We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picture-Perfect Country Inn that Charms on All Counts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Waitsfield
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Vermont
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Picture-Perfect Country Inn that Charms on All Counts”
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Few country inns can offer the charm, amenities, and lovely, relaxed service we found at the Round Barn Farm. My husband and I recently stayed here on a quiet Sunday night and rated it as one of the nicest inns we've stayed at (and we've travelled extensively). The setting, on a bucolic country road nestled in a lovely ski valley, is picture-perfect. The inn itself is rustic yet upscale: gorgeous soft wood floors, exposed beams, fireplaces, and cozy nooks abound. We stayed in the Richardsoon room, which we would highly recommend. It boasted a very comfortable king bed, a sitting room with a gas fireplace, a big whirlpool tub overlooking the extensive, private, grounds, and lots of natural light (the only quibble being the lack of shades on the large skylights, which woke us up rather early in the morning). Lovely, unexpected amenities included fresh baked cookies and an appetizers in the afternoon, bath salts, and the basket of slippers waiting at the front door. Breakfast was fresh and inventive: a citrus salad in a balsamic sauce and poached eggs over wilted kale, toast and ham. Often breakfasts at country inns are too sweet and overdone: this was made to order and frankly better than most restaurants I've tried. Only wish we could have stayed longer. We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank YogaPam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    31
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
32
223
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

It is hard to pick the best thing about the Inn at the Round Barn. Sumptuous breakfasts, that are based on local produce and change each morning....snow shoeing in the local woods with Cooper the black lab....the welcome from the charming staff...the open fire and library...the comfortable beds and rooms....or the setting, just outside of Waitsfield, close to Sugarbush mountain resort. We spent Christmas there and really enjoyed it. Somehow they even managed to make it snow for us.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mans76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2011

We were recently married at the Round Barn (10.22.2011), and it went off without a hitch (aside from the one where we got hitched!). I must begin by saying how grateful we are to all the wonderful people who make this inn (and weddings) so very special, including Tim, Samantha, Stephanie, Stephanie, Charlie, Dan, Cooper, and so many others. They are what sets this place apart and why this place is so successful.

The Rooms: We rented the entire inn for our family for the weekend and it became our own little home-away-from-home. The rooms are just as cozy and delightfully decorated as they appear on the website, and each one is incredibly romantic. Beds are extremely comfortable, and the robes in the rooms are perfect for lounging about. I can honestly say that every room is comfortable and offers its own unique reasons to stay in it. We stayed in the Jocelyn Room, and the toile and striped bathroom was the perfect backdrop for photos.

The Grounds: Cows grazing in the back pasture. Rolling hills highlighted by the seasons. Trees reflected in the calm pond waters. A historical round barn illuminated in the early misty morning. This is postcard-worthy Vermont. And this is the Round Barn.

The Food: Our family raved about the homemade cookies and appetizers that were set out each night, and snacking while sitting by the fireplace became a favorite pastime. The breakfasts are like something out of a dream (which could easily lead to a food coma) and change daily based on whatever is seasonal and fresh—we even had baked figs (one of my all-time favorite things in the world) on the morning of our wedding. Charlie also did an outstanding job catering for the wedding. He is a culinary master, and everyone loved what he prepared. It couldn’t have been more beautiful or tasted better.

The Staff: As I mentioned above, this place is run by the most wonderful and considerate people. Tim, the owner, is the most endearing man, and makes everyone feel at ease with a delightful sense of humor. Stephanie, the innkeeper, attends to every whim with a wonderful smile. She handled both of our families with incredible warmth and kindness. Samantha, the event coordinator, was like the guardian angel I had always hoped for, and I think I could rule the world with her by my side. She and Stephanie helped organize a pumpkin carving night and it is something my family will never forgot. These people and everyone else who go above and beyond to insure every stay is memorable are the main reason we love it here and why it meant so much to us to have this be the place where we said our vows.

We also chose this inn because we knew that it is a place where we will want to visit time and again throughout our life together. Whether you are looking for a wedding venue or just want to have a romantic getaway, you won’t find a more magical or inviting place than this.

Room Tip: Each room is unique, but you really can't go wrong. Read the descriptions on the website and cho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fig-e-pudding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

Always on favorite lists and well deserved. Just outside the village of Waitsfield in the Mad River Valley, the Inn at the Round Barn Farm features warm and cozy rooms, plus delightful surroundings in which to chill out in! A professional chef cooks in a raised open kitchen where focus is on local Vermont farm products while guests enjoy the views of the beautiful gardens and cows grazing in the hilly pasture. In good weather you can sit outside on the patio or during the chilly season sit by the fireplace in the gracious living room. The staff takes enormous pride sharing the Vermont experience while not compromising quality and friendliness. We 've stayed many times in all seasons...and plan to return again and again.

Room Tip: Must book well in advance for prime weekends. Very popular for destination weddings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank whoopsy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2011

From the food to the setup, everything was beautifully set up and staff completely on top of things. The Round Barn itself is gorgeous--the ceremony held downstairs in the former milking area. It was intimate and a great spot for the cocktail hour. The spread of cheeses was magnificent and simply divine with an equally impressive selection of cured meats. As for the reception itself, it was held on the second floor of the barn. It was warm and lit by tons of dangling candlelight -- I have to wonder how long it took them to light all the candles. The bar was located discreetly away from all the tables so it didn't feel like it interrupted anything. The food (squash soup followed with a divine salad and choice of vegetarian dish, filet or duck) was simply divine. It's the kind of meal I expect going out to a fine-dining restaurant. Staff was attentive and always kept our water filled. We were impressed.

The grounds are lovely, just wish it had been a bit warmer (end of fall). I can imagine how beautiful it would be to have a wedding on the grounds in summer or when the leaves are just turning--I'd love to stroll around and just wander, stare at the cows; it's totally picturesque Vermont. I like that it's tucked off the main road ... now that the hurricane ruined the covered bridge you used to take to get there, it was even more secluded (but hopefully that fix that covered bridge!). Can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yobo94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waitsfield
20.4 km away
Best Western Plus Waterbury - Stowe
19.4 km away
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
#1 of 4 in Montpelier
486 reviews
4.6 km away
Tucker Hill Inn
Tucker Hill Inn
#1 of 15 in Waitsfield
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 km away
White Horse Inn
White Horse Inn
#3 of 15 in Waitsfield
138 reviews
7.1 km away
Mad River Barn Inn, Restaurant & Pub
4.4 km away
The Warren Lodge
The Warren Lodge
#2 of 7 in Warren
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Round Barn Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Round Barn Farm

Property: The Inn at Round Barn Farm
Address: 1661 E Warren Rd, Waitsfield, VT 05673-7127
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Waitsfield
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Waitsfield
Price range (per night): $244 - $355
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Round Barn Farm 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 245 acres of mountains, meadows, and ponds lies this romantic Vermont Inn, a four season vacation retreat for lovers of the arts, history and the outdoors. Friendly and caring Innkeepers at this Waitsfield VT Inn welcome you to enjoy all the comforts of home with none of the demands. Individually decorated guest rooms have been designed with attention to the details that matter. Come experience incredible hospitality at this lovely Warren bed and breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Inn at Round Barn Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At The Round Barn Farm Hotel Waitsfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing