We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the stop”

Shadwell's Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Shadwell's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #44 of 629 Restaurants in Charlottesville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 10 - USD 30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Shadwells Restaurant takes it's name from Thomas Jefferson's birthplace, Shadwell Estate. Shadwells lies in the shadow of Jefferson's Monticello in Charlottesville and embraces his vision of using local fresh ingredients. Known for their fresh seafood and Chesapeake Bay inspired and juicy, hand-cut steaks, Shadwell's offers outstanding cuisine, friendly service and reasonable prices in a casual atmosphere. Local dining at it's best!
Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile

Stop for lunch on a recent trip to pick apples in the area.
She crab soup was very tasty, full of flavor with decent amount of crap meat one of the better ones I’ve had.
I had the Shadwell’s Burger very nice, cooked my requested temperature and over charcoal which was a surprise.
The burger was decent size and full of good flavor seasoned just right.
My daughter had a chicken tender kids meal nice sizes on the chicken tenders my daughter thoroughly enjoyed.
My wife had the crab cakes decent size lots of good crab meat in there with very little filler.
Service was good prices were OK and it was worth the stop.

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank Maridale2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (396)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 61 of 396 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

Stopped by after recommendations from others. We got crab cakes that were ok but nothing special. Oyster platter came with 6 Small to medium over breaded and over cooked oysters. Fries were a lot like most frozen versions rather than fresh cut. Remoulade for the oysters was very mustardy. If you like that version you will be at home.

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank Fludoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travis D, Manager at Shadwell's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear Fludoc, Thank you for your feedback regarding the crab cakes, oysters and fries.
We strive each day at Shadwells to provide a consistent and quality dining experience.
Know that your opinion matters and our Management Team is grateful to be aware. Stop back in soon to see just how much we've improved! Thank you for your feedback, The Team at Shadwells

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

We were in Shadwell's on a busy Friday night in Charlottesville, but there were empty tables around. We found out why. The noise level was among the loudest I've experienced in restaurants, with conversations difficult. This might be remedied with a carpet on the cement floor and some baffles on the roof. The food was o.k., and the service was slow but pleasant. The reputation was nicer than it deserved. We won't return, probably.

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank roadtrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travis D, Manager at Shadwell's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear Roadtrekker, Thank you for your feedback regarding the noise level. We strive each day at Shadwells to provide a consistent and quality dining experience. Know that your opinion matters and our Management Team is grateful to be aware. Stop back in soon to see just how much we've improved. Thank you for your feedback. The Team at Shadwells

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

Our friends brought us here for dinner on a Monday evening. We both had the crab cakes and loved them. I also had the wedge salad and it was a generous portion with plenty of blue cheese and bacon. Yum!

Loved their special yeast rolls...and I normally don't go for the rolls.

Ambiance is upscale yet very comfortable. Service was excellent!

I'm looking forward to more meals here at Shadwell's!

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MNM1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travis D, Manager at Shadwell's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Our sincerest thank you for the kind words! We are so pleased you enjoyed your experience here at Shadwells especially the crab cakes and yeast rolls and we look forward to seeing you again. Thank you, Shadwells Restaurant Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017 via mobile

Too tired travelers looking for a dinner close to our hotel. Happened upon this place. Though it was crowded they were accommodating and we were seated right away. Food was very good. The fish and chips were plentiful and not greasy. The Portabella mushroom fries were excellent. The calamari was also good. Would definitely go there again.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank Vikingbymarriage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shadwell's Restaurant also viewed

 
Charlottesville, VA
Charlottesville, VA
 

Been to Shadwell's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing