We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection!”
Review of Keswick Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Keswick Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 January 2012

I was just at Keswick with my mother who is 81, my daughter who is 23 and my sister whose birthday we were celebrating. This was a surprise for her. We have stayed there a couple times before and it is one of our favorite places. This visit we were upgraded to a balcony suite which was fabulous! We happened to have beautiful weather, so we could actually really enjoy the balcony/porch. The hotel and staff were wonderfully helpful and made our stay very memorable. The dinner we had at Fossetts was, once again, one of the best meals we've ever had! All four of us raved about it. The service and small touches by the staff for my sisters birthday were so appreciated and lovely. The pool was open and heated which was an additional treat! All in all it was a fabulous night which made us want to return again and again! Thank you Keswick!

Room Tip: I've stayed in four different rooms and they have all been wonderful.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lolosplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthiasSmith, General Manager at Keswick Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2012

Thank you for the wonderful review and for returning to Keswick Hall for your family get-together and surprise birthday celebration. We greatly appreciate you recognizing our friendly staff, who enjoyed making sure it was a "fabulous night"!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (466)
There are newer reviews for Keswick Hall
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

320 - 324 of 466 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2012

It was the first time we visited Keswick Hall. My husband and I went with our daughter and her husband and their girls. Our rooms were beautifully decorated and spacious and accomodating. From the first minute we set foot inside the door, the manager , the doormen, the concierge and all the waitstaff helped us settle in and made our stay wonderful. Our daughter and her girls were recovering from bronchitis and everyone did their best to make them feel better. My daughter and her family came with their puggle and he was welcomed every where and it felt decidedly like home but better. We had only one slight glitch, as my husband has reported, with the High Tea but that was minor in the grand scheme of things. I have made reservations to return this spring and summer and am readying myself to make reservations for the fall as well . I sincerely appreciate all the graciousness that was shown us and the joy of being able to travel and find refuge in a most welcoming atmosphere especially as we had a small child and a dog in tow. Thank you Orient-Express for not only Keswick Hall but also for the Inn at Perry Cabin !

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthiasSmith, General Manager at Keswick Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2012

Dear "Pamela R:"

What a wonderful compliment that our staff made your maiden Keswick Hall visit "decidedly like home but better." Thank you. And, thank you again, not only for letting us know that our offerings suited you and your family so perfectly, but also for reiterating -- so very nicely -- that we missed the mark on your High Tea. While I greatly appreciate that, in the grand scheme, you viewed our missteps as minor, we take this grievance quite seriously, and I invite you to contact me directly now, or during one of your planned returns this spring or fall, so that I may have the opportunity to thoroughly reset the stage. In the meantime, very best wishes for a healthy New Year!

Sincerely,

Matthias

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

This was our 16th time visiting Keswick. I must say the first 12 were wonderful, and our favorite place to go but the past 4 visits have gradually become more and more frustrating and I am sad to say, the last time was our last time. Good bye Keswick, good bye rude ladies at concierge, good bye manager. good bye not having our room ready even at 4 pm as promised. Good bye room service that is screwed up and awful. Good bye wrong check out bills that need to be corrected more than once. The dinner at Fossetts is wonderful, though and the one redeeming quality. I am so sad but I have to say Good Bye.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

First, Keswick Hall in Charlottesville deserves many superlatives, many of which have already been mentioned here. Their "High Tea" over New Year's, however, needs substantial improvement. While service at this boutique 48-room hotel is generally outstanding, service and value at their afternoon "High Tea" was quite poor. With only a half dozen or so tables served our family group of six first waited 20 minutes before a waiter came. Prices as expected were high...$20-$28/person depending on whether you wanted "bubbly wine or cider" with your tea and scones. Half of us ordered the regular fare at $20 while half popped $28 for the additional beverage (which never came). Problem was only one compote of sandwiches and scones is provided per table--regardless of the number of people. Yes, maybe they add a few more pieces on to the compote for large groups, but when asked for additions we were provided with a firm "no." No refills thank you. This is way out of the spirit of an Orient Express facility...especially at $28\person. True, we all enjoyed the ambiance of the location, but service was rude and sparse at best. Following a complaint, a manager ("Jeanette") came out, having few people skills, and begrudgingly offered to reduce all six of us to the $22 fare and skip the beverages. What the heck kind of a compromise was that! She did bring out a few more sandwiches at one point. We've been to "high teas" the world over and this was the least enjoyable. True...they may have also been training a new waitress. Complaining to the day manager, Matthew promptly sent up a dish of chocolate covered strawberries as an apology--very nice touch, Matthew! Keswick Hall was a superb escape, but they really need to get their "tea" together. Four stars anyway.

Room Tip: Choose connecting rooms 27 and 29 or room 9.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank prestonrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthiasSmith, General Manager at Keswick Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2012

Dear "prestonrich":

Thank you for taking the time to review us. It is both gratifying and humbling to read your statement, "Keswick deserves many superlatives [...]." Gratifying because you awarded us four stars... humbling because there is more to the story... and you're absolutely right. We made a mess of your family's High Tea. It was, as you said, way out of the spirit of an Orient-Express facility. While I'm glad that we did make efforts toward an apology and partial recovery, by reducing the charge and also sending an amenity, you should not have endured such disappointment at Keswick Hall. Please feel free to contact me directly now, or during a future visit, so that I may have the opportunity regain your favor. Thank you again.

Very best wishes for a Happy New Year.

Matthias

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2011

The Keswick Hall in VA is a unique and beautiful property. Part of my family visits the Keswick every year around Christmastime and my boyfriend and I had the opportunity to join them this year. My 5 y/o nephew dubbed it "the Christmas Hotel" It is the most comfortable place I have ever stayed.......anywhere. It feels like your visiting a dear friend who lives in an old English Treasure House. The accommodations, food, amenities and staff are all wonderful. I can't wait to return.
Faye.

Room Tip: ask for a balcony.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Faye P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthiasSmith, General Manager at Keswick Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2012

Dear "Faye P":

It's always terrific when the last line of a review reads, "I can't wait to return." Thank you, not only for taking the time to post your own comments following your recent stay at Keswick Hall, but also for including your nephew's new name for us... "the Christmas hotel." We look forward to welcoming you all again -- at holiday time, or any time! Meanwhile, very best wishes for a happy new year.

Matthias

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
10.4 km away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,777 reviews
2.9 km away
Clifton Inn
Clifton Inn
#23 of 35 in Charlottesville
348 reviews
6.3 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesvill...
#6 of 35 in Charlottesville
943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 km away
Comfort Inn Monticello
Comfort Inn Monticello
#17 of 35 in Charlottesville
531 reviews
11.8 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
929 reviews
12.4 km away
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
#2 of 35 in Charlottesville
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keswick Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keswick Hall

Address: 701 Club Dr, Keswick, VA 22947-2615
Region: United States > Virginia > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Keswick
Price Range: $495 - $1,193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Keswick Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
History and spectacular landscapes come together at Charlottesville, where Thomas Jefferson country meets Virginia's Blue Ridge Mountains. Celebrated landmarks, including Jefferson's Monticello and the University of Virginia, are clustered here among swathes of the East Coast's most beautiful scenery, home to renowned horse races, hunts and vineyards. This is the setting for Keswick Hall & Golf Club, an impressive resort with 48 newly refreshed guest rooms, a luxurious spa and the award winning Pete Dye golf course, Full Cry. Enjoy tennis, archery, award-winning dining, croquet, children's activities and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, lastminute.com.au and Cancelon so you can book your Keswick Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keswick Hall Hotel Keswick
Hall At Monticello Charlottesville Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing