We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville(Charlottesville)(Great Value!)
USD 167
USD 142
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn Charlottesville(Charlottesville)(Great Value!)
USD 151
USD 130
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn Monticello(Charlottesville)(Great Value!)
USD 109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville(Charlottesville)(Great Value!)
USD 160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 223
USD 190
Residence Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oakhurst Inn(Charlottesville)
USD 195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 223/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Inn at 400 West High(Charlottesville)
USD 253
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairhaven Guesthouse(Charlottesville)(Great Value!)
USD 84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Boar's Head Resort(Charlottesville)(Great Value!)
USD 170
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (208)
Filter reviews
208 results
Traveller rating
119
42
28
12
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
119
42
28
12
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdinsmore roomwine and cheeseenjoyed our staystreet noiseparking garagebreakfast was deliciousb bsdowntown mallevery eveningspent two nightsrestaurants and barsvisit charlottesvillegranolafresh fruitbed was very comfortablemarriottuva
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 208 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2017

I would like to thank Anita for the hospitality she showed for our two night stay. The pictures on the website are true to the property. I loved our room with the bear claw tub and balcony overlooking the main street. Each night we walked up the street, got an adult beverage and sat outside. Do not miss breakfast. Everything was delicious, but those fresh English muffins.....yes! No issues with parking. They share a parking garage and it's directly behind the house.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank winnie71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017

We stayed one night in one of the new rooms facing the main street. Since the room was newly build it was nicely decorated, and the outside balcony was a plus (so you could enjoy watching people). At the same time it is not the calmest street since you have many ambulances driving along (the hospital is just a few yards away) - but nevertheless we had a good sleep.
The location of the B&B is great, it is just beside the university. A free car park is also available.
The host was very nice and helpful. The breakfast was o.k. but nothing special. At the same time we felt the B&B is not held with the love and warmth you receive in other B&Bs, which we found a bit disappointing. We also missed some common amenities (e.g. tea/coffee maker or can, water, etc.), and there was no WiFi available. And a fridge in the rooms (or a common fridge for all to use) would be appreciated, this we missed as well.
So in summary, it's quite good, but we would explore other placed on a next visit to Charlottesville.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank GCHTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017

We had a last minute change of plans and decided to visit Charlottesville. My husband found the Dimsmore House online and we spent two nights there. It is a lovely inn that was just renovated, The downstairs has a spacious living room. We stayed in room number 5 on the second floor. It is a very large room with a king sized bed and a bathtub. A nice touch was that Moulton Brown bath wash was provided for a bath.

The inn hosts a wine and cheese party every afternoon. We met some nice couples from different parts of the country. For breakfast, we had yogurt with granola and berries, eggs, biscuits and bacon. The staff made a whole pot of decaf coffee for us.

The hotel is ideally situated, just minutes from the University of Virginia, which we toured. It is also steps away from a string of some 30 restaurants. We had a nice, casual dinner at the Virginian, which had great burgers and mac and cheese. Monticello, the home of Thomas Jefferson is also very close.

The service at the inn was exceptional. We were warmly greeted and shown around and it was able to secure a bucket of ice for our room.

I highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area.

Room Tip: We liked our room, number 5,a lot
Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Megan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed two nights in the new Loft room. Never had a double-decker before and it worked out great. One bathroom upstairs and one downstairs. All ingredients in breakfast menu fresh and excellent. Spinach strata the first day--very creative. Belgian waffles the next, with excellent fresh berries. Coffee was exceptional. Service very friendly. Good wine and cheese every evening. Convenient to Monticello and walking distance to many restaurants.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Bill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

Just a gem-lucky that they had room for us at last minute. Anita is kind and helpful and the Dinsmore is beautiful, clean and recently renovated. Breakfast(s) were great and the whole trip was made better by having found and stayed at the Dinsmore.
Eileen & Bob

Room Tip: Any room will be terrific so take Anita’s advice.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brooklynbob2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews