We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bring your kids here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stowe Mountain Lodge
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Great place to stay for a weekend. Perhaps it's not a full week destination for most though.
This hotel is right in the middle of the resort, it's location is excellent.

Food is great here: I stayed here with serious metro-foodies and even they seemed to be quite pleased. There are two restaurants that are top quality here, solstice, which is inside the lodge, and then Cottage, which is even better, but is a 5 min walk away.

Rooms were super clean with very good bedding, though the tv's (while capable) are not provided HD programming. Our 1 bedroom had a full kitchen.

We had a view of the pool and the "front four" runs. This was ideal as watching the cats groom at night is fun, but the view during the day of both the mountain and the pool is great: the hot tubs here are INSANELY Busy. So we were able to run out there when there were less people around.

Kids skiing programs here seemed great, but every place I visit after whistler just can't even compare.
2 things about kids- one is that this place is full of them. It appears it is the place to bring your Landover full of kids to if you live in Boston. If you're looking for an adult focused resort this really not it at all. Nightlife is largely nonexistant, though the Mexican joint in town called frida's seems to be the only place where debauchery appears acceptable.
The other is that there is a fundamental problem with their beginner terrain, it is located at the runout of one of the blue-terrain areas. This means that the kids have intermediate skiers cutting through their lesson areas. Just ridiculous and asking for problems. If your kids can ski, bring them here, if they need to learn, take them elsewhere first.

Staff were mostly courteous and knowledgeable. The ski valet is quite a nice weekend touch - the idea is that they do not allow your skis into the hotel or rooms so they expect you to let them handle your gear - right from your trunk. This place is pretty posh there's no real danger in your gear going missing, but it took me by surprise as I had all my gear packed in a huge snowboard bag and I was expected to remove the board from. The bag and give it to the ski valet.

Other reviewers had noted that the luggage team are a little inexperienced and perhaps forward in some of their policies and I agree with that: note as well that on the day we checked out, as other reviewers have noted, they left our bags sitting in a hallway nook instead of a "secure storage room".
I was unimpressed by that given someone should be reading the notes here and acting upon the criticism. A resort of this calibre really should be.

For a ski resort, the roof design is abysmal. As someone who's lived in other ski resorts for years I can say this conclusively. The roof ice isn't managed properly, there is real danger in getting hit by ice in several locations around doing this building, especially near ski valet in the back. Also the front loading area has no eaves troughs and that means you need to walk through a wall of drips if you want to get inside and are not parked in one of the 4 spots that are covered.

Room Tip: Ask to see a selection of rooms, there's a huge span of walking times, noise, and view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LocalsDiscount
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,761)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,324 - 2,328 of 2,761 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2012

We had the privilege of being taken to the lodge for dinner and everything was amazing. The food and service where very good. Great place to go.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lionsword
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StoweMountainLodge, Manager at Stowe Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2012

Thank you for visiting Stowe Mountain Lodge for dinner! Our farm-to-table culinary offerings in both Hourglass bar & lounge and Solstice restaurant feature the best Vermont has to offer in our slopeside restaurants. Chef Josh Berry has added her personal touches to our menu and is getting ready to roll out the summer menu shortly. We hope to welcome you back to experience that menu!
Regards,
Heinrich von Puschendorf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

We stayed here over a weekend in April of last year. The hotel was very quiet as ski season seemed to be over. The staff here was great - very talkative and helpful. The spa and heated outdoor pool were fantastic. The courtesy cars from Mercedes were a nice touch and a great way to drive in to the town for dinner. We ordered room service for breakfast one of the two days and it was standard fare only. If I have a complaint it's that at $18/day, the valet parking (which you have to take) was a bit steep. Overall, I would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: we were upgraded to a suite with a bedroom - it was really spacious and really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tyler k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

For a New England ski destination, the Stowe Mountain Lodge is hard to beat. The Timberline or Ridgeview Studio rooms are great with their kitchenette, fireplace and sitting area. The room was clean and always well stocked. My son would sleep on the pull-out sofa and this worked out fine. The bellstaff is very friendly and clearly tries to have a personal touch. We didn't use the concierge since our last visit produced a few mix ups with reservations and a friend visited in November 2011 had similar problems, so we made all our reservations on our own. For the price of the lodge, this is unfortunate as a good concierge can make a huge difference in your visit, but, better safe than sorry. There are several good choices in Stowe for restaurants so you don't have to eat all your meals on the property. The ski valet is terrific. I wish they had a better game room for the kids and if they ever build the ice skating rink, that will be a great addition, too. Since the resort is pet friendly, we did bring our small dog this time. Please note, they do not allow pets to be left in the room unattended. They will arrange for a pet sitter, but I was quoted $16/hr. and they want 72 hr. notice in advance. Overall, great skiing and a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LyndaNewport_RI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We were very excited to try skiing in USA. East coast does not compare with Europe. Stowe was also rather disappointing and a very long way from hotel. However the hotel was fabulous and we loved our stay there. Peter, the concierge, could not do enough and we found everyone else helpful and polite. The use of "hospitality" cars helped us get out for a couple of hours each evening and saved a lot of money on taxis.
We really found everything top quality and can recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MelanieStern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
7.7 km away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#6 of 24 in Stowe
1,367 reviews
4.2 km away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#1 of 24 in Stowe
239 reviews
8.6 km away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 km away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
154 reviews
9.8 km away
Field Guide
Field Guide
#8 of 24 in Stowe
198 reviews
5.2 km away
Topnotch Resort
Topnotch Resort
#4 of 24 in Stowe
956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stowe Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stowe Mountain Lodge

Address: 7412 Mountain Road, Stowe, VT 05672-5179
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Stowe
#1 Business Hotel in Stowe
#1 Green Hotel in Stowe
#2 Family Hotel in Stowe
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
Price Range: $257 - $1,131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Stowe Mountain Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Stowe Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stowe Mountain Hotel Stowe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing