We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My favorite mountain in the north east” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stowe Mountain

Stowe Mountain
Ranked #8 of 59 things to do in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My favorite mountain in the north east”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

I love to start on toll road, you can get some great pictures. I'm not an avid skier, I prefer greens and blues, but the glades are great and there is some fabulous advanced skiing if you are braver than I!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank NicNicHeisHeis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    70
    14
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great for Greens (and blues and blacks!)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

As a relatively new skier, but someone who has been able to still sample a number of different mountains (I guess I'm a slow learner!), I found Stowe to be the best by far for beginners. The number of green trails, and their length and variety in terrain kept me interested and challenged. The difference in snow conditions between Stowe and nearby Sugarbush, which I had been to the day before, were vastly in Stowe's favor. The more experienced skiers in my group also really enjoyed Stowe's trails.

And on a slightly unrelated note, Stowe is about 20 minutes away from the Ben and Jerry's factory, which is a great apres ski activity for all ages!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank bklynisforlovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
84 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Best Skiing in the East”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Hand's down, Stowe is the best ski mountain in the East. Over the past few years, major investments in services ensure a great experience, including a new hi-speed quad; RFID lift tickets (no more zip ties); great base accommodations.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank BradShaw123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
162 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 305 helpful votes
“Pricey Skiing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

The mountain does offer some nice amenities, such as the free lockers. And of course - one can always say, "I skiied Stowe". Considering that a Stowe ticket is now the priciest in New England, we expected better skiing conditions. It is understandable that the Northeast is exeperiencing a lack of natural snow this winter, but having skiied on packed powder in NH the day previous to our Stowe visit, we were disappointed in the treacherous, icy conditions we encountered on the mountain - and that was first thing in the morning, before it was "skied off". It does not appear that there has been much of an effort to crank out man-made snow to supplement Mother Nature, or work the groomers hard over the existing surfaces. What a waste of money!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank sippican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice choice for the Northeast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

Depending on your aptitude, the runs are varied and very enjoyable. Just be prepared to move to Spruce Peak in the afternoons when the light gets flat and when you go there, prepare to fight the beginners for hill space!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank muffingem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Stowe Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing