We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay with kids!”
Review of Assateague Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chincoteague Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Assateague Inn
Reviewed 25 August 2016

We stumbled on to Assateague Inn over ten years ago while looking for options to stay on Chincoteague Island. When we finally came back on vacation, we decided to stay again and we were not disappointed. The hotel has received some nice modern upgrades since our last stay and offers everything we were looking for in a family stay.

The hotel is situated on a marshy creek and has a walking dock for crabbing. Our son spent hours out on the dock with other kids who were staying at the hotel, and this experience made the stay here worth it alone. The rooms are clean and well-kept, and in our case, included a private bedroom with TV, bathroom, a couch that doubles as a bed and a full (small) kitchen with a refrigerator, dishwasher, and dinner table in the combined living room. There is also a swimming pool onsite and several tables and grills for outdoor eating.

We can't wait to come back to the Assateague Inn and stay again!

Room Tip: Upper floor is best as no one is above you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2016 via mobile

It was our first time back in years and the area has changed alot but had a great time with family ..nice upgrades to the rooms as well .. very friendly and helpful staff no complaints .. will return for sure

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank Joe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2016

We've now stayed at the Assateague Inn three times, on three separate occasions. Each of our trips has been hospitable, with the staff (Ms. Ruth Anne & Ms. Joanne) absolutely personable. We've even invited our extended family to join us on these trips, with 3-4 rooms booked at a time.

We've stayed elsewhere on the island - but never with the same experience... location, view, convenience, and comfort.

Enjoy the dock, swimming in the pool, and cooking on the grills, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: If you want a view, opt for the second floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ksteinwender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2016 via mobile

Great weekend at this place. It's nicer in person than any of the photos display, and they have a cute lobby area with muffins and coffee in the morning. There's a pier you can walk out on - right in front- and you can crab there as well. The room was nice, everything you need and totally comfortable. Quiet yet central location. We look forward to going again!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank inarlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2015

We go for casual motel type places when we stay in this area as we are rarely in the room. I found that the woman that booked us at this Inn was extremely polite and accommodating and when we said we were coming in late she had the key taped to our door as she promised.
The room was clean. There were two pull out beds for my kids as well as a kitchen that we would have used if we stayed longer. The view if great as well and I felt the price was very fair for the amenities. But one thing stands out. We checked out a day early as we needed to get home. The woman at the desk said that my credit card was already charged and she seemed genuinely dismayed that we would be charged even though I had already written off that money as we checked out Sunday morning without warning. Today I got a check for a full refund for the room. And, that money will come in handy to pay the speeding ticket I got in Delaware on the way home!

Room Tip: Second floor facing the water will give you a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jeff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chincoteague Island hotels
1.5 km away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront
Hampton Inn and Suites Chincotea...
#2 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
1,382 reviews
0.7 km away
Refuge Inn
Refuge Inn
#1 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
1,012 reviews
2.1 km away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Chincoteague Inn
Chincoteague Inn
#11 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
195 reviews
2.1 km away
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an As...
#7 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
118 reviews
0.6 km away
Days Inn Chincoteague Island
Days Inn Chincoteague Island
#17 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Assateague Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Assateague Inn

Address: 6570 Coachs Ln, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336-2338
Region: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Chincoteague Island
Number of rooms: 27
Also Known As:
Assateague Hotel Chincoteague Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing