We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pilsener and Bratworst!!!!”

Von Trapp Brewing Bierhall Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 104 Restaurants in Stowe
Price range: USD 8 - USD 29
Description: von Trapp Brewing Bierhall is modeled after the Austrian Bierhalles with informal open seating dining. von Trapp Brewing beers are on tap as well as Austrian and Italian wines, Kombucha, Ginger and Root Beer (made in Vermont), Stowe Hard Cider, tea and coffee. Appetizers include von Trapp Pretzels with House Mustard, Beer Cheese Soup, Baernwurst, Knockwurst and Local Cheese Platter, Mini Salads, Shaved Radishes wih lemon oil and salt flakes, Grass-Fed Beef Sliders (3), Carmelized Brussel Sprouts, Three Dips, and Grilled Bratwurst. Sandwich offerings are Cheeseburger, Johannesburger (7oz), Shaved Grilled Chicken Sandwich and Black Bean Farro Burger. Salads include Garden Salad, Trapp Cobb and Wedge Salad. Side Orders: Spatzle, Carrot Salad, Celery Root Salad, Apple Saurkraut, Sauerkraut Mashed Potatoes, Austrian Potato Salad, Shaved Salted Radishes, Hand Cut Fries, Roasted Vegetables and Farro, Grilled Vegetables, Braised Red Cabbage, Fresh Fruit. Kids Menu: Chicken Schnitzel Fingers, 2 Sliders, Cheeseburger, Mac & Cheese (Homemade) and Chicken Kebab. Desserts: Lizertorte, Sachertorte and Apfelstrudel.
Restaurant details
Description: von Trapp Brewing Bierhall is modeled after the Austrian Bierhalles with informal open seating dining. von Trapp Brewing beers are on tap as well as Austrian and Italian wines, Kombucha, Ginger and Root Beer (made in Vermont), Stowe Hard Cider, tea and coffee. Appetizers include von Trapp Pretzels with House Mustard, Beer Cheese Soup, Baernwurst, Knockwurst and Local Cheese Platter, Mini Salads, Shaved Radishes wih lemon oil and salt flakes, Grass-Fed Beef Sliders (3), Carmelized Brussel Sprouts, Three Dips, and Grilled Bratwurst. Sandwich offerings are Cheeseburger, Johannesburger (7oz), Shaved Grilled Chicken Sandwich and Black Bean Farro Burger. Salads include Garden Salad, Trapp Cobb and Wedge Salad. Side Orders: Spatzle, Carrot Salad, Celery Root Salad, Apple Saurkraut, Sauerkraut Mashed Potatoes, Austrian Potato Salad, Shaved Salted Radishes, Hand Cut Fries, Roasted Vegetables and Farro, Grilled Vegetables, Braised Red Cabbage, Fresh Fruit. Kids Menu: Chicken Schnitzel Fingers, 2 Sliders, Cheeseburger, Mac & Cheese (Homemade) and Chicken Kebab. Desserts: Lizertorte, Sachertorte and Apfelstrudel.
Reviewed 18 July 2017

bucket list destination for our Vermont vacation..Took our time and wandered around the lodge then went over to the Bierhall for a late lunch. the open wood BBQ added a ton of flavor great atmosphere.
Our server was outstanding and suggested the pretzels....you need to try them.
Sampled a couple of glasses of the pilsner outstanding.
We tried the sausage, beer soup and salads...all great.

We will be back

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jdpillitteri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-Communications, Executive Assistant at Von Trapp Brewing Bierhall Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your visit to our Bierhall. We are delighted that you found the wood-fired Parilla cooking method, food items and pretzels to your liking. Our Brewmeister will be very glad to know how much you enjoyed the Pilsner. We look forward to your return. Cheers! Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (275)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

124 - 128 of 275 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2017

The atmosphere was great. The food was very good and the wait staff was outstanding. The beers are very good. Great place to have some grog and great food.

Thank NYLAWMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-Communications, Executive Assistant at Von Trapp Brewing Bierhall Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

Thank you for reviewing your experience at our Bierhall. We are delighted you found everything to be "excellent" We hope to welcome you again. Cheers! Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017 via mobile

We were in the area and heard so much about the Lodge and family, we decided to stop. We didn't see much of the Lodge which seemed typical but the Beirhall was pretty good. Several beers to choose from and free samples for anything that you wanted to try. The Vienna beer was very good and my wife liked the white wine. She also loved the pretzels, best that she has ever tasted. The Bratwurst was also pretty good. Prices were reasonable.

Thank R B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-Communications, Executive Assistant at Von Trapp Brewing Bierhall Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Thank you for visiting our Bierhall and taking the time to write a review of your experience We are pleased that you liked the beer and our pretzels are a very popular menu item. The bartenders will be glad to hear your wife liked our white Austrian wine which is also very popular with our guests. We hope you return. Cheers! Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017 via mobile

My family and I just finished a lunch at this restaurant. My niece found a 2 inch bug in her salad! Full 2 inches with wings! Unfortunately the dish was rushed away before we were able take a picture. The staff and manager on duty handled this situation very poorly. They took the salad off our bill but offered no other condolences. We had a group of 7 and spent hundreds of dollars here. The manager would not even come talk to us until we demanded it. The only thing he had to say was that it was organic lettuce and was not washed properly. Unacceptable. We paid our bill and will NEVER return to this place again. Be very careful when eating here and check your food before you eat a giant bug.

Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-Communications, Executive Assistant at Von Trapp Brewing Bierhall Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Please accept our apology for the way in which your situation was handled. Apologies should have been made immediately to you. Organic product , not being treated with pesticides, etc., does depend on thorough washing and this explanation was accurate but we are very sorry there was not more care given to the way in which you were treated. Sincerely, Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017 via mobile

Loved the beer sampler, dad was a big fan of the pilsner. We ordered the tray of bratwurst - spectacular. The side of spatzle was the star of the show. Great views too!

Thank A G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-Communications, Executive Assistant at Von Trapp Brewing Bierhall Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Thank you for reviewing your visit to our Bierhall. We are delighted to know you and your dad enjoyed the beer sampler and bratwurst dish. Spaetzel is hugely popular and it is nice to know you found it to be "the star of the show". Views are indeed priceless. We hope to welcome you again. Cheers! Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Von Trapp Brewing Bierhall Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Von Trapp Brewing Bierhall Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing