We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, so-so location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello
Ranked #24 of 37 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Reviewed 12 January 2012

We were taking a tour of the University of Virginia, and at the end of the day were looking for a nice hotel before getting up and heading home in the morning. We used the GPS to find the closest Holiday Inn. Unfortunately, the Holiday Inn-University directions took us to a park in town. So we plugged in Holiday Inn, Monticello, thinking it would be fun to do a driveby of Jefferson's home before heading out. The hotel was on the outskirts of town. We got one room with two double beds. It was very nice, as most Holiday Inns are. Flat screen TV, comfy beds, nice, roomy bathroom, wifi. We had a drink in the bar, which was empty except for us, and dinner in the restaurant, which was empty except for us. Could have been the season -- early January -- or the off-the-beaten-path location. But the servers and the front desk folks were very pleasant, so we enjoyed our brief stay.

Here's a tip. You can't "drive by" Monticello. Much like Disney World, you have to park in a lot and buy an expensive ticket and shuttle up to the house, even if you have no desire to go inside and look around. We didn't park.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FormerGator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (414)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

339 - 343 of 414 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2011

The hotel suprised me. We had a king sized bed as requested. The room was perfect. It was clean and the staff was great. I liked that it was a non smoking hotel in all the rooms. Even the hall smelled clean. The rooms are updated. Had a nice flat screen tv. Will def stay again if down this way!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aliciapietras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2011

Great price, so-so facility. Noisy because overlooks highway. Just worn out. People at front desk very nice and helpful too. Bed was fine.

Room Tip: don't overlook the highway, make sure the window is closed. Our room was cooler, temp wise, whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelerdebBaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

The hotel was clean, much nicer than what the standard hotel would give, and staff are very nice. Room furnishing do not have that cheap feel. The one gripe I have is that although the bed and linens were very nice, I could not get comfortable on them. Bring your own pillow.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicholas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We stayed here during our visit to Monticello. The location was great—not far from the historic area of Charlottesville. Good value for the money, Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 311nat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
0.2 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
#20 of 37 in Charlottesville
265 reviews
5.5 km away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Charlottesville-UVA, VA
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson...
#10 of 37 in Charlottesville
316 reviews
5.9 km away
Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area
Holiday Inn Charlottesville - Un...
#28 of 37 in Charlottesville
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesvill...
#6 of 37 in Charlottesville
999 reviews
5.8 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlottesville - UVA Medical
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlotte...
#14 of 37 in Charlottesville
164 reviews
7 km away
Comfort Inn Monticello
Comfort Inn Monticello
#22 of 37 in Charlottesville
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello

Address: 1200 5th St SW, (I-64 And Route 631), Charlottesville, VA 22902-6454
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 37 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Price Range: $112 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Monticello Nestled in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains, we are 2 miles from the Historic Downtown Mall . We are the closest hotel to nearby attractions such as: Monticello; Ash Lawn-Highland; and Michie Tavern, and a convenient 3 miles from the University of Virginia and the UVa Hospital. Our hotel is just minutes away from the numerous arts and entertainment events held at the Paramount Theatre, Downtown Pavilion, Starr Hill Music Hall, Ash-Lawn Opera, and our newest venue, the John Paul Jones Arena also known as The Jack or JPJ . For visitors traveling on business we are close to State Farm Regional Office, GE-Fanuc, Hyosung, Lexis Nexis, SNL Securities, Klockner Pentaplast, UVA Medical Center, Martha Jefferson Hospital, , and Luck Stone Corp. This Charlottesville hotel features comfortably appointed rooms, free high-speed Internet, local phone calls, HBO, pay-per-view movies, irons & boards, hair dryers and coffee makers. The full service restaurant Charlotte s serves breakfast, dinner and room service daily. We have over 2200 square feet of versatile meeting and banquet space to host events for business meetings, weddings, reunions , and events . Let our experienced staff focus on the details to ensure that your event is a complete success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Evoline ltd, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello Hotel Charlottesville
Charlottesville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing