We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Betsy's Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 4 Montpelier B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile

Rooms are clean and big enough. Bed is with a very good mattress. As Montpelier is not really attractive it was good to stay only one night. Full breakfast is prima. Would add more müsli and not only cereals.

Stayed: October 2017
Thank JochenBuhler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2017

Don't raise your expectations too high. It's nice however we felt the staff might be 'running out of gas' when it comes to those extra fine touches. It has that overall "Exhausted" look and feel to it ! Breakfast so-so but have had MUCH better for far less $$$. We think is was overbooked as we had to sit at the door and wait 15 minutes for a place at the table to eat ... perhaps it can't accommodate as many people as they would like at the same time ! Sorry to say that with all the B&Bs in Vermont and within close proximity, we won't be staying there again. Better 'bang for buck' elsewhere ...

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacques P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017

We were very disappointed with Betsey's. The building we stayed in is falling apart. The interior is dark and gloomy. Exterior is dirty and crumbling. Our stay would have been passable if the place had been clean. It was filthy. Dust encrusted drapes, furniture, moldings. Our room had a bathroom that needed serious upgrading. The front porch had broken wicker furniture and as other posters mentioned, a filthy ashtray. We were in Montpelier for a family event and had suggested other family members stay at Betsey's as well. Luckily, we all have a sense of humor and got through the weekend but I would never recommend this B&B. I like a B&B over a generic motel especially in beautiful Vermont but this place was just too run down and dirty.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ADarragh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017

Read Dave H's "Huge Disappointment" which is the same room we stayed in. My husband booked this and thought a Queen bed would be sufficient. I have informed him that in the future make sure it is always a king. It was a very uncomfortable bed. The air con in the window was really noisy and only acted like a fan not an air con unit. We were hot and uncomfortable all night! The mirror attached to the door rattled every time someone in the main house closed a door. No vanity but an old wooden table in the bathroom with a table runner that I doubt gets washed every day. There was a ring from a toothpaste cap on the table. Breakfast was cold and tasteless. They need a Hotel Inspector to go through everything that needs upgrading and changing in order to be called a BNB. It feels like student accommodation. PS the loud floral wallpaper and dark trim is not a nice look!!

Room Tip: It is worth spending a little more money and staying elsewhere. Needs a total overhaul.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluemoonbiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017

We visited Montpelior for two nights and Betsy's is pretty well-situated for a visitor to a very interesting small city. Betsy and John are very friendly people and I don't enjoy having to pan this B&B. Our first clue was the full ashtray on the porch (it would not be emptied before our departure), the entry hall and the sitting room had not been cleaned either and it was mid-afternoon when we arrived. Our room was clean but, again, there were a couple of disturbing signs. First the bed was propped up on one side with a pile of seven short pieces of untreated lumber. Second, a paperback book was propping up the TV. The bathroom was spacious but the towels were stained and well-worn. The bathroom door didn't close without some effort and both it and the entry door moved by themselves as if the home was listing. The carpeting, wallpaper and woodwork are all in need of some rejuvenation and the interior reminds one of the Addams Family home because it is kind of dark in addition to being shabby. We looked forward to breakfast because reviewers had raved about it, particularly the blueberry pancakes. Breakfast was okay (no blueberry pancakes the first day/we asked for them on the second day and they were available). Our fellow guests were really nice and that means a lot when you are at a B&B. In conclusion, I think Betsy's needs some TLC. There is no reason that the place can't be cleaner or spruced up.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montpelier hotels
0.7 km away
Capitol Plaza
Capitol Plaza
#2 of 4 in Montpelier
398 reviews
5 km away
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
#1 of 4 in Montpelier
522 reviews
3.2 km away
High Hill Inn
High Hill Inn
#1 of 4 in Montpelier
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
The Inn at Montpelier
The Inn at Montpelier
#2 of 4 in Montpelier
127 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Betsy's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Betsy's Bed and Breakfast

Address: 74 E State St, Montpelier, VT 05602-3112
Region: United States > Vermont > Montpelier
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Montpelier
Price Range: $63 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Features victorian furniture and home-cooked breakfasts. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Betsy`s b&b
Betsy`s Hotel Montpelier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing