We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,170)
Filter reviews
1,170 results
Traveller rating
914
215
30
10
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
914
215
30
10
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews observation deck gift shop pony corral pine trees hot tub the indoor outdoor pool bike rental parking lot bike shop right next door continental breakfast yogurt chincoteague ponies across the bridge first floor family owned picnic tables
Filter
Updating list...
136 - 141 of 1,170 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

The absolute best place to stay on the island. I’ve been going to Chincoteague since 2001, and would not think of staying anyplace else! The staff is the best, the rooms are like home, and the overall feel of the place is what it’s named, “The Refuge.”

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia W, Manager at Refuge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2018

Thank you so much for your repeat business and for the lovely review! We aim to be a refuge from everyday life and I'm so glad that you've found our little slice of heaven. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

We are a family of 5 with children ranging in pre-K to 4th grade and were looking for an easy get-away within driving distance from DC. We had a few days off during Spring Break and it has been cold for Spring. We are not big campers especially with the recent weather. The Refuge Inn was the perfect spot for us. The hotel is so family friendly with the Bike Depot just across the parking lot and Assateague Island a perfect biking excursion for grownups and children. Pull carts and tagalongs were available for rent at the Bike Depot. They had helmets for grownups and children. Having ponies on the premises for petting and feeding really made the vacation special especially spending a day looking at the ponies from afar on Assateague. The complimentary breakfast and indoor pool were just what we needed to make our stay so smooth and family friendly. The size of the room was plenty for us though we didn't spend much time inside as there was so much to do.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stamza8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia W, Manager at Refuge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2018

Thank you so much for the great review!! It's wonderful to hear that you and your family had a lovely Spring Break, and we would love to see you back again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

The hotel is fabulous! We enjoyed everything about the hotel from the clean room, free internet, indoor pool, heated Jacuzzi, morning breakfast, and welcoming staff. We especially enjoyed feeding the horses located on the property. There is a bike rental location next to the hotel where we rented bikes and rode thru the many trails within the wildlife preservation. The rentals can even be charged to your room. We will definitely bejng staying at this hotel again in the near future!

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank plw6774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia W, Manager at Refuge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2018

Thank you so much for the awesome review!! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

Our granddaughter enjoyed having the ponies to feed and the indoor pool. The Refuge is staffed with friendly people. We were lucky to find a table to eat breakfast. I can imagine when the hotel is full there might not be enough seats. Breakfast was pretty typical. There were nice chairs for lounging outside each room.
It was very clean. The room was a little crowded with a table and 2 chairs. We visited in late March and felt the price was a good value.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LV2travelmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia W, Manager at Refuge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2018

Thanks for the good review! All of us here at the Refuge are glad you enjoyed yourselves and we'd love to see you again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

Close to refuge, nice location, bike rentals on-site, and plenty to do. We came in March so the pool during off season was perfect. You can walk to pretry much anywhere u need to go oib the island. Having the bike rentals on-site was really convenient. highly recommend

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Adventure764831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia W, Manager at Refuge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2018

Thanks for the great review!! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews