We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (108)
Filter reviews
108 results
Traveller rating
25
30
22
17
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
25
30
22
17
14
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 108 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2017

Don't raise your expectations too high. It's nice however we felt the staff might be 'running out of gas' when it comes to those extra fine touches. It has that overall "Exhausted" look and feel to it ! Breakfast so-so but have had MUCH better for far less $$$. We think is was overbooked as we had to sit at the door and wait 15 minutes for a place at the table to eat ... perhaps it can't accommodate as many people as they would like at the same time ! Sorry to say that with all the B&Bs in Vermont and within close proximity, we won't be staying there again. Better 'bang for buck' elsewhere ...

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jacques P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017

We were very disappointed with Betsey's. The building we stayed in is falling apart. The interior is dark and gloomy. Exterior is dirty and crumbling. Our stay would have been passable if the place had been clean. It was filthy. Dust encrusted drapes, furniture, moldings. Our room had a bathroom that needed serious upgrading. The front porch had broken wicker furniture and as other posters mentioned, a filthy ashtray. We were in Montpelier for a family event and had suggested other family members stay at Betsey's as well. Luckily, we all have a sense of humor and got through the weekend but I would never recommend this B&B. I like a B&B over a generic motel especially in beautiful Vermont but this place was just too run down and dirty.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ADarragh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017

Read Dave H's "Huge Disappointment" which is the same room we stayed in. My husband booked this and thought a Queen bed would be sufficient. I have informed him that in the future make sure it is always a king. It was a very uncomfortable bed. The air con in the window was really noisy and only acted like a fan not an air con unit. We were hot and uncomfortable all night! The mirror attached to the door rattled every time someone in the main house closed a door. No vanity but an old wooden table in the bathroom with a table runner that I doubt gets washed every day. There was a ring from a toothpaste cap on the table. Breakfast was cold and tasteless. They need a Hotel Inspector to go through everything that needs upgrading and changing in order to be called a BNB. It feels like student accommodation. PS the loud floral wallpaper and dark trim is not a nice look!!

Room Tip: It is worth spending a little more money and staying elsewhere. Needs a total overhaul.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluemoonbiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017

We visited Montpelior for two nights and Betsy's is pretty well-situated for a visitor to a very interesting small city. Betsy and John are very friendly people and I don't enjoy having to pan this B&B. Our first clue was the full ashtray on the porch (it would not be emptied before our departure), the entry hall and the sitting room had not been cleaned either and it was mid-afternoon when we arrived. Our room was clean but, again, there were a couple of disturbing signs. First the bed was propped up on one side with a pile of seven short pieces of untreated lumber. Second, a paperback book was propping up the TV. The bathroom was spacious but the towels were stained and well-worn. The bathroom door didn't close without some effort and both it and the entry door moved by themselves as if the home was listing. The carpeting, wallpaper and woodwork are all in need of some rejuvenation and the interior reminds one of the Addams Family home because it is kind of dark in addition to being shabby. We looked forward to breakfast because reviewers had raved about it, particularly the blueberry pancakes. Breakfast was okay (no blueberry pancakes the first day/we asked for them on the second day and they were available). Our fellow guests were really nice and that means a lot when you are at a B&B. In conclusion, I think Betsy's needs some TLC. There is no reason that the place can't be cleaner or spruced up.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017

Betsy's Bed and Breakfast is a lovely Victorian style pair of buildings near the center of Montpelier. Betsy was welcoming and friendly as she checked us in to our room which was nicely furnished and included the use of a shared a living room and kitchenette. The bathroom is a little small, but manageable. I found the bed comfortable and the area peaceful. One of the highlights was the delicious home cooked breakfast served in the main area.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sallyann518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews