We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Wonderful place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Nutmeg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Nutmeg
Ranked #1 of 10 Wilmington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

We travel quite a bit, and always look to stay at B&Bs. We have been traveling to Vermont since the 80's and have stayed at many different B&B's throughout the state. The Nutmeg Inn had always been one of our favorite places to visit, so we were disappointed when they closed. When we heard about Floodstock (a Fundraiser to help the local business in Wilmington affected by Irene), on the list of the available places to stay was the Nutmeg Inn. What a wonderful surprise to learn that the Inn had re-opened under new owners. The rooms continue to be comfy and beautiful,and the renovations are great. All the great rooms, renovations, cleanliness,etc. would not complete the picture without the friendly and helpful owners and staff! B&B lover September 2011

Room Tip: Several rooms are our favorite. If we told you, we may have to compete with you for the rooms we li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BBTraveler9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    30
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
40
147
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Middletown, Delaware
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

i do not think you can find an inn anywhere that surpasses this one for new england warmth and charm....we loved staying here....the wine reception made us feel special, the rooms were comfy and beautiful, and the staff was friendly and helpful....

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joan34036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, NJ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

We had a wonderful visit with our family. The Nutmeg Country Inn took our entire family in after the floods swept through Wilmington and our original B&B got flooded. What a wonderful place to stay! We lucked out. All 12 of us had accommodations and no one had a complaint. The staff couldn't have been nicer. A 5 Star place.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TwillA08088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Plains
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

We travel quite a bit, and always look to stay at B&Bs . Going to Wilmington right after the storm for a wedding, we were a little concerned about roads, and conditions in general.
Not only did the innkeeper email us regularly prior to our arrival, updating us on roads, restaurants, and routes, but when we got there we were blown away by the charm, and great space we had rented for the weekend. Wonderful breakfasts, and perfect location made for a perfect weekend. (the weather was also perfect which helps)
I would recommend The Nutmeg Inn to anyone traveling to Wilmington for leaf season, or ski season.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tellydad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2011

We've stayed at the Nutmeg Inn (more recently titled the Nutmeg Country Inn) on and off for decades, and we were disappointed when a recent owner let it go downhill. Happily, the new owners have put heroic efforts into reversing this slide. They're busy fixing up the place and rehabbing the rooms. The effort definitely shows. We stayed in the 2-bedroom suite where we've always stayed, and it has not yet been redone, so it still is a little under-the-weather, but we'll cut the owners some slack since they've only been open a few months and weren't really sure about renting that unit at all. The new linens certainly were spectacularly soft and silky, and the service was as friendly as you could want. Breakfast is very good, but I'd like to see a choice of yogurt and granola added to the current 3 options.
The location is very handy to "downtown" Wilmington (about a half-mile) but it isn't really walkable since the road curves sharply and has no sidewalk, so you're taking your life in your hands if you try to go into town on foot. The Inn is about a 20-25 minute from Marlboro College (site of the Marlboro Chamber Music Festival) and about 20 min or less to Mt. Snow.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheFrogLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuttydoug, Owner at The Nutmeg, responded to this review, 30 September 2011
Wait until you see the change in the two bedroom suite 11 on your next visit!! Geo has done his magic.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilmington
38.1 km away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 15 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
36.1 km away
Taconic Kimpton Hotel
Taconic Kimpton Hotel
#1 of 15 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.8 km away
The Wilmington Inn & Tavern
The Wilmington Inn & Tavern
#2 of 10 in Wilmington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Vintage Motel
Vintage Motel
#1 of 4 in Wilmington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
2.6 km away
The White House Inn
The White House Inn
#4 of 10 in Wilmington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
10.5 km away
Grand Summit Resort Hotel at Mount Snow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nutmeg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nutmeg

Property: The Nutmeg
Address: 153 W Main St, Wilmington, VT 05363 (Formerly Nutmeg Country Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Wilmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Wilmington
Price range (per night): $170 - $262
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Nutmeg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quintessential southern Vermont inn - old world charm with all the mod cons. The Nutmeg, cr 1777 is in Wilmington VT, about 15 minutes from Mt Snow. Perfect for ski weekends, fall get aways, and summer breaks. Snowmobile and hiking trails directly from the property and just a minute's drive from Lake Harriman. Plenty of parking for boat or snowmobile trailers. All rooms have private baths, free WiFi, TVs and A/C. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Nutmeg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing