We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing, peaceful, and comfortable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hermitage Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Hermitage Inn
Ranked #7 of 13 Dover B&B and Inns
Middletown, Connecticut
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Relaxing, peaceful, and comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

My husband had such a fabulous vacation here. Our room was beautiful, the food was fantastic, and the service was wonderful. Even though we only stayed for two days, I left feeling relaxed and refreshed. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megaparsec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    20
    8
    8
    13
See reviews for
18
78
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milford, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

The service was horrible-----stopped for a drink at the bar over New Years waited 30 minutes totally ignored by everyone, we finally left

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank peggy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2011

We have not yet stayed here but were about to book a stay when I read the review that mentioned a 20% 'service charge' automatically added to each night's stay. I checked with the reservations desk and they confirmed that this is indeed their practice. Needless to say I changed my mind about the booking. I'm sure the place is lovely in every way but I feel that in these difficult economic times, not only is this greedy but it is quite presumptious to add an additional 20% cost to an already high-priced room.

Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
11 Thank BnBchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

great rooms, private,quiet setting in wooded area. we went in late winter and did some cross country skiing. In addition we rented snow shoes from the Hermitage and did some great hiking up to what was the old Haystack Mountain ski area. Restaurant was very good, would like to get a group together to do a wine tasting in their wine cellar. Room service was excellent. a great get away weekend. Hot tub was a bonus after a long day of snow shoeing.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onthegoMassachusetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Vermont
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2011

From the fresh" beautifully prepared pub fare to devine white table cloth dining in their main dining room - the food at Hermitage is sublime and unforgettable! The atmosphere is quaint, and inviting and the staff is always friendly and extremely adept at true service.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VTFOODIE555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dover hotels
4.0 km away
Snow Lake Lodge
Snow Lake Lodge
#3 of 3 in Dover
3.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
4.2 km away
Grand Summit Resort Hotel
3.6 km away
Deerhill Inn
Deerhill Inn
#1 of 13 in Dover
5.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
West Dover Inn
West Dover Inn
#3 of 13 in Dover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
4.2 km away
Inn at Mount Snow
Inn at Mount Snow
#10 of 13 in Dover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
2.9 km away
Gray Ghost Inn
Gray Ghost Inn
#2 of 13 in Dover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hermitage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hermitage Inn

Property: The Hermitage Inn
Address: 25 Handle Rd, Dover, VT 05356-9726
Region: United States > Vermont > Dover
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Dover
Price range (per night): $253 - $534
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hermitage Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hermitage Inn captures a time in Vermont's history, allowing you to relax and rejuvenate in a luxuriously renovated Country Inn. Surrounded by the Green Mountain National Forest, we are privileged to be home to some of the most attractive and beautiful settings Vermont has to offer. Whether you are visiting us during the splendor of snow, the vibrant colors of fall, the beauty of summer, or the awakening of spring, you will be able to enjoy all the Inn has to offer. Embark on a snowshoe tour or hike on our trails, relax in our sauna after a vigorous cross-country ski outing, or enjoy a rousing game of pool in our game room. Fly-fish from the edge of our stocked pond on a crips autumn morning, or relax and lose yourself in your favorite book in our serene apple orchard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au and Booking.com so you can book your The Hermitage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hermitage Hotel Dover
The Hermitage Inn Vermont/Dover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing