We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Beautiful inn, lovely room, great staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Refuge Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Refuge Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Havertown, PA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful inn, lovely room, great staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

We stayed at the refuge inn on our way home from north Carolina. This was our third visit to chincoteague. We loved our room,207, a king room on the second floor facing the ponies. From our balcony we could see the lighthouse flashing at night. Our room was clean, the staff was amazing, and the bed more comfortable than our own. We loved the easy access to the refuge and to our favorite chincoteague restaurant, the seashell cafe, across the street.

The only thing missing was a little personal sized microwave to heat up coffee or make some popcorn. We would also like to suggest that the tv's be hung on the wall to allow more space on the dresser. Flat areas to lay things down were scant. Other than those minor things, everything was perfect. Loved the home made waffles.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank klipsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    595
    177
    26
    8
    1
See reviews for
355
282
37
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

This was our first trip to Chincoteague. We researched LOTS of places to stay and chose The Refuge Inn for it's great rating. We were pleased with the friendly, helpful staff and the wonderful family atmosphere. It was a welcome change from what chain hotels offer these days. Our room was not very spacious but it was clean and nothing was broken or neglected. The bathroom decor was a bit dated but the shower was hot with great water pressure! The bed was not comfortable for my taste but that's a me problem. Not one time in our three-night stay did we get awakened by loud voices, doors slamming, etc. The breakfast offerings were very basic but DIFFERENT every morning. That was nice. We were less than half a mile from the entrance to Assateague National Seashore. Shops, restaurants were all close-by. There was a bicycle rental on the premises which we took advantage of one day. Weather was too cool for the pool but we looked it over and it seemed like your typical pool. I cannot say enough about the cleaning staff. They bent over backwards to make sure we had what we needed. We were on the first floor and our room, being at ground level, had a dehumidifier in the corner that ran constantly. There was a sign on it saying not to mess with it, so we didn't. I assume all other ground floor rooms had one as well as this is an older hotel. There were no musty or stale odors in our room and it actually provided a nice hum to go to sleep by so we adjusted to it fairly quickly.

In a nutshell, The Refuge Inn was a basic, family-owned hotel that was clean and fairly priced. We will DEFINITELY make a return trip.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DuckyOne03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

Welcoming, clean, basic motel. Room was small with a small old TV, room service cleaned the room daily. The room had a balcony overlooking the pine side which was nice and quiet. Breakfast was disappointing to me as I was expecting more. Very basic breakfast consisting of milk, cereal, muffins etc. on a plastic plate, plastic cups. They had french toast made to order where they gave one slice of white bread on a plastic plate. No home baked goods or fresh fruit salad. We were there in August labour day weekend and there were not enough tables/chairs to accommodate guests inside or outside. The pool area was nice, however, if you have children don't go at night when there are groups of adults there because they can be drunk and use profanity in the presence of young kids. The gift shop was nice. Overall OK very basic motel.

Room Tip: Pine side rooms are quieter and more scenic than pony side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GS03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

This was my first visit to Chincoteague and I had read the reviews and talked to others about their visit and where to stay. I decided on the Refuge Inn based on that information. I had wanted a hotel that was not a chain and perhaps reflected the island's charm. I think that is what the Refuge Inn does. I was pleasantly surprised that the room was a little bigger than I had imagined. It was also a very clean room with everything looking clean, vacuumed and neat. The hotel is older looking in the hallways, but that was to be expected. I read where some reviews mentioned it smelled a little musty in the rooms. Well when you are on an island surrounded by swamp and the water, anywhere you go will have that "island smell" to it. So that was not an issue. The pool area was very nice. And even though it was only about 60 outside the pool is heated and several were making use of it. We climbed a tiny staircase to the observation deck on top of the hotel. There really isn't a different view considering the trees that are close by. But it is a nice deck area up there. The hotel is close to the Assateague Wildlife Refuge and we rode our bikes there. That is very convenient. What I loved about the hotel was the pony pen. Adorable ponies! The hotel also has a continental breakfast. The breakfast on our day consisted of 3 types of cereals, raisin and white bread, english muffins, french toast (which was very good) and hard boiled eggs, hot and cold drinks and fruits. It was plenty to choose from and a nice variety. The price of the hotel was good although when I made my reservation I asked for the AAA rate and after leaving saw that it was not given. Not a deal breaker though. This hotel is great for families and couples.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katydids61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

This was a pleasant change from our usual chain hotel/motel stays. Upon check-in, I noticed (actually we couldn't help but notice once it was opened) that our fridge stunk like fish. The front desk gave us a different fridge immediately...problem solved. Our kids liked seeing the hotel's ponies next to the parking lot and you can pay to feed them. The free breakfast was nice and the lady replenishing the food supply was friendly and helpful. My recommendation is that they remove a few display stands touting local wares and replace them with tables for eating. We really liked the indoor/outdoor heated pool. The place was clean too. You couldn't get physically any closer to the Assateague refuge than this hotel, it was right by the bridge.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the picnic area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FrauMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chincoteague Island hotels
2.1 km away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront
Hampton Inn and Suites Chincotea...
#1 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
2.7 km away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
0.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Chincoteague Island
BEST WESTERN Chincoteague Island
#3 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
#4 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,023 reviews
2.4 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincotea...
#6 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
1.4 km away
Chincoteague Inn
Chincoteague Inn
#13 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Refuge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Refuge Inn

Property: Refuge Inn
Address: 7058 Maddox Blvd, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336 (Formerly Refuge Motor Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Chincoteague Island
Price range (per night): $132 - $182
Hotel Class:3 star — Refuge Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceed your expectations in this family owned inn where no detail is overlooked. The Refuge Inn is located within walking distance of the wildlife refuge and minutes from our beautiful undeveloped beach. Amenities include Continental Breakfast, Wireless Internet, Indoor/Outdoor Heated Pool, Hot Tub, Fitness Room, Bicycle & Beach Gear Rentals, Conference Room and Gift Shop. A Treasure of a place, Family Owned and Proudly Operated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au and TripOnline SA so you can book your Refuge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Refuge Hotel Chincoteague Island
Refuge Chincoteague Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing