitality app for future guests.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, you are welcome back anytime! Michelle and Lonnie McDonald- owners
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing