We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Commodores Inn
Nearby Hotels
Stowe Motel & Snowdrift(Stowe)(Great Value!)
USD 120*
USD 90*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Golden Eagle Resort(Stowe)(Great Value!)
USD 166*
USD 151*
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites(Stowe)(Great Value!)
USD 120*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa(Stowe)(Great Value!)
USD 207*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Trapp Family Lodge(Stowe)(Great Value!)
USD 275*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stowe Mountain Lodge(Stowe)(Great Value!)
USD 237*
USD 189*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 81*
USD 74*
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Topnotch Resort(Stowe)(Great Value!)
USD 197*
USD 183*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Green Mountain Inn(Stowe)(Great Value!)
USD 148*
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Edson Hill(Stowe)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (458)
Filter reviews
458 results
Traveller rating
125
188
92
32
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
125
188
92
32
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscookiessmall lakeprime riboutdoor poolnew englandbit datedevery afternoonhot tubhot breakfaststayed one nightbreakfast was includedvisiting stoweski tripfrench toastpondlobbylemonade
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
274 - 279 of 458 reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We recently stayed at the Commodores Inn and found it a very nice place to stay. The rooms were large and comfortable. The food (breakfast and dinner buffet) was very good and much better than expected. And the facilities were good (swimming pool/jacuzzis.) The ‘public spaces’ (lobby/great room w/fire place & large screen tv, game area) were very ‘family’ comfortable. The cookies were a really excellent treat when we returned from skiing. But to me the most important aspect was the friendliness, helpfulness and professionalism of the staff (from the front desk, to the dinning room, to the housekeeping staff.) No request went unanswered and everyone on the staff was willing to go out of their way to satisfy the guests. I would gladly return to the Commodores Inn the next time I am in Stowe.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wpny_skibum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Spent a great New Year's weekend at Commodores Inn. A lavish breakfast buffet with sausages, bacon, eggs, fruit, pancakes, bagels, cereal, & danish was included with our very reasonable room rate. (menu varies) Cheerful staff promptly accommodated our requests for extra blanket, hair dryer, and help locating misplaced objects. Families were playing board games and enjoying cookies & hot chocolate in the retro main lobby - it felt quite welcoming to return after the day's activities.

My husband, a light sleeper, said he has slept on better mattresses, but I'm a heavy sleeper and didn't notice any difference. The Inn is clean, easy on the budget, and conveniently located a short distance from Stowe center.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MuddyShoesMedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

If you're looking for a place to lie your weary bones after a long day on the mountain, the Commodores Inn is the place for you. If you are looking for new, luxurious, or contemporary accommodations, look elsewhere.

Pros:
1. 7 mile/15 minute drive to Stowe Mountain
2. 3 hot tubs and a pool
3. Free breakfast each morning

Cons:
1. Not within walking distance of any sites, restaurants, bars, or ski locations
2. Hotel does not look like it has been updated since the 1970's

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EndlssSummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2011

This hotel is perfectly located for visiting many places in and around Stowe. The price was right for a weekend getaway (off-season), but the place could certainly use some updating. The decor is 1980s and the bathrooms are just old. However, it was quiet at night, the breakfast was delicious (real maple syrup, of course!) and the staff was cheerful and helpful. It is very close to Ben and Jerry's, Cold Hollow Cider Mill, the village of Stowe (great restaurants and shops) and of course the mountain for skiing/riding. They were very pet-friendly (we took our golden retriever) and there is an amazing fireplace in the lobby (which, with a push of a button from the front-desk staff, became a beautiful roaring fire for us to sit by and read brochures!) We ate breakfast overlooking the lovely small lake and got a great recommendation for pizza delivery one night when we were tired. It was a perfect jumping-off spot for visiting Stowe.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the restaurant and lounge for quiet at night.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ONGOLDENPOND2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CommodoresStowe, Manager at Commodores Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we always appreciate the feed back.

We were very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and all that the area has to offer within a short proximity to our inn.

I am glad that you found our staff to be helpful and pleasant. We make every effort to make our guest's feel like part of our family from the moment they walk in the door.

Thank you for your feedback in reference to the needed updates. With the economy the way it has been for several years now, our remodeling has been slow, but steady. We have made great strides in improving our guests’ experiences and intend to continue in this trend as we move forward.

Warm Regards - Karen L. Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

If you're on a budget and you don't mind staying in a hotel that is old and tired, stay here. There were several senior travel groups that stayed in the hotel while we were there. The rooms are old, the bedding probably hasn't been replaced in years and the carpet is worn thin. We had to pay a premium because it was during prime time but we will not stay here again. An update to the property would make a world of difference. The only positive is the staff is nice and they set out cookies every afternoon.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CommodoresStowe, Manager at Commodores Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we always appreciate the feed back. I am sorry that we weren't pleased with your stay and would like to address your concerns.

As with many New England towns, during peak foliage season there are several tour groups that visit our area to enjoy all that Stowe has to offer, just as I am sure you did.

I apologize that you found our inn to appear old and tired. As for the bedding, this was replaced recently and the carpeting is only a year old in all of the public areas and 2 years old in the rooms. With the economy the way it has been for several years now, our remodeling has been slow, but steady. We have made great strides in improving our guests experiences and intend to continue in this trend as we move forward.

I am glad that you found our staff to be helpful and pleasant, as we make every effort to make our guest's feel like part of our family from the moment they walk in the door.

Karen L. Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews