We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget Means Budget”
Review of Excel Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Excel Inn & Suites
Ranked #27 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
281 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“Budget Means Budget”
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Small two story budget style hotel across the road from the Cavalier Inn. So great location for the University. Well lit for safety.

Its basic, but they have spent some money on making it more comfortable and the money was spent on important visible items. New microwave. Good size SANYO flat screen TV. Fridge. Room safe (that didn't work). Hairdryer and iron. Some new tile work in bathroom. Free Wi-Fi.

What I didn't like: Slowest Wi-Fi of all time – and intermittent connection. No in-room coffee service. TV remote desperately needed cleaning (God knows what was on it). A stain-hiding pattern for a carpet as well as the bed spread. Again, no telling what was hiding in those colors. Open closet. Very spartan walls. The walls, ceiling and floor looked from the 1950s. Very squeaky floors (wood), so lots of floor noise from above. Breakfast very basic (cereals, coffee and prepackaged bread items of some sort).

Budget means budget, so you must anticipate it won't be deluxe, but at $68 a night compared to the Cavalier Inn at about $10 less, it's rather steep for what you get.

I would always look for something else, but this was a last minute reservation adding an early night in Charlottesville due to anticipated snow moving in. Appeared to be the last hotel room near the University, so I was glad to have it.

There's noting wrong with it as long as you accept that it's a bottom of the line place.

Room Tip: Take the second floor to avoid the creaking floor above
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    58
    36
    18
    18
See reviews for
53
44
17
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

This motel is a good value. Clean and reasonable, can't ask for much more. I would stay again but I am moving into an apt here in town.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayodan, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Looking for a room in Charlottesville, found most of the less expensive ( under $100) allowed for pets. Speaking honestly, I doubt anyone cares where their dog urinates in a hotel room, not to mention the fleas etc. It's nasty!
After checking and smelling a few of those hotels, was ready to bike the bullet and stay at the holiday inn (which was gross) when we happened across the Budget Inn, no pets allowed, thank you!!
Price was around $60, very clean, nice smell, comfortable.. friendly staff.
Also only about 5 minutes from UVA medical center.
Def a safe bet!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimdl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pezenas, France
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Stayed here 1 night when visiting Monticello. Reception was friendly & efficient & the room was adequate. Hey, for $59/night, we didn't expect the Ritz Carlton.

The location was convenient & the view out of our window was the soccer field where we could watch practice. The hotel was virtually on the U VA campus, which we unfortunately did not have time to explore.

Breakfast was limited (cereal, packaged pastry, juice, coffee) but was enough to fill our tummies before we headed to Monticello. Definitely worth the prices & would stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ortelius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, VA
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

While the location is close to UVA, the hotel is in disrepair. We felt unsafe during our stay. The walls and sheets were dirty and the air/heat unit was noisy, and odorous. The hotel is on a busy, noisy street, which you can hear in your room. A train runs literally in back of the hotel (look at a satellite image). It runs day and night, is extremely noisy and shakes the hotel. There is not enough parking for all guests. The complimentary Continental Breakfast is s few packaged danish and an instant coffee machine. Beware of their non-posted “UVA & SPECIAL EVENTS CONDITIONS” which will cost you extra money. By far, one of the worst places we have ever stayed. Don't waste your time, money, and peace of mind. Not only will you not want to sleep there, you won't be ABLE to sleep with the room condition and outside disturbances.

Room Tip: Any room in a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
INCAAM, General Manager at Excel Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 9 November 2011
Dear Guest,
Your comments are appreciated but the reality is that you booked via Expedia and the 2 night stay with "CANCEL BY 4PM 3 DAYS PRIOR TO ARRIVAL" policy in effect. Based on the hotel policy, a refund was not issued for the 2nd night. On Mon Oct 31, 2011 we cordially discussed your reservation and I directed you to discuss the matter with Expedia. Your opinions are truly yours and I am afraid they would have been different had there been a refund.

Thank You!
Budget Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Charlottesville hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
1.0 km away
Graduate Charlottesville
Graduate Charlottesville
#13 of 35 in Charlottesville
303 reviews
0.1 km away
Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia
Cavalier Inn at the University o...
#29 of 35 in Charlottesville
513 reviews
1.4 km away
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlotte...
#4 of 35 in Charlottesville
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Residence Inn by Marriott Charlottesville Downtown
Residence Inn by Marriott Charlo...
#17 of 35 in Charlottesville
84 reviews
1.1 km away
Courtyard Charlottesville - University Medical Center
Courtyard Charlottesville - Univ...
#19 of 35 in Charlottesville
174 reviews
1.3 km away
Residence Inn Charlottesville
Residence Inn Charlottesville
#18 of 35 in Charlottesville
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excel Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excel Inn & Suites

Property: Excel Inn & Suites
Address: 140 Emmet St N, Charlottesville, VA 22903-1729 (Formerly Budget Inn)
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Price range (per night): $63 - $189
Hotel Class:2 star — Excel Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the University of Virginia, we at Excel Inn & Suites (formerly Budget Inn Charlottesville) welcome you to Charlottesville and Central Virginia! Our central location is ideal walking distance to University of Virginia (Rotunda, Grounds and The Corner), JPJ (John Paul Jones) Arena, Scott Stadium, Klockner Stadium and Barracks Road Shops and Dining. A short drive will place you at Monticello, Ash Lawn, Michie Tavern, Vineyards and Historic Downtown Mall. The University of Virginia Hospital and medical facilities are a short dive distance. Our Excel Inn & Suites is a SMOKE-FREE facility offering Standard and Suite room types. Complimentary to our guests...Hot Continental Breakfast w/ Waflles, Coffee and Computer Lounge. In room amenties include LDC TV w/ cable, USB charge station, free Local & Long Distance Calls (USA & Canada), Microwave / Fridge, Iron & Iron board, Safe and Hair Dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au and getaroom.com so you can book your Excel Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Hotel Charlottesville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing