We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Satisfied”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Bay Window

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
4 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Chincoteague Island, Virginia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
GoPlaces5...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Satisfied”
Reviewed 16 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have stayed at the Bay Window several different years and enjoyed staying there. Since we have dogs, it is pet friendly and sits off the Main Street so we can walk our pets just outside the screened- in porch at the rear of the house. It does not have the newest furniture, but it works for our family. Pots and pans are not the best, so I took some of my own and left them there, along with a paper towel holder and dish drainer for the next renter to use. The 3 bedrooms and 2 full baths work well for us. I would stay there again. The location is also a plus.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: pot and pans are in bad shape
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dixiegirl...
Lyndhurst, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Caution: Do not rent”
Reviewed 31 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

House reeked of mold/mildew- felt like we were staying in a toxic house. Throw pillows had blood, fluid, & dirt stains. Twin mattress had urine stains. Queen mattress very old & uncomfortable. Would not use pillows or comforter. Kitchen old and worn - pans and pots rusted through & totally unusable. Couches covered in pet hair. Lamps in the bedroom and lights in the bathroom were out, and not fixed until our very last day, despite our contacting the rental agency the day we arrived. Screws sticking up in floorboard. Rental agency was completely and totally unresponsive to our concerns after wasting time on our vacation trying to call and stop by in person with the rental agency. No resolutions at all! Would not rent again ever!
It's a shame, because the location was nice, and the layout of the house was really nice also, but the smell was overpowering, and house is in desperate need of care and attention.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location of the house
Liked least: Everything inside the house
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marathon NY
Reviewed 23 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JasonCNJ
Cranbury, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful place with all the basics”
Reviewed 27 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

First of all, BAY WINDOW is pet friendly. That was winning point #1 for our angel of a dog. House was clean & showed no evidence of previous dogs. Everything was easily booked, billed and security deposit was returned in the suggested 30 days.
The house was huge for me, my wife and the dog. It allowed us to spread out and live there for a week. Washer & dryer were a god-send. Cozy & comfortable screened in patio with porch swing for late night conversations & drinks.
Simple kitchen is not top of the line but we were on vacation & have no problems with that (considering out alternate vacation plan was going to be local living in Guatamala). We made a few simple meals and didn't burn or blow anything up.
House located pretty far south on Main St which we loved. Every time we had to go anywhere we got to drive all the way through town, learned side roads & got to see every part of Chincoteague.
We had a few lazy nights for just watching DVDs and the small TV worked. Don't expect a theatre set-up.
SUGGESTIONS: Dust & clean under the furniture.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Huge open space, superb for families & friends
Liked least: Old & dusty decorations. Keep it simple with less dusty tchotchkes
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
No pets
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing