We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Should be condemed !!!!! Don't stay there.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Christiansburg
Central Square, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Should be condemed !!!!! Don't stay there.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

We chose this hotel as it was half way on our trip and located near the highway. Our room smelled like something had died in it. The carpet was so filthy we kept our shoes on the whole time. Our shower wouldn't drain. The front desk lady came with a plunger, no go. She gave us a key to the room next door to shower, telling us that the air conditioner was broken so they couldn't put anyone in it. We got up at 5 am went next door to shower and walked in on some poor man sleeping. Scared both of us half to death. Went to the front desk and told them we wanted our money back. The guy at the desk laughed when we told him we walked in on someone else in the room. He said " We thought you showered last night so we rented the room out". He would only refund half our money and told us " you got to sleep what else do you want" We had to finish our trip home without showers,feeling dirty from the filth in the room. Also the door had no jam left in it so the lock didn't work , the security latch was missing. We put the table and chairs in front of the door. It was the WORST motel I have ever been in.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank houndhero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    26
    16
    11
    25
See reviews for
35
22
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Linden, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2011

Actually stayed here at two different times last year. Once on my own last June. Then again with my husband last December. I chose it because I had 2 dogs with me the first time. The hotel is clean but a bit outdated. I had a ground floor room, so it was nice with the dogs. It has internet service, which is always a plus. The room was clean. Bed was fairly comfy.Easy access to I-81, food and gas are close by.This hotel is across the highway from the Rodeway Inn, and given the choice, I would pick this one. It's better kept up, and a bit nicer. Reasonably priced.This one does not charge a fee for your dogs, Rodeway Inn charges $10.00 per night for each pet. I would probably stay here again if I had both dogs with me.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madwanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2011

The group that I was traveling with planned a stay at this hotel. It was just about the half-way point to our final destination, and its location just off the highway made it appealing. The hotel was very average. Rooms were clean, as were the bathrooms. The bed was comfortable, as were the pillows. There was a small lobby that had a small continental breakfast. If you are looking for a decent, inexpensive place to stay a night, I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CoolCop47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
378 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2010

Stayed here one night to attend a VA Tech homecoming. The girl at the desk was very friendly and helpful, printing out directions to local wineries for us. Although the room (#211) was clean, it was in poor shape. Cheap furniture, beat up interior. There was a gap under the door which was big enough for mice, bugs or even a snake to get through. The rubber strip that had been installed only covered half of the door. You could see light coming through the bottom. The floor creaked like a haunted house and you could hear your neighbors walking around their room. I would hate to be on the first floor listening to the people above me. There was a coffee maker and coffee in the room, but no sugar, creamer, etc. and no tea bags. There weren't enough electric plugs for the lamps and clock radio. Thank goodness the bed was comfortable. Breakfast was adequate. We paid (with tax) $101 for one night--definitely not worth it.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teramo48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2010

Stayed here for a Virginia Tech game weekend. Location is convenient to the interstate and there are dining options nearby. Check in was smooth but we got to the room to find the keys didn't work. Front desk clerk's master key didn't work either. We were sent to another room that supposedly had the heat fixed that day. We were told it would just need some time to warm up. I wasn't worried until we were given a portable space heater "just in case". Needless to say the heat wasn't really fixed. Front desk called the room at 11pm to ask if he could have the portable heater back?? Um, no it's our only source of heat. Bathtub was clogged by a large hairball. What a joke. This place puts the No in Econo. Won't return.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ben7260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christiansburg hotels
0.5 km away
Days Inn Christiansburg
Days Inn Christiansburg
#13 of 14 in Christiansburg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.6 km away
Quality Inn Christiansburg
Quality Inn Christiansburg
#11 of 14 in Christiansburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.5 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Christiansburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#7 of 14 in Christiansburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Christiansburg
0.6 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Christiansburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 2430 Roanoke St., Christiansburg, VA 24073
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Christiansburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Christiansburg
Price range (per night): $60 - $159
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC and Odigeo so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Christiansburg Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge Christiansburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing