We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“If you're going to Stowe, this is the place to stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hob Knob Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hob Knob Inn
Ranked #7 of 24 Stowe B&B and Inns
East Lansing, MI
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If you're going to Stowe, this is the place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

We've stayed at a few places in Stowe and this is by far the best experience we've had. While the rooms are not the most modern, they are well kept and provide a comfortable stay and an at home feeling. If you're looking for a clean comfortable room after a long day skiing/exploring Stowe, there isn't a better value out there. What this hotel lacks in modern amenities, is more than made up for by its close proximity to the Mountain and, more importantly, the extremely nice and more than accommodating group of owners/staff. They truly care about the happiness of their guests and treat each and every one as if they are family. The on site restaurant that is open for dinner is absolutely delicious. Anytime we go to Stowe, we will definitely be staying at Hob Knob!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ksilver23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    43
    26
    5
    6
See reviews for
49
75
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights from Feb. 13th to Feb. 16th inclusive. We booked their Suite quite far in advance and were very happy with the Room. It has a full kitchen, large living room area with gas fireplace, good size bedroom with king bed & lots of storage area, bathroom with whirlpool tub and a separate powder room. The unit is heated using the Gas fireplace which has a blower and the room was always warm. A continental breakfast is offered which we tried one morning but found to be lacking ( not enough food ), so we made our own in the room. They have Wifi but for some reasom my netbook wouldn't connect properly in our room. It would connect in the lobby of the Inn which led me to believe the signal is not very strong. This was disappointing as we like to Skype. It was quite warm for February but we cross country skiied at Trapp Family Lodge in spite of the weather. I would recommend this place.

Room Tip: The Suite was very good. All the amenities to suit - see review.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa Ont.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

I wish I could say nothing but good things about the Hob Knob because all of the staff we met were gracious and kind and I hope my critiism will inspire an effort to do a little better. We spent two nights in mid February at the peak of the high season and I appreciate that the rooms at the Hob Knob are much less than at many of the other resorts but many small details at the Hob Knob that individually would be easy to overlook but in there totality left us dissatified.

The walkway to our deluxe room with fireplace was not shovelled but a narrow twisting path lead to our room. A musty smell overwelmed us on entry.The heating system was in fact the gas fireplace that lit up the room at all hours day and night making sleep difficult. The soap provided was tthe smallest sliver of soap imaginable. The only other toiletry was a tiny capsule of shampoo. No conditioner here. The toilet didn't work. The telephone in our friends room didn't work. The television must have been 30 years old. The room is in desparate need of updating.

The Hob Knob is very well located with a beautiful property and we had a great view from our room. The Hob Knob has so much potential as a great place to stay for adventurers visiting Stowe looking for basic accommodation, at a good rate, in a great location. I hope management can make this happen.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dresher, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

The family had a very enjoyable weekend at the Hob Knob Inn. The rooms are very comfortable, cozy, and homey. Dinner in the restaurant is delicious, and the best part is how close the inn is to the ski mountains. Great skiing, great food, great people, and very comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagle Bay, New York, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

Our family and I ( agroup of 11 ) had the best time possible at The Hob Knob. With a group so large you would think someone would have been uncomfortable . But no , they all slept great , loved the grounds , even the hot tub ( in 5degree weather) and ate to their hearts content. A huge thanks to the the friendly staff

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
1.3 km away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
7.5 km away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
3.3 km away
Commodores Inn
Commodores Inn
#13 of 25 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Northern Lights Lodge
Northern Lights Lodge
#10 of 25 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
1.5 km away
The Gables Inn
The Gables Inn
#6 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
2.0 km away
The Mountain Road Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hob Knob Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hob Knob Inn

Property: Hob Knob Inn
Address: 2364 Mountain Rd, PO Box 3363, Stowe, VT 05672-3363
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Stowe
Price range (per night): $118 - $257
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hob Knob Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hob Knob is a family owned and operated inn & Restaurant. Built in 1937 as the first ski lodge in Stowe, the Hob Knob is now completely restored. All of our guestrooms and facilities have been recently renovated for a comfortable home like feel in an original ski lodge. Each nights stay includes a free full breakfast in our lounge.With 20 spacious guestrooms on 10 acres of land, a walking trail, pool, hot tub, restaurant and bar, 2 ponds and a plethora of wildlife the Hob Knob is the perfect Stowe getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hob Knob Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hob Knob Hotel Stowe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing