We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 7:00 am - 7:00 pm
Save
Review Highlights
Good winter condition- crazy range location

Have been hearing about this course for awhile, finally drove down last weekend. Great shape for... read more

Reviewed 23 February 2017
Sheryl B
,
Bethesda, Maryland
via mobile
Nice place to have lunch

Some good versions of classics, served in a nice atmosphere by pleasant people. Nice scenery too... read more

Reviewed 8 April 2015
jorgensen2016
,
Boca Raton, Florida
Read all 13 reviews
  
Reviews (13)
Filter reviews
13 results
Traveller rating
7
2
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
7
2
3
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 13 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2015

Truly disappointed in course conditions, as we travelled approximately 1 hour from Maryland. Fairways pockmarked with bad grass & unfixed divots, significant burnt out approaches, green collars & rough. Greens surfaces inconsistent and did not putt true. Bunker sand different bunker- to-bunker. Yardage distances poorly marked - would be better served with in-cart GPS. However, staff was friendly and the drink cart seemed to regularly find us. This Jack Nicklaus "signature" course is in dire need of a greens keeper who knows how to grow grass. Not worth the drive from Maryland or elsewhere.

1  Thank Allen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2015

Okay, so that sounds like a stretch with Congressional, Burning Tree, etc. But this course is mindblowingly beautiful, challenging from all tees and remarkably landscaped.

Team Nicholas and the wonderful Troon management team have spared nothing in creating this community foundation along the Potomac River. We have played courses all over the world and this is an absolute must play for all serious golfers in the MD-VA-DC area.

We booked online the night before, and with membership on other Troon golf clubs, we were able to enjoy a small discount which was appreciated. But still, the prices here were highly competitive with those of Harbourtowne near Kent Narrows, and the course was infinitely superior and in far better condition. The previous evening had delivered a series of thunderstorms, and so we were bound appropriately to the cart paths. We found standing water nowhere on the fairways or greens. The bunkers were dry.

Unlike most new courses, significant effort has been put into the fairways, bunkers and greens, as well as the hardscaping. Typical of this region in Virginia, everything is made to look as if it has been around for centuries. Potomac Shores is no exception.

The course encourages "real golf" play, incentivizing foursomes to complete a round within 4.5 hours. Even that is more time than we feel is necessary, but we applaud them for the effort to restore the game as advocated by the Campaign for Real Golf (www.realgolfcampaign.org).

Contrary to a previous review, we found the 19th hole and pro shop staff very cordial. The pro shop is small, and sparsely stocked for women, but there are ample selections for male golfers. At the end of the day, we didn't drive 40 minutes to buy golf apparel, nor to enjoy a Michelin dining experience. We drove to golf. And that experience was the finest we have had in the DC area in a few years.

In short measure, fairways will be lined with luxury homes, a marina an recreational area will be in opened, etc. But at this time, the fairways are tree-lined, the drive through the woods pristine, the sounds only those of babbling brooks, birds and the occasional struck ball.

Our twosome finished in 3.5 hours behind a 3-some. Not bad. Truly a great day. We will be back very, very soon.

PS.. The only staff issue we encountered was a young male who offered to clean our clubs after the round. He was friendly enough, and was doing an adequate enough job to prompt my husband to tip him as is both customary and habitual. Within seconds of receiving the gratuity, the young man concluded his cleaning, leaving the club head covers in the basket and not so much as offering to assist with carrying a bag to the car. Not a big deal at all. We simply reminded once more to not tip until the task is complete. And we laughed about it, after the young man finished putting my bags in the trunk of our car. Great round. Great place. Don't think twice.

Thank Sherry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2015

Golf course condition was ok. Club house is beautiful. But staff, from starter to Marshall, will need to be fired and replaced. The course is considered upscale course, and I understand the attempt to keep up with the reputation, but not like the robotic, follow order, or stuck up type. I've played all around the country, and this is the worst experience I've got in 20 years. Keep up the good work and you will see less and less customer.

Thank Dirtman18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2015

Some good versions of classics, served in a nice atmosphere by pleasant people. Nice scenery too. I'd go there again.

Thank jorgensen2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2014 via mobile

Played at Potomac Shores yesterday in an outing. It opened May 2014 but is in top shape. The design is suburb, not overdone because there's no need -- the landscape is sweeps up and down forested hills close to the Potomac River. Lovely clubhouse, great restaurant, excelling staff -- this golf course should now be considered the best public venue in Northern Virginia. I'm a low handicapper, a member of a nearby private club, and I will be back!

1  Thank Hudsondeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews