We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calzone to Die For”

Hoagie's Pizza and Pasta
Ranked #6 of 32 Restaurants in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Reviewed 19 June 2018

Hoagies is a real find, in a small, not well-traveled town, with few restaurants.
A $5.00 lunch special of a half, cheese or pepperoni calzone and a fountain soda, or two slices of cheese or pepperoni pizza and drink, can’t be beaten, for taste and size. My wife and I chose to split a ham and cheese calzone, $10.00 and she brought a bit Home. Hoagies serves a number of dishes, and sandwiches. Never been disappointed. A couple near us had spaghetti with meat sauce, a dish that could feed two, at least, although they made two orders disappear along with bread topped with melted cheese.
That, melted cheese, is the piece de resistance on the calzone as, spread on the outside, it provides a crispy brown crust topping.

Thank Edwin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisD1973, Owner at Hoagie's Pizza and Pasta, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Thanks for your review...we aim to please take care Chris Duncan owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2018 via mobile

From pizza to calzones, poutine to garlic dots...Hoagies is a must visit for the locals and out of towners! Expect along with the food too be greeted by friendly staff and if you have a party of more than four, I highly recommend a reservation... this place is always packed and for god reason!

Thank vermontgirl2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisD1973, Owner at Hoagie's Pizza and Pasta, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2018

Thank you for your response..It means alot to our Hoagies Team...Chris Duncan owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018

Continually serving hearty fare with a waitstaff that is friendly and accommodating. Love to go at least once a week, lunch or dinner; they are consistently delicious and always fast. Been going for over ten years and highly recommend it.

Thank lynnf239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisD1973, Owner at Hoagie's Pizza and Pasta, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2018

Thank you for your continued business we work hard to please our customers...Chris Duncan owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018

We were heading to Canada for vacation and wanted to stop for a bit and bathroom stop before crossing the border. This was a great stop. It is clean and fast service to get you back on the road. The food was very good. The five of us enjoyed it. We got hoagies, salad, and a gluten free pizza.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TK_TripReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisD1973, Owner at Hoagie's Pizza and Pasta, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2018

Thanks for the positive review take care....Chris Duncan owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2018 via mobile

My family and I visited after Christmas. The pizza and calzones were good, you can tell they’re trying to make a great meal, but the execution was off. The pizza crust seemed to be made ahead of time and the calzone lacked proper filling and was dry. I’d eat there again, but overall is just average.

Thank victorsk813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hoagie's Pizza and Pasta also viewed

Newport, Northeast Kingdom
Newport, Northeast Kingdom
 
Newport, Northeast Kingdom
Newport, Northeast Kingdom
 

Been to Hoagie's Pizza and Pasta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing