We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (482)
Filter reviews
482 results
Traveller rating
323
92
41
16
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
323
92
41
16
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews infinity pool main restaurant beautiful property public rooms junior suite tennis courts southern charm charlottesville area third floor fitness center villa crawford fossett's restaurant orient express property spa monticello virginia billiards
Filter
Updating list...
311 - 316 of 482 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2012

My husband and I celebrated our Anniversary this past weekend at Keswick Hall... first time away without the children in years! Upon arrival, we were greeted by a helpful young bellboy who immediately took care of our luggage and car. Our room was ready, overlooking the golf course, as requested! It was clean, cool and comfortable. In comparison to a stay at The Homestead a few years back, Keswick appeared to be better maintained. Everyone was pleasant and service was very good... in some instances excellent, in a few, just okay. Our drinks and appetizers outside at Fossett's bar were relaxing and afforded a beautiful view of the area. A late dinner at the Palmer House on our first evening was very good as well.
The Horizon pool was spectacular! Relaxing, quiet and with a few extra touches such as the chilled water coolers infused with lemon, cucumber and mint and sunscreen available at shaded tables by the pool.
Dinner at Fossett's was fantastic! Our waittress, Mary was pleasant, knowledgeable about the menu (which had just changed that day), and attentive. The crabcake appetizers were wonderful, as were our bison and lamb entrees. A "Happy Anniversary" drizzled in chocolate on our dessert plate along with complementary champagne were unexpected treats!

Three areas that didn't meet our expectations: First, we returned from our pleasant couples' massage hoping to enjoy afternoon tea at Villa Crawford (which we heard was very good) on Sat. Tea is served from 3:00 to 5:00. We arrived at 3:50 and waited outside the room for about 10 minutes before anyone came out to greet us. The two service women clearing tea cups walked right past us. When I inquired if tea was available, she pointed out the second attendant and said she was not sure, I would have to ask her. When asking the second, she said that she could offer us tea but couldn't guarantee sandwiches as it had been a busy afternoon. Perhaps we could return the next day (we could NOT)? This was disappointing as we had a late dinner reservation and had intended this touted tea to be our late lunch. If tea is advertised for a 2 hr. window, one would think that there would be enough food and pastries to last more than one hour?! Our second note, the mattress in our room was very hard... even for my husband who likes a firm mattress. Last, the room rates are very high. It would be nice to return again if there is a decent package, but, over $450/per night for a standard room is pricey for the average couple. Hopefully there will be specials offered to encourage repeat visitors. We truly enjoyed our stay and would love to return!

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far away from the train tracks as possible (if you are a light sleeper).
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZoeAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 2 July 2012

Thank you for choosing Keswick for your anniversary celebration and for posting a review. We do apologize for the issues that you encountered at afternoon tea and also the firmness of the mattress in your room. We will certainly address both of those issues right away.
We look forward to providing our past guests with future value offers. Please watch for our winter holiday offer coming soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We loved this resort, I went with my family and 3 friends for a weekend getaway and we had a great time. The staff was incredible friendly and as soon as we got there they greeted us at the door and provided us with all the details about our rooms. The food is pretty incredible and the services superb. During our stay, the front desk made everything super easy and was very helpful in arranging our activities in and outside the resort (thank you Roberto); Duane will always greet us with a smile, get the doors, ask where we were going, and was just extremely friendly (thank you fixing my son’s bicycle sit). The rest of the front desk staff was very gracious and very attentive to our needs.

Our rooms were gorgeous and large with a supper comfortable bed, an oversize tub and our balcony had a great view to the golf course. The resort was clean and the grounds were maintained immaculately. After our activities we were immediately greeted and offered bottle water or had the choice to complimentary lemonade.

Would I stay here again? Yes, yes and yes! The Keswisk knows how to treat their guess; I just wish we had more time to do all the fun stuff they have at this place and the historic places nearby.

I have stayed at many 4 and 5 star resorts around the world and this was one of my best experiences by far.

Until next time Keswick Hall.

Pablo B.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PTrotamundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

We recently spent several days at Keswick Hall, having won a Luxury link auction for the stay.
We enjoyed the stay very much, and although there were a few minor disconnects we thought
the experience was positive. We had bid on a Deluxe Room, and on arrival found that we had been upgraded to a suite. The room was spacious, had good views and was well appointed.
We chose to dine at Fossett's Restaurant our first night, and enjoyed a great meal. We were
particularly pleased at the hostess assuring our table location on the large windows overlooking
the golf course. As we watched a full moon rise we could not have asked for a lovelier setting.
Our package included breakfast, in this case juice, coffee and an entree choice from a varied
selection. We both enjoyed the two breakfasts, except our preference for hotter coffee. The
service was quite good. We used the fitness center, which had a good selection of exercise
equipment, and enjoyed being able to walk along the interior roadways along the golf course
and the residences in the estate. It appears the property has a long and interesting history,
but now is obviously a major corporation-run multipurpose enterprise. Having experienced
this type development in Florida and elsewhere, we felt Keswick Hall was definitely a cut
above. It is not cheap, but the overall estate beauty and professional approach justified the
cost for us. It appears that as many resorts tend to do, a cadre of younger staff are given a
good bit of latitude and responsibility. This was not troublesome, but did lead to a few times
when the communications were not quite as clear as needed. Example- bridge out on a road
leading to the Hall, but instructions provided for access were not current or clear.
If asked if we would go back, we'd say yes. The area is beautiful, the Hall a nice, older site
which is being well maintained, and an excellent restaurant offers a very good menu and
extensive wine list. For a Charlottesville visit, Monticello, local wineries and great back road
vistas it would be hard to beat.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColReed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 2 July 2012

Thank you for your review. We do apologize for any inconvenience that the recent work by the state on the Shadwell Bridge may have caused. We are delighted to report that the work is now complete!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

I just returned from a weekend trip to Keswick Hall. I was not impressed at all. To begin with, the room service is far from what you would expect. For example, you do not receive salt and pepper with your order. At breakfast, most hotels give you jelly or jam when you order toast. Not this place. Yesterday morning when I called to order breakfast, I asked what kind of muffins they had, and I was told that they had blueberry muffins. I ordered one, and when my order arrived I received two blackberry muffins and one raspberry muffin. I am allergic to both of those berries. When I called to express my dismay, the woman who took my order had no explanation at all. When I told her I was allergic to blackberries and raspberries, there was no apology for sending me something I didn't order.
It was not just room service that disappointed me. What five star resort does not give their guests plastic bags to put their dirty laundry in? Keswick Hall. I could go on, but you get the picture. This resort in not worth the high price they charge. I've stayed at five star resorts, and trust me, this is not one of them. Don't expect to be pampered.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LutheranGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at Keswick Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2012

Thank you for also reaching out to our General Manager directly so that he can address your concerns right away. Our most sincere apologies for the issues you encountered.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

I dream of going back to Keswick Hall for another getaway and can not believe it has been 3 years since I have been. It is everything I want out of a special getaway. Comfortable, detail oriented, with an incredible staff! I needed some time and to just relax--the spa was wonderful with professional and personable attendants. The room was gorgeous as was the HUGE bathroom. I enjoyed drinks and food in the bar and thouroughly enjoyed my high tea in front of the fire place with both tea and champagne. Since I visited there is a new chef at Fossetts so I will be happy to try the food again. 3 years ago I was disappointed with the food but the new reviews so promising.

Room Tip: I loved the room service breakfast which was included in the package I made for myself. However the delivery times definetely got messed up. Also I got the local paper and the Washington Poat delivered to my room each AM and I loved that!
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vajenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

Thank you for your review and for your return to Keswick Hall. We hope that it won't be quite so long before your next visit. A special thank you for noting the arrival of Chef Aaron Cross to Fossett's!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews