We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Long Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The White House Inn
Ranked #4 of 10 Wilmington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 November 2016

We stayed here for Veteran's Day weekend. It was a great visit. We had stayed at this Inn several times before but while there had been a management change on our last stay, there wasn't much of a difference in the Inn's physical space or restaurant. This visit it was clear that the Inn had been through some extensive remodeling and it showed. We were lucky, I guess, in that the restaurant was open for our entire visit. In the past, we have found that on off-season the restaurant can be closed. Everything we had was truly delicious and the service was great. Our room was very nicely appointed and the bathroom had clearly been recently remodeled and looked awesome. We enjoyed just hanging out on one of the couches or comfy chairs by the fireplace, with our beverages. Our two disappointments 1) we had stayed several times at this Inn prior and it was a B&B - breakfast is no longer included with your stay 2) probably more important, no freshly brewed coffee available for guests. There is a coffee maker in your room (like a Keurig), but no brewed coffee in the lobby. I heard another couple not too happy about this, as well. I think the new management (Hermitage) needs to add this one perk to its Inns (they own many in the area). All in all we had a marvelous time staying here and we will return. Thanks!

Room Tip: Room #8 was great with a Queen bed and remodeled bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (222)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

32 - 36 of 222 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2016

Just stopped in for a nice lunch a couple of times and loved the seating both indoors and out, the great food, good service, great views and lovely old inn. Going there fore Thanksgiving dinner too. Can't wait.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Oldeandnew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2016

My wife and I stayed here during shoulder season to try and catch the tail-end of fall foliage. The restaurant was closed and the room was in some disrepair. A few of the door handles fell off when we tried to turn them. The staff was friendly and attentive. Overall, we felt the room was not quite worth what we paid to stay there.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tdejong1286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2016 via mobile

My husband and I booked our stay here on Groupon and we were not disappointed. The Inn was lovely - our room had the most comfortable king bed and was very clean. All the staff was friendly and accommodating. Breakfast was delicious! Our only complaint would be that the Inns lounge and restaurant was closed for lunch and dinner during our stay, which we were not aware of (our stay was Sunday-Wednesday).

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank lmyounger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

Cannot say enough about this beautiful Inn! The staff was extremely courteous and the property is beautiful and extremely clean. We stayed for 4 nights and got upgraded to a king suite because we were there for our honeymoon. Our room was perfect and we had the option of being cozy in the living room by the fireplace or in our spacious beautiful bedroom. It rained most of the time we were there, but it didn't faze us because we were able to go out on the private covered deck and relax and stay dry. We definitely took advantage of the common rooms and lounged in all of them and even at the bar which I usually don't like to sit at bars, but this one was so inviting. We played pool downstairs in the game room which was fun. Most ate most of our meals at the restaurant at the Inn and the food and service were excellent. We had a fun and relaxing trip which is exactly what we needed. We definitely plan on returning to the White House Inn in the future.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Raquel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilmington
1.4 km away
Old Red Mill
Old Red Mill
#2 of 3 in Wilmington
42 reviews
1.8 km away
The Wilmington Inn
The Wilmington Inn
#1 of 10 in Wilmington
468 reviews
2.6 km away
The Nutmeg
The Nutmeg
#2 of 10 in Wilmington
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 km away
The Hermitage Inn
The Hermitage Inn
#10 of 13 in Dover
140 reviews
1.6 km away
Vermont House
Vermont House
#8 of 10 in Wilmington
8 reviews
9.6 km away
Snow Goose Inn
Snow Goose Inn
#2 of 13 in Dover
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White House Inn

Address: 178 Route 9 E, Wilmington, VT 05363-9655
Region: United States > Vermont > Wilmington
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Wilmington
Price Range: $262 - $362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The White House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White House is a Victorian mansion offering you elegant yet relaxed surroundings in Southern Vermont located near the Mount Snow Resort. Set on the crest of a high, rolling hill, and surrounded by towering hardwoods and formal flower gardens, it is readily obvious why the Boston Herald and New York Times selected the White House Inn as "one of the ten most romantic places in the world." The White House Inn has established a superb reputation for providing gracious accommodation which is complimented by outstanding cuisine in the restaurant. Newly renovated in 2015, all rooms updated, brand new bathrooms, new wine cellar featuring a private dining room compliments the newly re-launched tavern/dining room menus. Rates start at $175. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and lastminute.com.au so you can book your The White House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White House Hotel Wilmington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing