We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Worth the value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Econo Lodge North

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Econo Lodge North
Ranked #24 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
PA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worth the value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2010

Me and my partner stayed in econo lodge for a night, and i was really impressed by the cleanliness and amenities. I had stayed in econo lodges in other cities before, and i found this particular location's econo lodge better of the lot. Sheets and towels were very clean, and they had all essentials amenities. I could not try their breakfast, car parking lot was almost full, and i would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank diamond0095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    25
    42
    16
    18
See reviews for
28
39
22
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2008

A dump -- stay away!!

front desk unhelpful and unpleasant; they also often don't answer the phone.
bedding was stained, carpet wasn't clean.
rooms and baths are old with bad furnishings and in desperate need of renovation.
rates are very high for what you get.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank o.t.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Charlottesville hotels

Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2008

Stayed in room 218 in mid-October. BED BUGS! Didn't know what it was when I awoke in the middle of the night. Saw a single spot of blood on the sheet. Then discovered bugs when I moved the pillow. When I smashed them with the small tablet of paper that I found next to the bed they burst. More blood! I left after a quick shower at 3:30 in the morning. Disgusting and beyond belief they are still open.

  • Liked — leaving
  • Disliked — bed bugs
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mcxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lrahmoeller
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2008

1. The tub was dirty. Room not regularly cleaned. Lots of dust on the heating controls.

2. The floors creak so very noisy when the people above you walk.

3. Plumbing noisy so you are awakened when those in rooms near you get up.

4. Sheets on the double beds are twin flat sheets so the bottom sheet comes off. I grew up w/o fitted sheets and know that a standard full flat sheet can be put on as the bottom sheet and will stay. Can't do so with a twin sheet.

5. Stayed for two nights. Absolutely no room service.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank lrahmoeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midwest
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2007

We walked into the location. The night manager seemed a bit odd. He quoted us the price of $79.00 which for an area that has $100+ . We were willing to tolerate a bit less of a place. If we hadn't felt they were liars about the cable/TV issues, I'd rate the place a 3.

But, needless to say the knock on our door at 10:52 p.m. to check-out the TV/Cable issue and lies that followed about cable being out in the whole area- NO TV...Amazing all the other hotels had no problems...And a General Manager with an attitude, the whole story is too lengthy to review. BUT...if you have problems here don't expect them to be resolved. ECONO LODGE needs to ditch the management. It's a plausible money maker!!

Safety issues seemed ok to us on the Saturday night.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank RoseyJake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
0.0 km away
Red Roof Inn Charlottesville
Red Roof Inn Charlottesville
#25 of 35 in Charlottesville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
2.2 km away
Excel Inn & Suites
Excel Inn & Suites
#27 of 35 in Charlottesville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.3 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlottesville - UVA Medical
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlotte...
#20 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area
Holiday Inn Charlottesville - Un...
#28 of 35 in Charlottesville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.6 km away
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
#6 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
5.6 km away
Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello
Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Mont...
#23 of 35 in Charlottesville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge North

Property: Econo Lodge North
Address: 2014 Holiday Dr, Charlottesville, VA 22901-2817
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price range (per night): $79 - $119
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge North 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC and Booking.com so you can book your Econo Lodge North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge North Hotel Charlottesville
Econo Lodge Charlottesville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing