We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,295)
Filter reviews
1,295 results
Traveller rating
716
371
140
41
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
716
371
140
41
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cookies high tea large indoor pool community garden bagel place bodo's bagels hot breakfast chain hotels king suite french toast main building breakfast room a great place to stay convenient location oatmeal lobby area free breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
519 - 524 of 1,295 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2016

A great place to stay while visiting Charlottesville, it is close to the UVA campus as well as shopping in a central location. The hotel is very clean and well maintained and has very nice rooms. Breakfast is included and the staff is very helpful to the guests. We have stayed with them several times and will always try to stay there in our future travels.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank roger_garrett1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2016

We felt the charm and history of Charlottesville during our stay at The English Inn. It is tastefully decorated, well maintained, professionally operated and located in a quiet area. There is even a wonderful bagel shop right next to the hotel! Our suite was spacious and comfortable and had a kitchen supplied with anything we needed. I highly recommend staying here whether you are visiting the University of Virginia, Monticello, The local wineries or the Blue Ridge Mountains.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2016

nice people who can not do enough for us during our stay. Little closet space, but the people make up for any short comings in the room. The location to the university is excellent with Valet parking.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2016

There is always a balance between Quality, Price and Efficiency. Usually you can only get two of the three. Not So at the English Inn.
The rooms are very spacious. The showers and sheets are always spotless. The staff defines consummate customer service unparalleled at any other hotel in the Charlottesville area.
It is not uncommon for one of the staffers to offer something special from their home in addition to the standard free breakfast provided (I can still taste the blueberry crumble I had one breakfast a year ago).
The staff exudes Southern Hospitality and will remember your name, your preferences and your kids.

Agreed it is not The Boars Head Inn nor Keswick Hall should you want every creature comfort, luxurious towel and just want to nest in your Hotel for three times the price.

If you plan on ever leaving your hotel while in Charlottesville to visit the University, see Monticello, sample the nearby vineyards/breweries or just enjoy the town….The English Inn is where you’ll want to stay.
Save the money for antiquing, dining and/or drinking.

FYI: when calling for reservations, ask for Cathy Brown. There are two of them and they are not related.

I have been staying at The English Inn when visiting Charlottesville for well over six years now. I average ten visits a year. No matter the circumstances, The English Inn is always my first choice.

Room Tip: The suites are good size. The "Mews" are perfect if you are traveling with kids and hate paying for another separate hotel room
Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank JayDybya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2016

Attended my daughter's college graduation and was extremely happy with the accommodations at The English Inn. Convenient to UVA, downtown, and all weekend activities. It is definitely the place to stay!

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank TulaneTulane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews