We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant Hospitality.....Charming Relaxation......”
Review of Keswick Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Keswick Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Elegant Hospitality.....Charming Relaxation......”
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Where to start? The previous reviewers have used the pertinent words: "graceful manor, stately, bucolic," and I would add, warm and friendly. We have a well-mannered pointer that was treated like she just won Westminister. (she didn't.....). Our dinner in Fossett's was memorable. The service was attentive without being intrusive. Throughout the house there were flowers that looked as if they had been picked on the proberty....seasonal witchhazel and other flowers that in no way had that "florist shop" look. At one point we were reading in a sitting area and someone came to lay a fire (if we wanted one....we did.). I honestly can't remember when I enjoyed a stay more.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacqrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at Keswick Hall, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Thank you for your review and for adding "warm and friendly" to the list of favorite words to describe Keswick Hall. The florals in the hotel are often picked from the gardens at the Estate and we are always delighed to welcome canine traveling companions. Thank you for choosing Keswick and we hope that you will return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    307
    86
    39
    13
    8
See reviews for
75
263
11
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Keswick Hall is classic and classy in all of the right ways. My girlfriend and I popped down from DC for a mid-week break and this stately property in bucolic Virginia horse country exceeded all expectations.

The place can come off as a little stuffy, to be fair. The restaurant, Fossett's, maintains a 'business casual' dress code. Which is maybe more than most folks want to live up to when they're on vacation. However, the staff itself was very enthusiastic, warm and welcoming, putting any notion of not feeling like we fit in to rest.

From the water pitcher and ice bucket being filled upon our entry to the room, to the staff bringing around complimentary chocolate covered strawberries on Valentine's Day, the service really was great. Visiting the bar area, more casual than the restaurant, was a great treat. The bartender was very knowledgeable and poured a great cocktail. The atmosphere itself really felt otherworldly. Like vacationing in Thomas Jefferson's guest house or 'Downtown Abbey'. Right down to the colonial decor, old, dark wood, crackling fireplaces and billiards (OK, 'snooker') room.

They also have a year-round heated infinity pool which looked amazing, but we didn't have a chance to dip in. Also - I don't golf or play tennis - but that's at your disposal too. As is a very well appointed workout room.

Also, downtown Charlottesville is an easy 15 minute drive. We went into town daily and often dined there. The food in Charlottesville is surprisingly diverse and good. Whiskey Jar was a notable hit.

Great for a romantic weekend away for a couple or just a relaxing, serene trip away for anyone.

My one and only gripe....with all of the other amenities being so wonderful, down to the real pewter flatware in the restaurant, why are the bedsheets so, so scratchy? Why??

Thanks, Keswick. Great stay. Keep up the good work and friendly, attentive service.

Room Tip: Make sure you have one facing the grounds, not the parking lot. Additionally, our third floor (top...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Socrateslunchbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at Keswick Hall, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Thank you for your recent visit to Keswick and for posting your review, including mention of all the many activities that the resort offers and some of the details that we are delighted to hear enhanced your stay.
We have also taken note of your comment regarding the sheets and apologize that they were not as comfortable as the rest of your experience. We couldn't agree more with your observation that sheets should never be more than luxurious and will review the handling of those for the comfort of our future guests.
We hope that you will return soon for another escape!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

This graceful manor has everything you could ask for. It exceeds itself in its plush interior to its wonderful restaurant and gardens that encompass the manor from golf to a leisurely bike ride around the countryside, what more do you need to relax and step back in time. Well worth the money.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roscrea1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthiasSmith, General Manager at Keswick Hall, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
We're so glad that you were able to "step back in time" with us here at Keswick Hall! Sounds like you were able to enjoy many aspects of our offerings, both indoor and out. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

My wife and I took a quick mid-week break to the Keswick and I have to say, it couldn't have been more relaxing, beautiful and enjoyable. The drive to Keswick Hall is almost worth the trip in and of itself. The grounds are immaculate and the hotel is simply picturesque. We were able to enjoy a wine tasting overlooking the grounds and I have to say that was a high point of our stay. It's not inexpensive, but for what we got in return, we certainly enjoyed our stay. If you are a person who likes larger, more modern hotels it certainly is not for you. But if you like the experience an intimate inn can provide, this might just be your choice!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TAS504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthiasSmith, General Manager at Keswick Hall, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
Thank you for posting a review following your "mid-week break" with us. We're so glad that you enjoyed not only the wine tasting, but also the grounds and our intimate setting... not to mention the beautiful drive!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

I was just at Keswick with my mother who is 81, my daughter who is 23 and my sister whose birthday we were celebrating. This was a surprise for her. We have stayed there a couple times before and it is one of our favorite places. This visit we were upgraded to a balcony suite which was fabulous! We happened to have beautiful weather, so we could actually really enjoy the balcony/porch. The hotel and staff were wonderfully helpful and made our stay very memorable. The dinner we had at Fossetts was, once again, one of the best meals we've ever had! All four of us raved about it. The service and small touches by the staff for my sisters birthday were so appreciated and lovely. The pool was open and heated which was an additional treat! All in all it was a fabulous night which made us want to return again and again! Thank you Keswick!

Room Tip: I've stayed in four different rooms and they have all been wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lolosplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthiasSmith, General Manager at Keswick Hall, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
Thank you for the wonderful review and for returning to Keswick Hall for your family get-together and surprise birthday celebration. We greatly appreciate you recognizing our friendly staff, who enjoyed making sure it was a "fabulous night"!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
2.9 km away
Clifton Inn
Clifton Inn
#19 of 35 in Charlottesville
346 reviews
10.4 km away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,689 reviews
6.3 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesvill...
#7 of 35 in Charlottesville
892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 km away
Comfort Inn Monticello
Comfort Inn Monticello
#15 of 35 in Charlottesville
520 reviews
11.8 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
862 reviews
12.1 km away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keswick Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keswick Hall

Property: Keswick Hall
Address: 701 Club Dr, Keswick, VA 22947-2615
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Keswick
Price range (per night): $333 - $1,191
Hotel Class:5 star — Keswick Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
History and spectacular landscapes come together at Charlottesville, where Thomas Jefferson country meets Virginia's Blue Ridge Mountains. Celebrated landmarks, including Jefferson's Monticello and the University of Virginia, are clustered here among swathes of the East Coast's most beautiful scenery, home to renowned horse races, hunts and vineyards. This is the setting for Keswick Hall & Golf Club, an impressive resort with 48 newly refreshed guest rooms, a luxurious spa and the award winning Pete Dye golf course, Full Cry. Enjoy tennis, archery, award-winning dining, croquet, children's activities and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, TripOnline SA, Preferred Hotels, lastminute.com.au and Evoline ltd so you can book your Keswick Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keswick Hall Hotel Keswick
Hall At Monticello Charlottesville Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing