We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“New England Cozy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Norwich Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Norwich Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Norwich B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Middlebury, Vermont
Level Contributor
124 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“New England Cozy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Norwich Inn for one night and had a very good experience. The Inn was crowded, but we got a friendly reception. We ate a wonderful dinner in the dining room--everything fresh and tasty. Our room was one of the new ones in an outbuilding. We found the decor charming and loved our gas fireplace. The only down side was the bedding--one thin blanket and a thin bedspread. I found another thin blanket in the closet. While we could crank up the heat in the room, it was still hard to get my feet warm. I'd rather have warmer bedding and a cooler room. My husband didn't mind it, though, so each to his own. We had a nice, big easy chair and a good writing desk. The bathroom was well-planned, with a large shower. All in all, it's a lovely place and we would return.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JMA07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    80
    20
    13
    8
See reviews for
77
109
29
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wayland, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

I have found myself staying at this delightful inn while on business travel of late...LOVE the front desk staff...LOVE that rooms are clean and fresh and have everything you need but are still simple. Beautiful little inn right off 91...cool General Store next to inn and fabulous bakery Allechante down the block for coffee and goodies. Great town to walk around and just a wonderful stop in the beautiful world of Vermont.

Room Tip: I like staying in the main inn...but the annex does have fireplaces and bigger bathroom if that is s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VacayStay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

This was my first "stay" at The Norwich Inn after driving by it for many years. I loved my quaint room with the Iron-frame headboard and flowery wallpaper. This is what I am looking for when I come to Vermont. The bed was great. The room was super quite, room 34, looking out on Main Street (Union Village Road). I travel with all of my toiletries so I don't review that aspect. The room could use better lighting. I prefer staying in the "Inn" to the newer additions. The public rooms were lovely to sit in and read and people-watch. The bar poured liberal drinks :)

Room Tip: It depends on your preferences. I told the nice lady on the phone my preference was the bed and she...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MissionTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

I had heard so many good things about this inn that I was very disappointed. Was away with with 2 friends and none of us felt welcomed from the front desk to the bar area. The room was old and dingy. Would not stay again unless we were in a new room. The ads comment about the fireplaces none of which we saw. I will say the woman at the desk when I checked out was lovely but that was the only upside of the Norwich Inn.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amccma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benicia, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

We recently traveled to New England to see family, friends, and foliage, and one of the highlights was staying at the Norwich Inn. It's a friendly place, with lots of hospitality! We stayed in the original part of the inn, and the room was roomy, comfortable, and very relaxing. The bed so comfortable, I fell into a nap upon arriving.
The rocking chairs on the porch, the "funky' general store next door, the pub, and dining rooms all added to a great experience. We were there at a busy time: Republican debate at Dartmouth, leaf season, yet we had the most peaceful and delicious meals at the pub and the main dining room for breakfast and got great recommendations for things to see in the area. Don't miss the Simon Pierce factory; the views there are beautiful and the glassware exquisite.
The dinner was excellent in the pub! And although we aren't beer drinkers, we loved the dark beers...be sure to try them! Breakfasts are the hearty New England type and order the english muffins or toast so you can sample the yummy homemade jam.
We heard that there were some quite famous journalists dining in the private dining room the night we arrived, but this did not affect the great service and hospitality.
We viewed the new rooms in the back and they are exceptionally well decorated with great amenities. Would definitely return and would recommend to those who love the whole New England experience.

Room Tip: If you like the traditional new england inn, stay in the main house, but be prepared to walk up stai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyce P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norwich
2.2 km away
Hanover Inn Dartmouth
Hanover Inn Dartmouth
#1 of 2 in Hanover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
2.3 km away
Six South St Hotel
Six South St Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hanover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
6.5 km away
Element Hanover-Lebanon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 km away
Courtyard Hanover Lebanon
9.6 km away
Fireside Inn & Suites
Fireside Inn & Suites
#3 of 7 in Lebanon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
16.3 km away
The Lyme Inn
The Lyme Inn
#1 of 1 in Lyme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Norwich Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Norwich Inn

Property: The Norwich Inn
Address: 325 Main St, Norwich, VT 05055
Region: United States > Vermont > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Norwich
Price range (per night): $214 - $309
Hotel Class:3 star — The Norwich Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Norwich Inn is a historic, full-service Vermont country inn located in Norwich, near Dartmouth College, just across the river from Hanover, New Hampshire. An Inn has been on the Main Street site since 1797; the current Victorian Structure since 1890. This Dartmouth hotel is proud to offer 40 guest rooms, a Pub & Dining Room known as Jasper Murdock’s Alehouse and a Microbrewery featuring hand-crafted English Ales, sold only on site. We are proud to offer one of the largest wine selections in Vermont, housed in our new Wine Cellar, which is also available for private parties. Local legend has it that the Inn and the Town were the inspiration behind the popular TV Show, “Newhart,” which was set in Norwich. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Norwich Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norwich Hotel Norwich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing