We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Chilling out in Boffles”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Auxi-le-Chateau, Pas-de-Calais, Hauts-de-France

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Anthony R
Hinckley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Chilling out in Boffles”
Reviewed 7 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Spent a quiet week in La Maison Longue, which is part of the le petit hameau group of gites in Boffles, France. Located within 2 hours drive of the ports of Calais and Dunquerque. We were made very welcome by the owners Keith and Keran and were supplied with a handy pack of goodies on arrival. Located near Auxi le Chateau it is easy to get to the Somme battlefields or to the sea at Le Crotoy (good steam train ride to St Valery from here). Battlefield of Agincourt (Azincourt) is also very close. Weather was a bit cold but the gite is well equipped with heating to keep the toes warm. Would recommend to anyone who would like a quiet time to chill out.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Apr 2016
Many thanks for the positive comments regarding your recent stay at Le Petit Hameau. We are pleased you managed to spend time visiting some of the plentiful sites in the area; the steam train to/from Le Crotoy/St Valery is good fun and the many battlefields and memorials most definitely worthy of a visit.

We hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Regards, Keith and Keran
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAM201520...
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Comfortable, well-equipped gite in peaceful surroundings”
Reviewed 26 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We enjoyed our stay very much. The beds were comfortable, the wood-burner was lovely and we were grateful for the generous welcome pack. We loved the birdsong and the plaintive noises of the chickens.

There are lots of pretty villages and small towns nearby. The Thursday market in Hesdin is a delight. We went to Arras, which is well worth a visit, and felt very lucky to discover Montreuil-sur-Mer, which is a beautiful walled town with cobbled streets and lots of character.

In the past we have tended to motor through the northern parts of France to reach the south, but we won't make that mistake again. Although it is only a short distance from the Channel ports and Tunnel, once you leave the autoroute, you get a taste of the real France.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: peace and quiet, chickens and woodburner
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weekend_t...
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Silver Wedding anniversary.”
Reviewed 21 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Our second visit to La Maison Longue but third visit to Le Petit Hameau. Excellent location for touring in the North of France and Belgium. Charming peaceful location plenty of attractions within a short drive of the gite. The gite its self is well equipped, spacious and airy (you will find all your home comforts here) The welcome pack is a very pleasant surprise. The English owners are very accommodating and helpful. This our perfect French retreat which is why we return each year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole experience.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol G
Rotherham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Peaceful”
Reviewed 14 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Lovely peaceful place, cottage fully equipped with everything you need.. Owner very helpful. Plenty of places to visit and explore

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Had to stand outside for wifi
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GBlady83
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Comfortable gite in rural setting yet close to attractions”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We enjoyed our stay at La Maison Longue - the gite was very clean and spacious and was located in a quiet pretty rural village near to all the attractions of this part of France. We visited some of the war memorials of the Somme which were very moving, but also had a lovely day at Berck, a great family-friendly seaside town with miles of sandy beach.
A visit to St Valery sur Somme is also a must with its steam train ride to and from Crotoy.
All in all, a relaxing holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spaciousness of the property
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing