We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay”
Review of The Nutmeg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Nutmeg
Ranked #2 of 10 Wilmington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 September 2011

We travel quite a bit, and always look to stay at B&Bs. We have been traveling to Vermont since the 80's and have stayed at many different B&B's throughout the state. The Nutmeg Inn had always been one of our favorite places to visit, so we were disappointed when they closed. When we heard about Floodstock (a Fundraiser to help the local business in Wilmington affected by Irene), on the list of the available places to stay was the Nutmeg Inn. What a wonderful surprise to learn that the Inn had re-opened under new owners. The rooms continue to be comfy and beautiful,and the renovations are great. All the great rooms, renovations, cleanliness,etc. would not complete the picture without the friendly and helpful owners and staff! B&B lover September 2011

Room Tip: Several rooms are our favorite. If we told you, we may have to compete with you for the rooms we li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BBTraveler9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (272)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

259 - 263 of 272 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2011

i do not think you can find an inn anywhere that surpasses this one for new england warmth and charm....we loved staying here....the wine reception made us feel special, the rooms were comfy and beautiful, and the staff was friendly and helpful....

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joan34036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

We had a wonderful visit with our family. The Nutmeg Country Inn took our entire family in after the floods swept through Wilmington and our original B&B got flooded. What a wonderful place to stay! We lucked out. All 12 of us had accommodations and no one had a complaint. The staff couldn't have been nicer. A 5 Star place.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TwillA08088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We travel quite a bit, and always look to stay at B&Bs . Going to Wilmington right after the storm for a wedding, we were a little concerned about roads, and conditions in general.
Not only did the innkeeper email us regularly prior to our arrival, updating us on roads, restaurants, and routes, but when we got there we were blown away by the charm, and great space we had rented for the weekend. Wonderful breakfasts, and perfect location made for a perfect weekend. (the weather was also perfect which helps)
I would recommend The Nutmeg Inn to anyone traveling to Wilmington for leaf season, or ski season.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tellydad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

We've stayed at the Nutmeg Inn (more recently titled the Nutmeg Country Inn) on and off for decades, and we were disappointed when a recent owner let it go downhill. Happily, the new owners have put heroic efforts into reversing this slide. They're busy fixing up the place and rehabbing the rooms. The effort definitely shows. We stayed in the 2-bedroom suite where we've always stayed, and it has not yet been redone, so it still is a little under-the-weather, but we'll cut the owners some slack since they've only been open a few months and weren't really sure about renting that unit at all. The new linens certainly were spectacularly soft and silky, and the service was as friendly as you could want. Breakfast is very good, but I'd like to see a choice of yogurt and granola added to the current 3 options.
The location is very handy to "downtown" Wilmington (about a half-mile) but it isn't really walkable since the road curves sharply and has no sidewalk, so you're taking your life in your hands if you try to go into town on foot. The Inn is about a 20-25 minute from Marlboro College (site of the Marlboro Chamber Music Festival) and about 20 min or less to Mt. Snow.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheFrogLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuttydoug, Owner at The Nutmeg, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2011

Wait until you see the change in the two bedroom suite 11 on your next visit!! Geo has done his magic.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilmington
1.2 km away
Old Red Mill
Old Red Mill
#1 of 3 in Wilmington
42 reviews
0.8 km away
The Wilmington Inn
The Wilmington Inn
#1 of 10 in Wilmington
443 reviews
10.5 km away
Grand Summit Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
The White House Inn
The White House Inn
#4 of 10 in Wilmington
220 reviews
1 km away
Vermont House
Vermont House
#8 of 10 in Wilmington
8 reviews
0.3 km away
Vintage Motel
Vintage Motel
#2 of 3 in Wilmington
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nutmeg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nutmeg

Address: 153 W Main St, Wilmington, VT 05363 (Formerly Nutmeg Country Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Wilmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Wilmington
Price Range: $161 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Nutmeg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 1777 boutique-style southern Vermont inn - old world charm with all the mod cons. The Nutmeg, is in Wilmington VT, about 15 minutes from Mt Snow. Perfect for ski weekends, fall get aways, and summer breaks. Snowmobile and hiking trails directly from the property and just a minute's drive from Lake Harriman and all the waterspouts that lake has to offer. Plenty of parking for boat or snowmobile trailers. All rooms have private baths, free WiFi, TVs and A/C. Evening dining in the summer is fireside along the banks of the river. The inn has a wonderful food truck offering rotisserie chicken, ribs and beer and wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au and Hotels.com so you can book your The Nutmeg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing