We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Golden Eagle Resort(Stowe)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Field Guide(Stowe)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (800)
Filter reviews
800 results
Traveller rating
384
247
96
50
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
384
247
96
50
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmineral bathmountain resortindoor poolgas fireplacebedroom townhousenice resortsteam roomrecommend this resortgreat amenitiesski weekendthe main hotelcookiesgreen mountain coffeehot tubroom was largeoff seasonbit dated
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
588 - 593 of 800 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Spent New Year's Eve in Stowe and had a great time until we spent a boatload of money to go to this New Year's Eve family party event at the Stoweflake hotel. The food was beyond disgusting at this hotel. We were warned beforehand not to go there, but we wanted the kids to have a good time. There are two other restaurants on the hotel property that also got horrible reviews. Whatever you do....don't eat anywhere on the Stoweflake property! We complained and the hotel manager offered us a gift certificate to one of the restaurants to use if we ever went back to Stowe. Needless to say, we really didn't want it and he never sent it as promised...Nice guy. It would of been nice of him to credit our credit card part of the $300 we spent on garbage food! We literally ate nothing that night but pepperidge farm crackers. So if you want a good meal in Stowe try the many other wonderful restaurants they have to offer like Norma's at Top Notch!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Kathryn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

We've stayed here twice now and rate this as good as Top Notch Resort (also stayed) at slightly lower cost. Immaculately kept and about as good as you can ask from a family run resort. We would have loved the glitz and "Ralph Lauren-style" charms of the new Mountain Lodge at Stowe but were not going to pay $800 for a studio room. Instead we got two fireplace rooms at Stoweflake for considerably less. Have the breakfast buffet. Spa is very nice. Pub is welcoming and fun. Lots of 'family' activities for young kids during our stay. fitness equipment is old. Indoor pool and outdoor hot tub are very nice. Only issue here is that pub is far from lobby fireplace so there is no 'atmosphere' in the lobby. I'd recommend they move the afternoon cookie service to the lobby and have guests squash around the fireplace - would be less sterile. Ski shuttle runs to mountain from front door and we used it several times in addition to our car. If we come back to Stowe again, and the Mountain's fanciest rooms are still out of our range, we would stay here for sure. Again, this is family run, not corporate, so be nice to all the young people staffing and cleaning!!! A solid place.

Room Tip: Rooms cost more on higher floors but layouts are same. Claim is that noise is less on higher floors???
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helgu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

I went to Stoweflake to enjoy a girls getaway weekend with my two roommates from college. We arrived at Stoweflake for a long weekend and checked in without any hassles. However, when we went up to our room, we were disappointed to see a large hairball on the bathroom floor. We promptly called the front desk, and they quickly sent someone up to properly clean the bathroom, however in cleaning it the attendant made a sarcastic comment about a 'killer hairball'. I thought this was very unprofessional and not comedic at all. We also asked for extra supplies as there were three of us staying in the room (they knew this when we checked in) however each day when our room was cleaned, they forgot to give us enough towels and washcloths. They also forgot to replenish our toiletries each day, so we had to keep requesting those items as well. Overall the service was sorely lacking.

However, the room was beautiful and did have a remote controlled fireplace and minibar which was a nice touch. We stayed right above the spa which had great views of the mountains in the distance and the serenity garden. The hotel was also in close proximity to a nice walking path which runs a few miles through Stowe. We also made use of the hotel's outdoor whirlpool, indoor pool, and its sauna, all which were very nice. And the convenience to the amazing spa, which was just a floor below us, was priceless. The Spa at Stoweflake had amazing mineral baths, waterfalls, and treatment rooms as well as a steam room and a sauna.

If I returned, I would likely not stay at the hotel, but I would certainly visit the spa for treatment again.

Room Tip: Stay near the Spa!
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cocogirl013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

We were six people staying in one of the townhouses. There was more than enough room and it was very comfortable. Full kitchen to boot, which we used. I suspect the townhouses are some sort of timeshare because our looked as if it was decorated in the early 1990s and hasn't relly been renovated since then. It felt more like someone's cottage than a four-diamond hotel. I presume the hotel rooms are more luxurious, but the townhouses offer much more space and great amenities, which outweighs any of the above concerns. We'd stay there again for sure.

The location was close to the base. Maybe a five-minute drive. There's also a shuttle than runs every 20 minutes to the mountain, but it's a bit of a hike to get from the townhouses to the front of the hotel where it stops. You really need a car everywhere in Stowe, except for the walking paths that run right beside the hotel, which we used to walk our dog!

Between Tremblant and Stowe, I'd return to Stowe (it hurts me as a Canadian to say this). The built-up areas feel much more organic than Tremblant and the calibre of restaurant is very high. If you have a Volvo stationwagon and a Thule rack, this place is for you!

Room Tip: Townhouses are at the back of the property; hotel rooms are in the main complext with the pools (yes, there are two of them) and the outdoor hottub.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michaelbtoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

We had our company holiday party here. This is the 3rd year in a row. The service, accommodations and the food have our employees asking to go back again! From check in to check out, every detail is handled by Stoweflake's more than capable staff. Highly recommended for, corporate, family and leisure travel.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McMasty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews