We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (321)
Filter reviews
321 results
Traveller rating
255
55
7
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
255
55
7
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews carriage house the main house garden room middlebury college direct tv new england stewart room steam room and sauna cookies private deck large bathroom bike trip french toast common areas a great place to stay each guest breakfast was delicious
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 321 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2018

This was our first visit but definitely won't be our last, Jessica's in the Swift House Inn in Middlebury, VT. A casual, but lovely restaurant. We took an out of town guest here and were so glad we chose Jessica's. It was perfect. From the friendliness of the greeter to the very attentive servers it was a delight. The food was delicious. I had scallops and the other two in my party had the Halibut special of the day. Our meals were delicious. All desserts are made on site. We shared delicious raspberry sorbet and salted caramel ice cream. Both were outstanding, I have never tasted such strong raspberry flavor in a sorbet. All in all, a night to be repeated.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonem93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan B, Owner at Swift House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for the great review. We feel we have an outstanding staff and Chef Rob continues to produce amazing food!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2018

We stayed in the Carriage House of the Swift House Inn. We had the tower/turret room and it was absolutely wonderful! The Carriage House was darling - we enjoyed time on the porch. The facility was decorated with excellence! The rooms were clean, quiet and comfortable. The breakfast was delicious - the pancakes were incredibly delicious. The staff was very accommodating with great customer service. Our only regret is that we wish we could have stayed another night! We will be back!!!

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Faye W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018

We had excellent accommodation. A good sized bedroom and adequate bathroom. The room was quiet and the bed very comfortable after a long day cycling. A welcoming bar and lounge area. Delightful dining room with a great menu - we weren't hurried through our meal but left to enjoy the food, drink and surroundings. Had an excellent breakfast on the deck. Staff were friendly and attentive.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2018

A friend who lives in VT recommend the Swift House. I am so glad we listened to her and booked a room. OH MY GOODNESS!!! What a treat. The grounds are beautiful. We rented the garden room which was cozy, comfortable and quiet. In the morning we were treated to fresh fruit and a few other cold items and a full custom made to order hot breakfast! The owner went from table to table with coffee pot in hand and took the time to meet each and everyone of us. My husband told the owner how much he enjoyed the pancakes and when she offered more he was more then happy to say, yes please! Treat yourself and your loved one to this outstanding Inn, you will be glad you did!

Room tip: We stayed in the garden room and had our own outside patio to sit and enjoy the sunset. In the morning I awoke to birds singing :)
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank aftroop53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2018 via mobile

Spent a much too short visit here. Rooms are very comfortable with high end bedding. Spacious and beautifully appointed. Breakfast is wonderful and the staff is very helpful. This inn is located right near Middlebury College, close to shopping and restaurants.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Carlayarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews