We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,043)
Filter reviews
1,043 results
Traveller rating
970
60
7
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
970
60
7
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main housewildflower roombed and breakfastskyline driveshenandoah national parkwhite hallb bsromantic getawayblue ridgewineriescharlottesvillehostsfarmhousedinaaccommodationsrobes
Filter
Updating list...
596 - 601 of 1,043 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2009

We enjoyed a most pleasant stay at Sugar Hollow during the holidays. We found that the restaurants in the nearby town of Crozet are excellent, and we enjoyed the cuisine at "Fardowners" on this visit. Even the winter scenery is super, and we had great weather. We intend to visit as often as possible.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TravellerIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2009

We decided to spend a quiet New Year's at this modern inn near Charlottesville. The main house at the inn is newly constructed, tidy, and comfortable. The house is inviting and the innkeepers thoughtfully keep it stocked with sodas, hot drinks, popcorn, and board games. The view of stars from the deck is beautiful. Breakfasts were very tasty and afforded the opportunity to chat with other guests and the hosts. New Year's Eve dinner was wonderful, with a couple of very well prepared menu options and great company. Rooms are well put together and have everything you need. The Hunt room is a little on the smaller side, but is well decorated, has a wood-burning fireplace (a huge plus), is cozy, and is comfortable for two people. The property and surrounding areas are beautiful. If you like to get out and explore, there are plenty of things to keep you busy for a few a few days. There are good places to eat in nearby Crozet, wineries to visit, and trails to hike.

Overall, would strongly recommend the Inn at Sugar Hill Farm.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachbums1377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2008

As recent UVA graduates we were familiar with the area and looked forward to spending a night in Charlottesville, VA. We found this Bed & Breakfast through Trip Advisor and could not have been more pleased with our stay. From the warm welcome to the delicious breakfast (and fireplace in our room!) The Inn at Sugar Hollow was an awesome getaway. Dick and Hayden's attention to detail was impeccable and they made our stay very comfortable. There are a few restuarants in the nearby town of Crozet and also several vineyards closeby. In Charlottesville, there is always plenty to do as well including sightseeing, shopping, and fine dining. We hope to return sometime soon!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TwoWahoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2008

My hubby and I have made Sugar Hollow a part of our lives over the past 10 years! We have made the trip from NC to VA for this B&B five different times.

Dick and Hayden go far beyond what is expected of them. When we arrive we feel part of the family, although they must greet all of their guests that way.

The wood burning fire places make this B&B so special. It is difficult to leave to do other things. However it is such a short drive to a few wineries and a bit further to many more that it is worth venturing out for a bit.

I heartily recommend this inn to anyone who wants a relaxing getaway. Sugar Hollow is a place to reflect and regain perspective on what is important.

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank chrissypf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2008

A magnificent venue tucked among the mountains with walking distance access to Moorman’s River fly fishing, Sugar Hollow reservoir, and the AT/Shenandoah National Park. We stayed Thanksgiving eve through Sunday in the Woodland room to be with our son who is a student at UVA. For a very small additional fee, he was able to stay with us and sleep on a comfortable air mattress. We can’t think of a more cozy room, with working fireplace to make for perfect evenings. Cordial, helpful hosts, Dick and Hayden Cabell make you feel like family or old friends. Fishermen who might be put off by the steep fee and inconvenience of getting a permit for the TU stocked section of the Moorman’s should be interested to know that the Inn holds a limited number of complementary permits and should inquire with the hosts when making arrangements. Hearty breakfasts and good coffee get you going for the rest of the day. The corner store a mile or two back is a remnant of country life and can provide basic provisions for a simple evening fare after a day of fishing, hiking or climbing. Typically, few dining places are open on Thanksgiving in Charlottesville, but the Golden Corral was and offered a good home-cooked seasonal fare within easy driving distance. Just give yourself time as all the locals are there too!

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank GorchFock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews