We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, peaceful, and comfortable”
Review of The Hermitage Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Hermitage Inn
Ranked #7 of 12 Dover B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 January 2012

My husband had such a fabulous vacation here. Our room was beautiful, the food was fantastic, and the service was wonderful. Even though we only stayed for two days, I left feeling relaxed and refreshed. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Megaparsec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 100 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2012

The service was horrible-----stopped for a drink at the bar over New Years waited 30 minutes totally ignored by everyone, we finally left

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
6  Thank peggy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2011

We have not yet stayed here but were about to book a stay when I read the review that mentioned a 20% 'service charge' automatically added to each night's stay. I checked with the reservations desk and they confirmed that this is indeed their practice. Needless to say I changed my mind about the booking. I'm sure the place is lovely in every way but I feel that in these difficult economic times, not only is this greedy but it is quite presumptious to add an additional 20% cost to an already high-priced room.

Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
11  Thank BnBchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

great rooms, private,quiet setting in wooded area. we went in late winter and did some cross country skiing. In addition we rented snow shoes from the Hermitage and did some great hiking up to what was the old Haystack Mountain ski area. Restaurant was very good, would like to get a group together to do a wine tasting in their wine cellar. Room service was excellent. a great get away weekend. Hot tub was a bonus after a long day of snow shoeing.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank onthegoMassachusetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2011

From the fresh" beautifully prepared pub fare to devine white table cloth dining in their main dining room - the food at Hermitage is sublime and unforgettable! The atmosphere is quaint, and inviting and the staff is always friendly and extremely adept at true service.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VTFOODIE555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dover
4 km away
Snow Lake Lodge
Snow Lake Lodge
#3 of 3 in Dover
176 reviews
4.2 km away
Grand Summit Resort Hotel
3.4 km away
West Dover Inn
West Dover Inn
#2 of 12 in Dover
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Snow Goose Inn
Snow Goose Inn
#5 of 12 in Dover
352 reviews
7.7 km away
The White House Inn
The White House Inn
#4 of 10 in Wilmington
221 reviews
3.5 km away
Deerhill Inn
Deerhill Inn
#1 of 12 in Dover
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hermitage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hermitage Inn

Address: 25 Handle Rd, Dover, VT 05356-9726
Region: United States > Vermont > Dover
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Dover
Price Range: $273 - $398 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hermitage Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hermitage Inn captures a time in Vermont's history, allowing you to relax and rejuvenate in a luxuriously renovated Country Inn. Surrounded by the Green Mountain National Forest, we are privileged to be home to some of the most attractive and beautiful settings Vermont has to offer. Whether you are visiting us during the splendor of snow, the vibrant colors of fall, the beauty of summer, or the awakening of spring, you will be able to enjoy all the Inn has to offer. Embark on a snowshoe tour or hike on our trails, relax in our sauna after a vigorous cross-country ski outing, or enjoy a rousing game of pool in our game room. Fly-fish from the edge of our stocked pond on a crips autumn morning, or relax and lose yourself in your favorite book in our serene apple orchard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Wotif.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your The Hermitage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hermitage Hotel Dover
The Hermitage Inn Vermont/Dover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing