We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Fantastic. So Glad I Visited

So much interesting history here and so well preserved. Make sure you hike around the walls of the... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Basil M
,
Stafford, Virginia
via mobile
Great History

The Casemate Museum is free as is parking, however parking is limited. US Army Fort from 1819-2011... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Kevin B
,
Sweden
via mobile
Read all 163 reviews
  
Reviews (163)
Filter reviews
163 results
Traveller rating
107
46
6
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
107
46
6
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fort monroe chesapeake bay hampton roads civil war casement museum walking tour strategic location the national park service ocean club nice beaches ride bikes military installation open to the public american history runaway slaves james river rv park
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 163 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2018

We went up and down the peninsula. Asked questions at the local businesses and they could not tell us where it was. We presumed it was just past the beach but everything seemed abondened, no signage and closed looking gates and area. We gave up and went to the fort itself. A waste of time.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Rockiroads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018

Pick a day when it is nice to be outside and walk. This monument is a small island that is actually an old stone fortress. It is nice to walk around the fortress (you can walk on top of the wall) and see a nice view of the James river area. There is also a museum that is worth taking an hour or two to view. Interesting history here but not a 'must see' if that is what you are looking for.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank JudyK288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2018

My family' been affiliated with the fort since 2001. It's absolutely beautiful. However, since National Monument status was convey on part of the 570 acres, the NPS apparently mandates that one obtain a permit to be on "their" part of the property. I was asked to leave yesterday by a contracted guard because I did not have the permit. There are no barriers or signs designating the fed part from the Virginia part. I've requested an explanation from the NPS office and will post the results. Bottom line: Not all of the fort's common areas are open for people's enjoyment without bureaucratic involvement.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2018

Most are familiar with the rich history of Fort Monroe, the only fort with an intact, complete moat around the original fort. Even though the Army moved away, it is very well kept and the old historic buildings are occupied. The museum, though small is quite remarkable and only requires a donation (site of the gift shop). It is located in the casemate. You can climb up on top of the casemates and have a wonderful view of the fort, the sea, Ft Wool. There is the old parade ground with ancient oaks. Old cannons displayed in lots of locations. There is also a beautiful campground, indoor and outdoor swimming pools with a great restaurant with outdoor dining, bar, beach and lots of amenities. Great for walking and biking. A micro brewery sits right in the middle of things. And there is more!

Date of experience: December 2017
1  Thank hertajones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2018 via mobile

My wife and I visit here often. We bring our bikes and ride all over the property or we’ll take a long walk on the sea wall.
The view is beautiful. The harbor is active, so there are always ships, commercial and Navy gliding through the channel.
The beaches here are also very good with free parking, easy access and only small bay waves...excellent for young children.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank LSNS2652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews